We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Clean, comfortable, good value.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel SB Express Tarragona

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel SB Express Tarragona to your Saves list
Hotel SB Express Tarragona
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Plaza de les Corts Catalanes 4, 43005 Tarragona, Spain   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 20 Hotels in Tarragona
Manchester, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
“Clean, comfortable, good value.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2013 via mobile

If you're looking for a reasonably priced, decent quality hotel in Tarragona then you could do a lot worse. It's a good 15-20 minute walk from the train station/old town, but it's not an unpleasant walk and it is straight down the main boulevard so it'd be pretty hard to get lost.
The hotel itself does everything it says on the tin, it's clean, comfortable and we found the staff pretty helpful too. Also beers in the bar are only €2! One thing I would be cautious of if there are a group of you, some websites advertise quad rooms with four single beds.... This isn't true though, don't end up sharing a bed with your mate like I did!!
Final word, Tarragona is definitely worth a visit and unless you can afford a hotel in the old town this place will do the job nicely.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

168 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    33
    87
    35
    9
    4
See reviews for
59
48
3
23
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Barcelos, Portugal
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 11, 2013

I stayed here from late August till the first half of the first week of September.
The hotel is clean and quite well located, you have a lot of restaurants, bars and shopping around...even an hospital, just in case you need it!
The staff is nice and helpful.
The rooms is big and comfortable. It was cleaned everyday I stayed there so, about that, I have no complaints. If there was a minibar, it would be a plus.
The big problem, for me, was the acoustic because I could hear people from the corridors shouting or talking, it's not pleasant when you need to rest. Another problem is the curtain which seemed to be quite short because, during summer, you get the sunlight inside your room quite early.
The breakfast buffet was fair, there's a bit of everything. There's free WiFi but the signal may be quite weak inside the room, especially when you're near the window.

To stay in Tarragona's city center in a calm and rather "new area" I think it's worth the money. Also if you want to go shopping or party, you have plenty of things to do around and a lot of variety (El Corte Inglés, Tapas restaurants, Spanish restaurant, Indian/Pakistani restaurant, Chinese self-service restaurant.... all this within 5 minutes walking or less!!!) If you are sensible to the noise, you would rather try another hotel.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Petersburg, Florida
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2013

We didn't expect that it will be so good!
Due to some change in our vacation plans we booked this hotel only 2 weeks before the arrival, so we haven't a big variety of choices. But all was fine - nice clean quiet room, wifi, free parking (it was a special bonus for booking on-line). Breakfast was simple, but with fresh pastry. Hotel staff is really friendly and helpfull.
Thank you for a nice stay in Tarragona!

Room Tip: 9th floor rooms are very quiet
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SBHotels, Manager at Hotel SB Express Tarragona, responded to this review, September 5, 2013
Thank you very much ! Your opinion is very valuos for us.
We try to improve every day, with opinions from our guests, goods and not so goods, but when we read opinions like yours, we are happy, because we are in a right way to serve people and get that they have a nice stay in our hotel.

the information you give is true, if you book our hotel through our web site, you get free parking.

thank very much!
we hope to see you come back to Tarragona.

Sandra Salas (hotel manager)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Monaghan, Ireland
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2013

I don't like ranting but I have to be honest. We Didn't enjoy our stay.

Lets start with the negatives:

- Extremely noisy Maids, want to lie into 11am? - No hope with the sound of scraping beds being moved about from next door and the rooms above, while beds are being changed. I also had to ask reception for towels twice as the simply just took the old towels and forgot to replace them. The also forgot to give us toilet roll on 2 occasions.

- The Food was absolutely disgusting. My brother and I ordered a pizza and what we got served up to us was 2 pre-frozen 9" Pizza that where hard and burnt, all for an extortionate price of €9.00. Considering we walked into Tarrogona after that and a three course meal in a lovely Italian restaurant nearly every evening for €10 - the pizza at best was worth €3.00 and if the hotel don't realise that its not OK to serve frozen everything, then you need new management.

-Wifi, although free the signal on the 1st floor was rubbish and unusable.

-Location is somewhat watered down when advertised. Its 20-25mins on a bus to salou and at least a 10-15 min walk to the bus station. Which is an extremely cheap & reliable method of Transport.

The only reason I wouldn't give this one star is because the price for staying 2weeks was not bad. But I definitely won't be staying again, it honestly is not a hotel for staying in for more than 1 night or a stopover - Not as a tourist.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SBHotels, Manager at Hotel SB Express Tarragona, responded to this review, August 13, 2013
We want to apologize for all the inconvenience during your stay in our hotel.
We take note about all the themes explained in your review, and now we are taking decisions for improving in all our procedures and services.
We want to thank you for taking time in writing about us. If you considere in a future to visit us again, you will be a better experience with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wicklow, Ireland
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2013

A very clean hotel with friendly staff. Basic Restaurant food but good value. Free WiFi but was very slow. We found the air conditioning a bit noisy (constant hummm) which I was surprised about for a modern hotel. Underground car parking available but at €11 per day. Street parking is free and the hotel is in a quiet, clean area.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SBHotels, Manager at Hotel SB Express Tarragona, responded to this review, September 5, 2013
Thank you very much for writing your opinion about our hotel.
We try to improve day per day, and all opinions help us to get it.
About parking, it is true, it costs 11 euros per day, but if you book through our web site it is free!
About air conditioning, we are going to check room per room, and repair it if it is necessary (noisy).

thank very much, and we hope to see you again if you come back to Tarragona.

Sandra Salas-hotel manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Spain
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 4, 2013

A nice Hotel and a great location. No food served on hollydays, and all resturants in town closed. Reception staff helpful and ordered me a Pizza. My stay was during Easteren. Breakfast was ok, but the coffee to be in Spain . Free WiFi with ok speed, need to get code in reception. Recommend it to anyone and I will stay there again.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SBHotels, Manager at Hotel SB Express Tarragona, responded to this review, April 18, 2013
Than you very much for your comments about your stay in our hotel.
We appreaciate time you spent writting it.
Our hotel has a Café-snacks where you can have breakfast, lunch or dinner. We open EVERYDAY (eastern hollidays too) from 7:00 till 23:00. You can have lunch from 14:00 till 16:00, and dinner from 20:00 till 22:00.
Eastern hollidays, almost is open, because lots of tourist visit our beautiful city and roman ruins, but on Monday, is almost closed, because it is typicall that everybody goes to the country to have meal with family and friends.
We hope to see you again very soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 23, 2013

I stayed here for New Year 2012. Got a great price on Trivago. About 10 minutes walk from the bus station and not too far from the bus station. Helpful staff, clean and comfortable room. Would recommend to anyone.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SBHotels, Manager at Hotel SB Express Tarragona, responded to this review, February 28, 2013
Thak you for having taken the time to write about your experience in our Hotel.
As you mention, bus station is very near, and, just in front of hotel, there is a bus stop where you can tacke a bus every 5/10 minuts to go anywhere in our city.

But, let me say, that it is a nice walk to the centre, and it takes only just a 20 minuts.

We hope to see you very soon again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hotel SB Express Tarragona? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel SB Express Tarragona

Address: Plaza de les Corts Catalanes 4, 43005 Tarragona, Spain
Location: Spain > Catalonia > Province of Tarragona > Costa Dorada > Tarragona
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 20 Hotels in Tarragona
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel SB Express Tarragona 3*
Number of rooms: 90
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set in Tarragona’s modern district, this hotel offers soundproofed rooms with free Wi-Fi and flat-screen TVs. The A-7 motorway is just 200 metres away, while the historic centre is 10 minutes away. The rooms have air conditioning, hairdryer, safe and telephone. The hotel has a cafe open all day, serving coffee, breakfast and light meals. It also has a terrace. Tarragona’s famous Roman remains are just 900 metres away. The El Corte Ingles department store is just 450 metres away. PortAventura Theme Park is about 8 km away, and can be reached easily by car. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, HostelWorld, HostelBookers and Agoda so you can book your Hotel SB Express Tarragona reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sb Express Hotel Tarragona

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel SB Express Tarragona, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.