We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very impressive... if you can find a parking place.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Roman Amphitheatre

Roman Amphitheatre
Parc del Milagro, Tarragona, Spain
977-24-25-79
Improve this listing
Ranked #4 of 33 Attractions in Tarragona
Type: Ancient Ruins, Cultural
Attraction details
Cedar Knolls, New Jersey
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
17 attraction reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
“Very impressive... if you can find a parking place.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 1, 2013

We couldn't find parking so we drove through a neighborhood to the North of the side from which we could see the entire site.

Visited November 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

444 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    216
    166
    57
    4
    1
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
6 attraction reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Fantastic location and views”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 16, 2013

Exceptional location overlooking the sea, well preserved and easy to walk around and experience the site at close hand.

Visited November 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Port Charlotte
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
5 attraction reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“2000 Year Old Roman Ruins in Tarragona Absolutely FREE”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2013

Thee is no need to Fight the Crowds or Pay a Tour Guide or Beware of Pick Pockets in Rome, the Romans Built this Amphitheater 2000 years ago in Tarragona & it's absolutely free. We stayed in a Hotel 200" from the Ocean in Salou & bought a 10 trip Plana bus card for 2 for 15 euros. It's a lot more laid back in Tarragona. You can always Stroll down Rambla Nova or walk through the other pedestrian Thoroughfares. Don't miss the Unique Statue of People Coming Together. A Tourist Map is available Highlighting the 16 Historic Sights in Tarragona.

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bradford, West Yorkshire
Top Contributor
66 reviews 66 reviews
23 attraction reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
“A church in an Amphitheatre?”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2013

I have never seen the like, a christian church built in the arena of the amphitheatre. During our visit, there was a beatification taking place on the outskirts of the city for over 500 martyrs and a good number of Nuns, Priests, Friars and Monks were present during our visit to the site. dare I say, it was much like a film set for Father Ted. Apparently a Bishop was burned at the stake in the amphitheatre for being a Christian and this was the reason for building the church in later years.

Well worth a visit, and the views all around it are fabulous.

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ellington, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
128 reviews 128 reviews
81 attraction reviews
Reviews in 49 cities Reviews in 49 cities
57 helpful votes 57 helpful votes
“Must see while you are there”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2013

I was very pleasantly surprised by this whole area of Spain. Absolutely beautiful, we got some amazing photos. Definitely worth a visit!

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Roman Amphitheatre also viewed

 
Tarragona, Costa Dorada
Tarragona, Costa Dorada
 

Been to Roman Amphitheatre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Roman Amphitheatre, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.