We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Roman Amphitheatre” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Roman Amphitheatre

Roman Amphitheatre
Parc del Milagro, Tarragona, Spain
977-24-25-79
Improve this listing
Ranked #4 of 33 Attractions in Tarragona
Type: Ancient Ruins, Cultural
Attraction details
Drunen, The Netherlands
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 attraction reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Roman Amphitheatre”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2013

When visiting Tarragona, you should of course visit the Amphitheatre. From it you have a nice view over the sea.

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

445 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    216
    167
    57
    4
    1
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New Delhi, India
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 attraction reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Amphitheratre makes a nice photo opportunity”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2013

This monument is reasonably well preserved and the entrance is covered in the six monument pass. But as the entry into the stands is not permitted, it is perhaps not a good idea to buy a stand alone ticket (Euro 2.85) to visit it if you do not have the six monument pass. It is a 10-15 minute walk from the historic city center but you will be disappointed once you get there as, you can just enter the premises but not the stands or the stage. Overall, just about a nice photo shoot from a distance.

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bedford, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
148 reviews 148 reviews
81 attraction reviews
Reviews in 68 cities Reviews in 68 cities
64 helpful votes 64 helpful votes
“Worth a visit”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2013

You can view the amphitheatre from the park above which gives a good overall view of the structure. For a small fee you can actually go in and look around but you can see most of it without bothering.

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
12 attraction reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“Amphitheatre”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2013 via mobile

Second visit spent more time here than previous time wasn't disappointed .Sites like these must be preserved for future generations .

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barnsley, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
25 attraction reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“A must see in Tarragona”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 7, 2013

This was our second visit to the amphitheatre. We had visited briefly 2 years ago, but my 11 year old son was eager to spend more time exploring and I am glad we made the effort, we all appreciated finding out more about the history of the place. We purchased a 10.45 euro's multi site ticket, which enabled us to visit 5 historical sites in the city. The ticket was good for myself, a 14 year old and an 11 year and could have been used over more than 1 day, so really good value.
The amphitheatre itself has been very well preserved and once in you are free to wander around at leisure. There is some information in one of the cells regarding the history of the site. The staff in the ticket office are also good at answering questions. When I bought the ticket they gave me a map of the city and gave my son a children's guide book.
The park next to the amphitheatre is pretty. There is a small café there to stop for refreshments. The other roman sites are all situated nearby.
We travelled to Tarragona from Salou by train, which was very easy and cheap, 8 euros each way for the 3 of us and just a 10 minute journey. From the train station it is 10 minutes walk up hill to the amphitheatre, so hard work but worth it for the views.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Roman Amphitheatre also viewed

 
Tarragona, Costa Dorada
Tarragona, Costa Dorada
 

Been to Roman Amphitheatre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Roman Amphitheatre, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.