We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic hotel. Beautiful pool. Great location. Good prices” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Astari Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Astari Hotel to your Saves list
Astari Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Via Augusta 95 - 97, 43003 Tarragona, Spain   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 20 Hotels in Tarragona
England
Top Contributor
134 reviews 134 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
98 helpful votes 98 helpful votes
“Fantastic hotel. Beautiful pool. Great location. Good prices”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2012

First of all the downsides, which are few and trivial. The fridge we had in the room did not work and when we changed rooms, the fridge did not work in there either. People who we travelled with had a fridge in their room and that worked so maybe we were unlucky. There was air conditioning but at times it did not seem very effective in the heat. The good sides however are the staff are incredibly friendly and moved our rooms with no hassle when we requested. The breakfast is amazing and cheap. The food in the hotel is delicious and the prices for drinks and food in the hotel are very reasonable. There were five of us who stayed in this hotel and all in all this is one of my favourite hotels I have stayed in. It is perfect for a quiet getaway. It probably would not suit younger people who might want a bit of life but Tarragona has lots of history and culture and we could not have been happier with this place. The pool was also very warm and the pool area clean and tidy.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

154 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    32
    84
    27
    9
    2
See reviews for
42
68
4
11
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (31)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Wigan, United Kingdom
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2012

We were looking for somewhere cheap close to Reus airport for our last night in Spain, I booked the Astari without any research just because it was the cheapest with a pool - €73/night for a triple room (Little girl did her first length in it! But I digress... ). Driving down Via Augusta my wife actually said "Well it won't be that one: Too nice!" Well it was and it is; very nice for a 3 star. We parked down the first side street on the right 100yds away with no issues so had an extra €8 to spend. The room was on the corner of the first floor at the front and more than big enough for three, had a large spotless bathroom, large balcony and was clean and well equipped with mini bar, free toiletries, hair dryer, TV,stereo and air con.
The staff were all very helpful and friendly, and the restaurant in the hotel was reasonably priced but we wanted to explore so ate out. The staff, who's English was hugely better than my Spanish, gave us good directions and a map. I must confess we hadn't a clue about Tarragona and were bowled over by the old town which is stunning and only a 10 minute walk away.
The pool was great and very safe for kids as the whole area has a felt-like non slip floor. My wife sunned herself on the poolside sofas with the waitress bringing the refreshments and we had to remind ourselves this was just an airport convenient, cheap three star! If I was being very picky the pool area could do with a lick of paint here and there but it certainly didn't take away from our experience. Wholeheartedly recommend both Tarragona and the Astari!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2012

Flights to Reus (Ryanair- book early)- our flights had tripled in price within two weeks - transfer taxi - 32euro/bus 3euro to town centre (check timetables/infrequent)+ taxi to hotel approx 10 Euro. Hotel Astari in Tarragona is a very nice hotel - for a relaxed peaceful break - not for party goers. All areas/corridors very nice. Very civilised and tranquil. Pool area excellent - loungers plenty - dining/very comfy couch areas in the shade - candles at night on all tables. Really lovely. Staff very pleasant and helpful. Lifts to rooms/corridors/areas in hotel lovely. Food 7-12 euro/meal burgers,chicken,steak,salad,chips,pasta etc. Excellent waitress service for cold drinks- wine 2 euro/coffee 1.20. We changed to a sea view room and what a view from balcony.Rooms nice/maid service. Outside hotel turn left and head straight on to town centre approx 15 min easy walk - Spar/bakers/fruit shop 7 min walk. Or turn left & then 1st left at hotel to walk down to one of my top 10 beaches/coves/quiet areas/beach bars - we never heard a British accent the whole time we were there. Really amazing scenery. Town centre has all the historical things of Tarragona and plenty shops/restaurants etc - taxi 7 euro. Will definitely return. This hotel merits more than it's 3 star rating. Nice people staying at this place and reasonable price - £234/2 people 4 nights. Take a book/TV in Spanish/learn Spanish. On the way to town approx 5 min from hotel a garage place selling amazing paintings - got an oil painting for 10 euro - treasured memory. The frame will cost me more & try the bakers for the croissants - excellent - fruit cheap - spar cheap (1/3 cheaper than UK). Enjoy.

Room Tip: Allocation of sea view rooms on arrival but ask for a change if you particularly want this and the s...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Irvine, United Kingdom
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2012

Just back from a 4 night stay at this hotel. Very good standard for a 3 star hotel. Room comfortable and clean,good balcony with sea view (though not all rooms had this.) Breakfast was worth the 7.90 euros. The area is quiet but only a short walk from the town and there is a Spar halfway and also a tiny bar that will sell you sandwiches to take out.
Above all the staff were great,friendly and helpful. They even made chips and toasties for us when we arrived after the kitchen had officially closed for the night at 11p.m.
Reception staff spoke good English.

Room Tip: Higher floors have better view of sea. Was glad our room wasn't on 1st floor above the pool.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alcossebre, Spain
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2012

We stayed here for one night to visit the historic sites of Tarragona- there is a very good
underground car park at 7.50 euros- this is a big bonus as parking in the centre is soooo
expensive, almost 40 euros for 24 hours- the staff were very helpful about where to go to
eat and places to visit- the room was clean and comfortable with a balcony to enjoy the
sunshine- it is a short walk to most of the Roman sites, even if a little uphill, not much

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
39 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
55 helpful votes 55 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2012

We had'nt booked anyywhere to stay in Tarragona and found this via our sat nav. The outside and Reception look OK but unfortunately the rooms do not match! The rooms and bathrooms are in desperate need of updating and the only good thing I can say unfortunately is that our room had a nice big balcony with new furniture.

Location was good, near to old town and a short walk into the centre.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa ON
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2011

We stayed here for four days. Our room was fine and we appreciated the balcony overlooking the swimming pool. Wireless internet worked well. The pool was nice and refreshing and we spent some time in the lounge chairs, enjoying the sun. Overall I have no complaints about the hotel, the rooms or the staff who were friendly and spoke great English. However, I didn't realize how far the hotel was from the main centre of the city. It was a good 15 minute walk to anything. There were no restaurants nearby and no stores where we could pick up drinks or snacks outside of a grocery store with very limited hours which seemed to be closed the entire time of our stay. We generally like to have our meals and an evening drink outside of the hotel and next time we stay in Tarragona (and there will be a next time, it's a wonderful city to visit), we'll stay at one of the other popular choices, closer to the Plaza or Rambla.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Astari Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Astari Hotel

Address: Via Augusta 95 - 97, 43003 Tarragona, Spain
Location: Spain > Catalonia > Province of Tarragona > Costa Dorada > Tarragona
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Tarragona
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Astari Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 83
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Astari Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Astari Hotel Tarragona

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Astari Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.