We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Seafood Restaurant in Pleasant Location” 4 of 5 stars
Review of El Llagut

El Llagut
C.Natzaret 10, Tarragona, Spain
0034 977 228938
Improve this listing
Ranked #12 of 349 Restaurants in Tarragona
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Leeds, United Kingdom
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Good Seafood Restaurant in Pleasant Location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2012

We had lunch here in August 2012. As mentioned by other reviewers, El LLagut is located in a quiet square in Tarragona.We sat outside under an awning. One of the staff spoke good English and was keen to explain about the food. We trusted her recommendations and were not disappointed. The fixed price lunch menu was 13 euros each for 3 courses. There is a charge of 1.20 euros each for terrace service. The service was prompt.
The starter was a long plate of 4 different fish/seafoods including sea snails which tasted better than they looked! All delicious. Bread and 2 bottles of table water were included.
We had 2 mains between 4 of us which were basically rice dishes with different types of fish/seafood in each. One of them was quite salty but both had lots of flavour. For dessert, we had Crème Catalan which is similar to Crème Brulee but with the unusual addition of Rosemary as a flavouring (surprisingly, it does work.)
To sum up, great location, good food if you like Seafood and Rice and good lunchtime value.

  • Visited August 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

189 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    93
    68
    21
    7
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Toronto
Top Contributor
147 reviews 147 reviews
101 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
82 helpful votes 82 helpful votes
“Decent food in a very pleasant square”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2012

After a horrible experience the previous night in the Placa de la Font, we we came upon El Llagut during our daytime sightseeing and decided to make a reservation. It has a large,outdoor eating area on the Plaça del Rei which is pleasant and peaceful at night. The restaurant advertises itself as a Taverna Marinera, and seems to make a specialty of rice dishes with seafood. There is a tasting menu, but we ordered à la carte. The food was pretty good, but I found the rice dish over salted. Overall, decent value but not outstanding.

  • Visited July 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockholm
Top Contributor
370 reviews 370 reviews
76 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 94 cities Reviews in 94 cities
205 helpful votes 205 helpful votes
“Risotto extraordinaire”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2012

This place is situated in a square close to the circus. They have very tasty salads (lobster, cheese) and specialise in risotto dishes (minimun 2 persons). We tried that are were not disappointed. The chef even came out to our table to show what he prepared. Probably some people have been put off by the greyish mass in the big pot. We were not. The taste was formidable and it contained asparagus and mussels. To this we had a white Priorat 2008 which was excellent.

Visited July 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winnipeg, Canada
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Good value tasting menu”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2011

Wandering through old town Tarragona in search of dinner, we selected El Llagut because the room looked comfortable & appealling and the posted menu reasonable.
At our table was a card, in Catalan, with an 8-course tasting menu for 21 euros. What we could puzzle out looked interesting enough so we chose to try it. Some dishes were certainly more successful than others, At this price its unreasonable to expect everything to be stellar. There were some excellent creative dishes among the 8 courses. The meal started with a little shot glass of water-cress & smoked eel soup. The pastry with quail & mushrooms was excellent. The squid "burger" with white beans very fresh tasting & good. The after-eight dessert was an excellent finale, just a little chocolate brownie with ice-cream, but both imbued with a wonderful fresh mint flavour that took dessert from ordinary to wonderful. I felt some of the dishes were over-salted for my taste, but that's a common restaurant quibble.
One of the two waiters was able to translate from Catalan to English ( or at least to castellano if the vocabulary was lacking) as our dishes arrived. The first waiter felt it necessary to warn us that the dishes were served " sin prisa " & the meal would take about 2 hrs. Perhaps they have had difficulty with other N. American customers, but really we weren't expecting McDegustacion.
We were there on a Saturday night, so cannot say if the tasting menu is regularly available. From our brief look, you would probably be happy ordering from the regular menu also.

  • Visited October 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed El Llagut also viewed

Tarragona, Costa Dorada
 
Tarragona, Costa Dorada
Tarragona, Costa Dorada
 

Been to El Llagut? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage El Llagut, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.