We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Traditional Spansh” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Palau del Baro

Palau del Baro
Santa Anna, 3, 43003 Tarragona, Spain
977241464
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #36 of 305 restaurants in Tarragona
Price range: $16 - $30
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations, Late Night
Description: .Desde fa ja una dècada, a Tarragona es pot menjar en un autèntic palau, situat al casc antic de la ciutat, molt prop de la catedral. El nom del restaurant ja ho indica: Palau del Baró i ocupa la que fou la residència del Baró de les Quatre Torres (que també té un carrer al municipi), durant el segle XVIII. Més tard, la hisendada família Vives, procedent de Vila-rodona, va comprar el palau i el va redecorar, com ho demostra la suntuositat de les seves estances i, especialment, el seu jardí romàntic.Finalment, i després de les corresponents obres de remodelació, sense perdre gens el seu caràcter i personalitat, i recuperant fidelment la mansió, el Palau del Baró va obrir com a restaurant. La idea impulsora era el desig d’oferir a Tarragona un espai de restauració que unís la qualitat dels serveis amb un ambient noble i singular de les diferents dependències d’aquest antic palau.En aquests deu anys de trajectòria, l’establiment ha passat per diverses direccions i darrerament se n’va fer càrrec del Palau del Baró en Marco Borromeo, que ja hi venia treballant com a cap de cuina.Actualment, en el Palau del Baró,ofereix una línia de cuina mediterrània amb toc d’autor i en aquests menjadors (de 45, 30, 20 i 15 comensals de capacitat) de clàssica decoració o a la terrassa, es presenten delícies gastronòmiques.
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Traditional Spansh”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2012

Be prepared for typical spanish.. They take the time. Book early. Menu is great traditional spanish so you can't go wrong if thats what you want. If you want comfort food, not the place. There was lamb to absolutely to die for. Everyone was ordering the rice dish with seafood. Big mistake not to take. Other traditional dishes on there. Well cooked. Tasty. no doug. Be ready to relax and take 1.5-2 hours to have dinner. If you want other cuisine, don't go here. No people on vacation. Onl spanish. Get a wonderful table on the terrace and be adventurous!

  • Visited August 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

149 reviews from our community

80% Recommend
    78
    42
    12
    8
    9
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“excellent food and dining atmosphere”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2012

We dined in a relaxing spanish atmosphere at he first floor on the outside terrace and had a wonderful fish meal of calamares and turbot with sangria cava. As a desert whe had a plateau of local cheese with local wine. This restaurant offers more than the usual tapas menu with the unhealthy iberian ham and sausages and croquettes.The service was extraordinary attentive and friendly. We had the evening of our lives (and we are sixty already).

  • Visited August 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Extraordinary food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2012 via mobile

Coming here late on a friday night we found this superb restaurant - got a table at the terrace and wasserved the most delicious dinner on our trip this year to Spain. Everything was perfect - starters (we had 5 different starters) prime and dessert were all excellent - two bottles of wine - coffee and to end it all cava. The price was 25 € per person. I highly recommend this place situated in the historic part of the city.

Kim Nygaard
Denmark

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Gervais sur Mare
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
“Beautiful”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2012

Beautiful restaurant on the first floor of a house in the old town. Many original features of the house are preserved and small private dining rooms available or eat out on the roof terrace. Cuisine is innovative, excellent value for money with a good wine list which the waiter has full knowledge. The waiting staff are friendly, helpful and efficient. Slight oriental influences in the cuisine giving fresh and interesting flavours. We went one night and liked it so much we returned the second night of our 2 night stay.

  • Visited June 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambrils, Spain
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
“Explosió de foie - Catalan tapas”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 5, 2012

We've really enjoyed this restaurant, located in a 17th century palace in the old part of Tarragona. We tried its foie and truffle in a chocolate shell, a real explosion of tastes in your mouth. The place is worth a visit as the different rooms of the palace are now dining rooms. They also have a terrace.

  • Visited May 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Palau del Baro also viewed

Tarragona, Costa Dorada
 
Tarragona, Costa Dorada
Tarragona, Costa Dorada
 

Been to Palau del Baro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Palau del Baro, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.