We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Still great after 45 years” 4 of 5 stars
Review of El Velero - CLOSED

El Velero
Paseo de la Ribera, 38, 08870 Sitges, Spain
+34 938942051
Improve this listing
Cuisines: Mediterranean
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Doing business, Special occasions, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
Belgium
Top Contributor
142 reviews 142 reviews
72 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 45 cities Reviews in 45 cities
104 helpful votes 104 helpful votes
“Still great after 45 years”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2012

It is a restaurant thta has been at the seafront since I use to spent summers in Sitges during the 60's. They still have a very consistent and traditional approach. I went there with my son aged 15 and we shared a pllate of wonderfully fresh clams, some mussels and a seafood parrillada thta really serves two for the price of one. Excellent white wine by the glass and personal service by the nowadaysowner and his wife. External temperature was 35º but aircon kept the premises around 20 º C. A very good choice in Sitges, which besides a gay's paradise is also a classical barcelona family beach resort.

  • Visited August 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

86 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    39
    26
    17
    3
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Charlwood, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
47 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“It was excellent but now its better!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2012

We have used this restaurant many times over the last 10 years, it has always been one of my favourites in Sitges, but now the menu is a little wider and last night it was fantastic. The service is always impeccable.
What I like are the little specialities which are thrown in, such as the glass of gazpacho which had a unique taste, and then there are the little homemade chocolates at the end.
If you get the chance and you like the highest level of cuisine then go out of your way to visit.

  • Visited August 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Superb”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2012

Having been to sitges now for the past 3yrs, I class this restaurant as one of my faves!
The food and wines are stunning.
Myself and friends all agree a trip to sitges is not complete without a visit to its gem in the culinary crown!!
I am sooooo looking forward to my next trip/visit (in 3 weeks!!)

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lytham St Anne's, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
119 reviews 119 reviews
91 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
“Great food and service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2012

We always pay El Velero a visit when we are in Sitges and it is always a treat.

Whilst not the cheapest place in Sitges, it is one of the best, and worth the treat.

You will enjoy a good dinner here.

  • Visited May 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beachtravel
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Exquisite lunch”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 4, 2012

Just enjoyed a fabulous lunch at El Velero. Had the fixed price menu of a salad, sauted squid with vegetables and a cheese plate with a glss of wine for only 14euros. The food tasted as good as it looked... I took photos!

  • Visited May 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed El Velero also viewed

Sitges, Province of Barcelona
Sitges, Province of Barcelona
 
Sitges, Province of Barcelona
Sitges, Province of Barcelona
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage El Velero, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.