We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Money Up Front!” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Montserrat Hotel

Montserrat Hotel
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Montserrat Hotel to your Saves list
Montserrat Hotel
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   C/ Espalter 27, 08870 Sitges, Spain   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #15 of 39 Hotels in Sitges
Dublin
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
62 helpful votes 62 helpful votes
“Money Up Front!”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2009

We had booked in this hotel for a week and when I arrived I was asked to pay in full on registration! This was 'company policy' and as it was late at night (as in 21:00) and after a day's travel by trains from France, we were not really in a position to argue.

Despite some of the reviews stating that the hotel staff were not that friendly, I have to say that our experience of the staff was quite positive. We found them courteous and helpful. And the breakfast which also came in for a fair amount of criticism in reviews was as good as most hotels we have stayed in on this trip.

But there were some quite serious downsides.. There is NO soundproofing in the hotel so you get to hear everything that is going on in every room around you ... and I mean EVERYTHING!!! It really spoilt the stay for us, especially with other guests coming in from clubs/pubs early in the morning.

The second thing was the absence of a safe in the room which meant that we had concerns about money and documents when we were at the beach or out to dinner.

The hotel is very well located - literally in the centre of everything (which is not great taking the noise factor into account!) and the room was thoroughly cleaned every day. But for the money (E108 a day) it did not represent very good value.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

61 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    13
    30
    9
    6
    3
See reviews for
2
31
8
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
sitges
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2009

Apart from the location, I would never recommed this hotel for several reasons
1. no Internet access except for the reception area where the computer is turned off 21.10 every day
2. not a gay friendly hotel even though 95% guests are gay
3. the staff is unfriendly and quarelsome
4. impossible to have friends over worse rules and regulations than in Tunisia or Egypt
5. not adequate for its price 75euros per night
6. the rooms very very small and not renewed for years
7. attitude of the staff must change if they want to stay in business

Stayed July 2009, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Victoria, BC
Top Contributor
206 reviews 206 reviews
91 hotel reviews
Reviews in 109 cities Reviews in 109 cities
276 helpful votes 276 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 29, 2008

My husband and I spent two nights here at the end of September/beginning of October. We were looking for somewhere quiet and relaxing after heavy-duty sightseeing in Barcelona and elsewhere, and Sitges and the Hotel Montserrat fit the bill perfectly. Sitges is just half an hour by train from Barcelona, and the hotel is an easy walk from the railway station.

Our room was quite small - two beds, a nightstand, small table and two chairs packed into a fairly confined space - but it was clean and comfortable and had everything we needed. The bathroom had a tub as well as a shower. There was plenty of hot water in the morning, but the water never seemed more than lukewarm as the day progressed. (Perhaps the hotel laundry on the roof was the reason.) The TV in our room had an English-language news channel, which we appreciated as we were getting a bit out of touch with what was going on in the world. In two weeks in Spain, this was the only place that provided an English channel. That includes stays in much more expensive hotels in Barcelona.

I've read other reviews here criticizing the breakfast, but we found it more than adequate. The self-serve table offers cereal, yogurt, fresh fruit, juice, coffee, cold cuts, cheese, tomato, bread and pastries. We ate on the dining room's cheery little balcony, where you can choose to sit in the sun or in shade. We also took advantage of the rooftop terrace, relaxing over a picnic lunch (there are tables and chairs) before taking a siesta on chaises longues.

The town of Sitges is pleasant to walk around. Its waterfront comprises a series of beaches connected by a paved walkway. The sand is clean, and even at that time of year, the water is warm enough for swimming. There are plenty of places to eat or to buy groceries and wine or beer.

The hotel has internet access in the lobby. The staff were helpful about recommending restaurants, locating the post office, etc., and they told us about the direct bus service to Barcelona airport, a faster and easier option than the train ride we'd been planning.

All in all, a good hotel at a good price. Definitely recommended.

  • Liked — Helpful staff, rooftop terrace, outdoor area in dining room.
  • Stayed October 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scotland, UK
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2008

We stayed for 2 nights and found the hotel easily. It turned out to be a great location, the street leads to the beach and is very close to more or less everything but quite quiet as it doesn't seem to be a main route for people walking back. The staff were very friendly and took us to our room via the small lift. The room was reasonably sized and beds were comfortable. Its fair to say it is clear that this is a 2 star hotel - paint was peeling all over and the shower was just an attachment from the tap - the holder on the wall would only hold the shower at an awkward angle so it wasn't much use. We opted for the room with balcony and it was worth the extra money. The air conditioner in the room was brilliant - very powerful and with a remote control. Breakfast wasn't that great but for a quick bite I suppose did the job. The main negative part I would say was the noise within the hotel. If you are unlucky enough to share an area of the hotel with a noisy couple you'll hear everything so perhaps not the place for a quiet getaway (not that you would come to Sitges for that anyway). Having said that we would definately stay again, but maybe just as much for the cute guy on the balcony in the next room as much as the hotel itself!

  • Liked — Location, Air Con. Balcony
  • Disliked — A bit shabby, Noise from other guests
  • Stayed August 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Buenos Aires, Argentina
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2008

Considering this is a 2-star hotel, it is an excellent choice if you are looking for a decent accomodation. Centrally located just 300 m from the beach, and even so on a quiet street, at a stone-throw from the gay scene, the bus stop for the airport is just 200m away and railway station at 500m. Plenty of shops, restaurants, eateries in the nearby, even a laundry room and a small supermarket a few meters away on the same block.
Staff is very friendly (and gayfriendly), several languages are spoken. There is an internet point in the lobby or free wi-fi access in the lobby only. Accommodation is basic with very clean, quite spacious and comfortable rooms, as well as the bathroom which has a bathtub. You can only receive telephone call in your room; to make telephone calls there is a public telephone at the ground floor. I haven't heard any noises at night as posted in another review. The only thing I did not like was breakfast, very poor indeed. All the rest was very pleasant. I strongly recommend this hotel if you do not want to spend a lot of money on accommodation.

  • Liked — Location, comfort for a 2-star hotel.
  • Disliked — Breakfast
  • Stayed July 2008, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rugby
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2007

We stayed here for a week in June 2007. This was the third hotel that I have stayed in in Sitges.

The good points are:

Very friendly staff who remember you and appreciate you
Clean comfortable rooms that are a good size
Comfortable Bed
Excellent Location for town centre 300m and the beach 300m
Shops and ATMS very close
Gay friendly
Rooms cleaned every day and done quickly
5 minute walk from Railway Station

Negative points:

Breakfast not worth getting up for. Bread and bread and toasters that take 10 minutes to toast. The selection is very poor, but it has been similar in the other hotels in Sitges.
Noise. Again this has been the same in all the other hotels. I think it is because all the floors are tiled and they do not absorb any noise.

I would not hesitate to stay here again the next time I am in Sitges.

Stayed June 2007
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Montserrat Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Montserrat Hotel

Address: C/ Espalter 27, 08870 Sitges, Spain
Location: Spain > Catalonia > Province of Barcelona > Sitges
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
#3 Best Value Hotel in Sitges
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Montserrat Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 28
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Priceline, Despegar.com and Hotels.com so you can book your Montserrat Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Montserrat Hotel Sitges

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Montserrat Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.