We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Don't miss out” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Davallada 9 Restaurante Cafeteria

Davallada 9 Restaurante Cafeteria
C/Davallada 9, 08870 Sitges, Spain
+34 937 42 94 88
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #5 of 288 Restaurants in Sitges
Price range: $11 - $28
Cuisines: Mediterranean, Spanish, Tapas
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Bristol, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Don't miss out”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2014

The restaurant is close to the seafront, but without the pricetag. Its setting is charming, in the old town, with traditional Spanish (mainly Catalunian) cuisine to enhance. The food is divine, for 17 Euros don't miss the Menu del dia, which includes wine also. George is an attentive restauranteur, whose English and French are superb (despite what he'll tell you,) and his description of the courses is great. This was by far the most lovely dining experience I had in Sitges, and for sure one of the best I've ever had.

  • Visited July 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

179 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    125
    43
    6
    2
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Bucks
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Hidden Gem”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2014

So glad we persevered to find this restaurant, the map isn't the best! The food however is to die for! George speaks enough English to explain the menu, but more than that, he is warm, welcoming & charming. Inside, the setting is very Spanish, intimate - like someone's lounge. outside is on the narrow cobblestone with a slight slope! both settings are delightful. We had a mixed tapas starter, followed by Fideua (Paella with black angel hair pasta instead of rice) excellent choice of deserts - the whole meal was delicious . The menu includes a lovely (large) glass of wine per person, so nice..... we had an additional bottle! Excellent value at 50 EUROS total for 2 of us! We will be back to you see you next year George, Best, Jim

  • Visited August 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
“Best meal in Spain!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2014

Wonderful hidden gem in Sitges. Our host was absolutely wonderful, charming and wants to do everything for us to have a wonderful evening. We had their day special which included tapas to share, main dish and dessert. I can not believe it is only 17 Euros per person for the incredible quality of the food we were served. I wished we were staying in Sitges longer, I would have gone back there every day! Best tapas we had in Spain.

  • Visited July 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Copenhagen, Denmark
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“The full experience in one place.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2014

We ended up at Davallada by coincidence. A small hidden place not surrounded by other restaurants or tourists. It was raining and the restaurant was full and busy, but we agreed to sit outside under the awning. The waiter - a wonderful story of its own - was not happy about the fact that we couldn't get the best experience outside. We assured him that we were absolutely okay with sitting outside. But we DID get the best experience. The menu(only €16,50) was set and everything tasted like a piece of heaven. The service was magnificent. He didn't speak very good English but still tried his best and did all he could to give us his best service and friendly smalltalk. He said they had the worlds best sangria. It was SO good!
So our visit to Davallada was a full Spanish experience. At the nicest and coziest little restaurant - a place most people visiting Sitges probably don't find - unfortunately.

  • Visited July 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockholm, Sverige
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“A hidden gem in Sitges”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2014

We have been to Sitges several times and many restaurants are touristic and overpriced. After reading about Davallada 9 on Tripadvisor we went there and made a reservation OUTSIDE for the next evening.
The "only" have a fixed price meny for 16:50 € with one glas of wine included. An extra glas of wine costs 1,75 €. The starter is a traditional 4 types of warm tapas. We hade pedrone with sausage, mussels, calamares and patatas bravas. As main course we choosed lamb and chicken in a very nice orange glace. They also had paella, fideau and fish. The desserts were also very tasteful.
The owner is very nice and take really good care of all the guests. His sister in the kitchen prepared all of this lovely dinner.
The area and the atmosphere (just behind the church) is very romantic and calm.
We will,for sure, go there again!

  • Visited July 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Davallada 9 Restaurante Cafeteria also viewed

Sitges, Province of Barcelona
Sitges, Province of Barcelona
 
Sitges, Province of Barcelona
Sitges, Province of Barcelona
 

Been to Davallada 9 Restaurante Cafeteria? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Davallada 9 Restaurante Cafeteria, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.