We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fabulous Hotel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Galeon

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Galeon to your Saves list
Hotel Galeon
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   C/ San Francisco 46, 08870 Sitges, Spain   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Package Deal
Ranked #2 of 39 Hotels in Sitges
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Bristol, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Fabulous Hotel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 22, 2013

I stayed at the hotel with my sister and elderly mother and I couldn’t have chosen better. The hotel staff were extremely friendly and happy to sort out any problems. When we arrived I wasn’t happy with my room, not the hotels fault just the horrible weather. I was immediately moved to another room which was perfect, what more could you ask. The breakfast was so varied there was choice for every taste. Food was topped up fresh throughout breakfast; amazing. The hotel is perfectly situated for the local shops and only a short walk to the beach. Overall, it was the friendly and attentive staff which made our stay more memorable. If I ever go back to Sitges, I would definitely stay at the Galeón.

Room Tip: I was in room 208 and it looked out over the pool and back garden which was great.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GerenciaSitges, Gerente at Hotel Galeon, responded to this review, March 24, 2013
Thank you very much for having found time to write a review, it's certainly much appreciated. Many thanks for your appreciation to the result of the efforts of workers in the Hotel, they worry that everything is to your liking and have a memorable stay in Sitges.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

661 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    425
    185
    32
    11
    8
See reviews for
45
333
76
9
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (151)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2013

Stayed in the superior accommodation, which is across the road from the main hotel. (Out the back-door, past the swimming pool and exit left through the large wooden gates). Wonderful king-size bed with pillow choice, (drifted off on the large square one!). Black-out curtains which for me, who likes total darkness at night, wonderful! Power shower. Tea, coffee replenished every day and bed made.

Although I didn't stay out late, Breakfast is served until 12 and a wonderful choice, as well as evening meals for less than 10Euro, so there's no need to go looking for a place to eat. HIgh Tea is still a feature of this hotel with tea & cakes!

The Galeon staff really care about the guests and nothing is too much trouble. As my flight from Reus was early, meaning a stay in Reus overnight, leaving a day early, I was even asked if 'anything was wrong?'

Would recommend flying into Barcelona rather than Reus, as the Spanish Rail system, although efficient is not easy for an English only speaker, like me to understand! However all Spanish people are more than happy to help you get the right train! There are many trains from Barcelona to Sitges, but from Reus you have to change.

My day in Barcelona was rather spoilt as it was cold and drizzly, however Barcelona Sans Rail Station has an Information board familar to English, so you can't g wrong!

Can't wait to come back in the summer, use the pool, the jacuzzi, the lovely Sitges beach and expore more of the area.

Room Tip: Fly into Barcelona Airport rather than Reus as Sitges is connected more easily by rail than Reus.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GerenciaSitges, Gerente at Hotel Galeon, responded to this review, March 18, 2013
Thank you for your great review and for taking the time to post it on Trip Advisor, it's certainly appreciated! We would love to have you come and stay with us again, thank you for your compliments.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2013 via mobile

Firstly, Sitges is only 30 minutes train ride from Barcelona Airport. Figuring out which platform to get our train from, was a little confusing so ask someone, everyone we approached were very friendly and helpful. Once in Sitges turn right out of the train station and walk down passed Carrefour, hotel Galeon's road is the 2nd on the left. Turn down here and it's 100 yards on the left.

The Galeon is an amazing hotel. This is mostly due to the staff that can't do enough to help you with their friendly and approachable manner! The rooms were spotless and cleaned on a daily basis. Breakfast was amazing being served from 8am to 12pm with everything you could think of, from fruit, pastries, cereals to full English breakfast, including a selection of cheese and cold meats, pure fruit juices to coffee, tea, hot chocolate and Champagne!!

I can't stress how wonderful the staff were, we asked about a trip to a local vineyard and the gentleman on the desk virtually planned it out for us including calling the vineyard letting them know we were coming! There wasn't enough they could do for us whilst staying at the Galeon and would unreservedly recommend it to anyone!!

Just a bit of info regarding disability and parking

If you are disabled dont upgrade to the superior rooms as they are located on the street behind in a building which has steps to enter, although not many steps and a lift once inside, I feel you would struggle a bit!
Be advised although there is street parking about 5 minutes away it isn't always guaranteed you will find a place. The hotel provides parking at 15 euros per day which I found quite expensive, but considering the lack of parking areas I can understand!

Lastly, I don't think there is enough good things I could say about this hotel other than go find out for yourselves and have an amazing time.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GerenciaSitges, Gerente at Hotel Galeon, responded to this review, March 17, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to post a review for us, it's really appreciated.
We're very flattered that you ' highly recommended ' us, thank you. We seem to have really terrific people stay here and you are no exception! Kind regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kingston, Canada
Top Contributor
96 reviews 96 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 49 cities Reviews in 49 cities
61 helpful votes 61 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 8, 2013

Close to train and bus but a bit further to the beach, this hotel was a pleasant surprise. Outstanding breakfast buffet to meet any breakfast preference, free wifi and quiet location in the old part of the city gives a great experience for travellers. Even access to low cost parking is available.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GerenciaSitges, Gerente at Hotel Galeon, responded to this review, March 9, 2013
Thank you for your wonderful review and for taking the time to post it, it's very much appreciated!
We are very pleased that you enjoyed your stay in Sitges.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Antibes, France
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 7, 2013

The hotel provides superb meal with great value,very impressive. It is located near the beach. The staff is so kind, the service is high quality.
Our room is spacious and the bed is absolutely huge and comfortable. The wall is not as thin as in most other hotels, so a good night sleep is assured.
The welcome drink is really a delight, sipping the champagne on the balcony, enjoying the marvelous sunset while the ocean breeze comb though my hair .....
I really love this hotel, feels like home~

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GerenciaSitges, Gerente at Hotel Galeon, responded to this review, March 7, 2013
Thank you very much for your kind words and for posting them on Tripadvisor.
We get a lot of pleasure out of helping the terrific people that we host, to ensure that their stay in Sitges is the best it can be.
We look forward to seeing you back here another time.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bath
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 6, 2013

Booked at the last minute and chosen because other reviews were good and the price was very reasonable. We were not disappointed, admittedly our stanav had some difficulty with the one way roads in Sitges but when we arrived reception was exceptionally friendly and helpful. Our room was basic but satisfactory. Breakfast was very good and dinner (extra cost) was very good value. All in all a very good hotel in the middle of the town within walking distance of everything.

Room Tip: Ask for room at back, front is on to the small street and a little noisy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GerenciaSitges, Gerente at Hotel Galeon, responded to this review, March 7, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to post your comments, it is greatly appreciated.
We're also pleased that your holiday in our beautiful country went so well and we were happy to be able to contribute to that.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2013

My wife and I spent 5 days at this Hotel 8th February to the 13th during the Carnival.
The Hotel for a 3 star was really great for the price.Standard double room was very spacious and
The Room maids staff were excellent.
Hotel reception staff Vincent,Caesar,and Miguel were so helpful and friendly and went out there way to help us.
The breakfast is a buffet style hot and cold with plenty of choice.We ate twice in the Restaurant and found it very good indeed.
Would recommend this Hotel .Can only thank the all the Galeon staff for making our 5 day stay a
Most memorable one.Frank &Joan Bearsden Scotland

Room Tip: We were in standard double room in the main building and it was very good. The annex building thro...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GerenciaSitges, Gerente at Hotel Galeon, responded to this review, March 6, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to post your comments, it is greatly appreciated.
We're also pleased that your holiday in our beautiful country went so well and we were happy to be able to contribute to that. Many thanks for your appreciation to the result of the efforts of workers in the Hotel, they worry that everything is to your liking and have a memorable stay in Sitges.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Galeon? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Galeon

Address: C/ San Francisco 46, 08870 Sitges, Spain
Phone Number:
Location: Spain > Catalonia > Province of Barcelona > Sitges
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Sitges
#2 Romantic Hotel in Sitges
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Sitges
#5 Family Hotel in Sitges
#5 Business Hotel in Sitges
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Galeon 3*
Number of rooms: 74
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, T4B, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotels.com and Despegar.com so you can book your Hotel Galeon reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Galeon Hotel Sitges

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Galeon, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.