We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Hotel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel El Cid

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel El Cid to your Saves list
Hotel El Cid
1.0 of 5 Hotel   |   C/ San Jose 39, 08870 Sitges, Spain   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #5 of 39 Hotels in Sitges
Ruthin, United Kingdom
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Excellent Hotel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2013

My first time in Spain, and I couldn't have had a better welcome. Lovely comfortable hotel, in a good location.
Nice room with balcony overlooking the pool, cleaned to a high standard daily. The Breakfast Buffet couldn't have been better, and the staff very friendly and helpful. I only wish we could have stayed longer.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GerenciaSitges, Gerente at Hotel El Cid, responded to this review, September 25, 2013
We wish you could have stayed longer too! We're very pleased you enjoyed your stay with us and thank you for your kind remarks. All the very best.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

406 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    200
    147
    37
    19
    3
See reviews for
15
135
77
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (108)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
belfast
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2013 via mobile

I arrived checked in quickly lots of info on hotel etc even though I had been before.
I booked a single room but was given a comfortable triple room ,the hotel is not the most modern but it's clean has a friendly staff,the pool area is spotless and has plently of sunbeds.
There is a good buffet served till noon great if you party too late!
There is always plenty of hot water and the chilled lemonade in the foyer is a nice touch .
In summing up its a great hotel if you have a budget it's quiet enough and comfy beds,but don't expect luxury!

Stayed September 2013, traveled solo
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GerenciaSitges, Gerente at Hotel El Cid, responded to this review, September 25, 2013
Thank you, high praise indeed! And a big thanks you for taking the time to post a review. It´s great to see at guests again, we will work as hard as we can, to see you next year keeping up with the effort and illusion for making your stay in SITGES unforgettable. Thank you again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bradford, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 21, 2013

I went to the El Cid two years ago and I enjoyed it so this year in early September I saw no reason at all not to use it again when I returned to Sitges for a solo holiday. The main attraction of this hotelm is the staff. Tony, the Manager has a really excellentb team of staff, and I include the room chambermaids, the kitchen boys, the boys and girls on the reception. I must thank one female receptionist who helped me out when I was trying to get a print out from the hotel PC. The hotel is in the cenre of the town which makes it ideal for the shops, beaches, rail and bus and the nightlife. The hotel is classed as a budget hotel but I have been to many so called 3 star hotels in the UK which are very poor when compared to the El Cid. Yes the El Cid has its faults, its rough corners but overall it is a fine hotel and if Tony stays in charge it will never let you down. I must say that this hotel may not be suitable for familys with young children, there are no play areas, childrens pools and I have never seen young children at the hotel. The bulk of the customers seem to be solo males, couples or small groups of males or females. The hotel is very gay friendly as is the whole of Sitges town. If you want a relaxing, trouble free hotel in a really great Spanish town then this hotel should suit you. The El Cid is part of a group of hotels so before you book look on the web site www.hotelsitges.com and check out all the hotels in the group.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GerenciaSitges, Gerente at Hotel El Cid, responded to this review, September 23, 2013
Thank you, for the lovely things you said.
I guess the highest compliment we can be paid as accommodation providers, is to have guests return and enjoy their stay for another time, thank you for that and for your company. Thank you very much.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
brighton
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 21, 2013

I have stayed here many times and will continue to.every visit to the hotel something else has been improved for their guests.this year they have improved the breakfast to include a hot Buffett as well as the continental choice which is very large.they have also included cava in the morning if you like a drink.They have free wifi in all rooms and it's very high speed.if you depart late you can check out and they will store your luggage for you and provide you with a room to shower and iron your clothes later in the day.The staff are excellent and always a big welcome.i am writing this review now in the hotel for my previous visit 2 weeks ago.

Room Tip: The pool view rooms are quieter than the side but very good double glazing soo noise outside is not...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GerenciaSitges, Gerente at Hotel El Cid, responded to this review, September 23, 2013
Thank you very much for your kind words and for posting them on Tripadvisor.
We get a lot of pleasure out of helping the terrific people that we host, to ensure that their stay in Sitges is the best it can be.
We look forward to seeing you back here another time.
Take care.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milan, Italy
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2013

Its located in a very good position. I already been several times but this summer I really appreciated the good breakfast. The staff was friendly and welcoming. There's also a nice swimming pool. I really want to return there as soon as possible.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GerenciaSitges, Gerente at Hotel El Cid, responded to this review, September 23, 2013
We would love to have you come and stay with us again, thank you for your compliments and for taking the time to post a review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2013

About to make my 5th visit in 2 years to this great value friendly hotel. Great location with access to resturants bars and beaches. Some great staff especially the manger, night porter and cleaner. Breakfast until mid day is a bonus!

Room Tip: pay for the pool view!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GerenciaSitges, Gerente at Hotel El Cid, responded to this review, September 19, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to post a review for us, it's really appreciated.
We're very flattered that you ' highly recommended ' us, thank you. We seem to have really terrific people stay here and you are no exception! Kind regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2013

This is a very nice place to stay, clean and friendly, close to everything, gets booked up very quickly, lots of return business. If you want the plaza, stay at its sister hotel the Galleon but you could be anywhere, this is Spain. There was no fitness centre this year.

Room Tip: The rooms facing the street can be a little noisy but there is good insulation
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GerenciaSitges, Gerente at Hotel El Cid, responded to this review, September 19, 2013
We would love to have you come and stay with us again, thank you for your compliments and for taking the time to post a review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel El Cid? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel El Cid

Address: C/ San Jose 39, 08870 Sitges, Spain
Phone Number:
Location: Spain > Catalonia > Province of Barcelona > Sitges
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Sitges
#7 Romantic Hotel in Sitges
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:1 star — Hotel El Cid 1*
Number of rooms: 77
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, T4B, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Hotel El Cid reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
El Cid Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel El Cid, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.