We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good value hotel” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel El Cid

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel El Cid to your Saves list
Hotel El Cid
1.0 of 5 Hotel   |   C/ San Jose 39, 08870 Sitges, Spain   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #5 of 39 Hotels in Sitges
Bolton, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Good value hotel”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2012

A good value hotel in the heart of Sitges, close the railway station and the town centre. It had a feel of being 1970s about it was comfortable to stay in. I would go back if I was in Sitges again and would be happy to recommend it.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GerenciaSitges, Gerente at Hotel El Cid, responded to this review, August 20, 2012
Thank you very much for posting such lovely comments, and we are very pleased that you enjoyed your stay here with us!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

406 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    200
    147
    37
    19
    3
See reviews for
15
135
77
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (108)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Heckmondwike, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
309 reviews 309 reviews
40 hotel reviews
Reviews in 64 cities Reviews in 64 cities
173 helpful votes 173 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2012 via mobile

This is a difficult one to review, on one hand it's a great location and a room when needed, the air con works well and the staff are helpful, on the other hand we asked for a double bed and ended up with two singles which made it uncomfortable, the hotel is old and doesn't impress but I can live with that as its the best price out of the three 'sister' hotels, the pool area was OK but not enough beds and the ones there were in bad shape and the breakfast was pretty poor, the Galeon offers a far superior breakfast, nothing here made me want to return, the fruit was mostly canned, no hot items, not even a boiled egg, would I stay again? probably if the price is right but I am starting to think an apartment might be a better option in future.

Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GerenciaSitges, Gerente at Hotel El Cid, responded to this review, August 20, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to post your comments, it is greatly appreciated.
We're also pleased that your holiday in our beautiful country went so well and we were happy to be able to contribute to that.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peterborough, United Kingdom
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2012

We visit Sitges each year and stay at this hotel most times. It is a very spanish style Hotel. has the Spanish feel about it with the decor etc. The staff are very friendly,helpful. The hotels prices are average not over priced but def not the cheapest. They offer bed and breakfast which is mainly cold buffet type food. Locationwise it is very good close to the station, short walk to sea front through the narrow but interesting streets.There is a swimming pool with sun lounges. Also some rooms have balconys overlooking the pool. These are the best rooms. some rooma are very small.

Room Tip: try ask for poolside view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GerenciaSitges, Gerente at Hotel El Cid, responded to this review, August 19, 2012
Thank you for posting a review, it's really appreciated.
We are very pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Top Contributor
76 reviews 76 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
74 helpful votes 74 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2012

Had meant to stick this review on for a month, so apologies El Cid. Well, what can I say .. completely bowled over. I had stayed in Sitges 4 times previously but this was the first time I tried the El Cid. And I was so glad I did !!!

We got a good sized bedroom with TV and aircon, not to mention the massive terrace :) Free WiFi in reception areas which are a little dark, but a welcome escape from the blistering sunshine. Bathrooms perfectly functional (ours with bath and shower) but could do with sprucing up. Never been anywhere in the world where their hot water was as instant and hot !!!

Good size but busy pool (especially in the afternoons). Breakfast was also included in the price and put some 3* & 4* offerings to shame - one of the best breakfast offerings I've enjoyed from a value for money hotel.

El Cid absolutely surpasses the 1* rating. Great facilities, exceptionally helpful and pleasant reception staff. Very efficient and hard working housekeeping staff.

Would I return ??? You bet - without a doubt !!!!!

Keep up the good work El Cid. We've recommended you already based on our fantastic experience with you.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GerenciaSitges, Gerente at Hotel El Cid, responded to this review, August 11, 2012
Thank you for your great review and for taking the time to post it on Trip Advisor, it's certainly appreciated! We are very pleased that you enjoyed your stay in Sitges.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hove, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
121 reviews 121 reviews
74 hotel reviews
Reviews in 49 cities Reviews in 49 cities
91 helpful votes 91 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2012

I've just returned from a truly inexpensive 5-night stay at the El Cid Hotel in Sitges and am absolutely overwhelmed at the amazing value for money that this hotel provides, as well as friendly, efficient service. A 'one star' rating does nothing to represent the quality of the property and accommodation provided. I've stayed in numerous '4-star' hotels that are in far worse condition and have terrible, rude customer service, so without a doubt, this place is a real find. I chose a 'deluxe' room overlooking the pool complete with a little balcony for hanging out in the evenings. The room itself was very basic and a bit worn, but spotlessly clean with loads of fresh towels, toiletries, and clean linens replaced daily. The room had a very good sized bathroom with a tub and bidet, as well as an in-room safe and small television with English channels. Included in the price was a buffet breakfast, complete with cava on ice (a nice touch) and a decent selection of cold meats, cheeses, fresh pasteries, breads and cereals. The pool was cleaned daily and is a good enough size to actually swim some laps! Perhaps the best feature of this charming hotel is the friendly and helpful staff, who went out of their way to make sure guests were well looked after... even when they were obviously busy and under a lot of stress during the high season (August). To top it all off, the location can't be beat: a easy 5-10 minute walk from the train station, right in the centre of the old town. Close to the beach and an endless variety of shops and restaurants. I am sure that hotels charging twice the daily rate of the El Cid don't provide such amazing value for money. BOOK EARLY as this place is extremely popular, for good reason. Very highly recommended.

Room Tip: Choose a 'deluxe' room overlooking the pool for more light and a small balcony
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GerenciaSitges, Gerente at Hotel El Cid, responded to this review, August 8, 2012
WOW, thank you, high praise indeed!
So glad you enjoyed your stay here, and a big thank you for taking the time to post a review.
We would love to have you stay with us again, sometime in the future.
In the meantime, take care of yourselves!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
62 helpful votes 62 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2012 via mobile

This hotels cheap and cheerful. It's clean and functional with staff that are so friendly and helpful.

You get a welcome drink (free) in their sister hotel.

The only thing missing from the rooms was a small fridge.

Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GerenciaSitges, Gerente at Hotel El Cid, responded to this review, August 8, 2012
Thank you very much for posting a review and for saying such nice things, we're very pleased you enjoyed your stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2012 via mobile

Very impressed with this one star hotel.

Excellent location (5 mins walk from the station, a stroll to the beach and the numerous restaurants around.

Yes, the rooms are basic, but it has everything you need, including a hot powerful shower (often absent in more pricey establishments) and was clean. I was perfectly comfortable staying here.

Breakfast is also basic but perfectly adequate. Staff were very friendly and helpful. Free wifi in the lobby with comfortable chairs is provided.

In short, it does there basics well. I would definitely choose to stay here again.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GerenciaSitges, Gerente at Hotel El Cid, responded to this review, August 6, 2012
Thank you very much for posting such lovely comments, and we are very pleased that you enjoyed your stay here with us!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel El Cid? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel El Cid

Address: C/ San Jose 39, 08870 Sitges, Spain
Phone Number:
Location: Spain > Catalonia > Province of Barcelona > Sitges
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Sitges
#7 Romantic Hotel in Sitges
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:1 star — Hotel El Cid 1*
Number of rooms: 77
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, T4B, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Hotel El Cid reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
El Cid Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel El Cid, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.