We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“great location, good breakfast small room, lots of street noise” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Subur

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Subur to your Saves list
Hotel Subur
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Passeig de la Ribera s/n, 08870 Sitges, Spain   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #16 of 39 Hotels in Sitges
LONDON
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“great location, good breakfast small room, lots of street noise”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2013

stayed for 3 nights bought ear plugs after night one as road noise so incredible and kept us awake small room. good value. plentiful breakfast. very close to beach and town.free wifi. food in restaurant looked poor.

Room Tip: away from road
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hsubur, Assistant Manager at Hotel Subur, responded to this review, July 22, 2013
Dear PJC1979,

Thank you for write your opinion about our Hotel in Tripadvisor. Your feedback is very important to us and we value your comments. We want to apologise about the noise problems, is clear that one of our worst points is the noise, we’ll try to improve our facilities in the future and solve this problem. By telling us what you liked and how we can improve, you're helping us to offer a better experience for you and other guests in the future.

If we can be of assistance in the future, please don't hesitate to contact us directly by phone or e-mail. Thank you again for taking the time to comment on Tripadvisor. I hope that you will consider staying with us again so that we can have another chance to provide you with a superior experience.

Sincerely,

Isabel Muñoz
Assistant Manager Hotel Subur Sitges
Grup M.A. S.L.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

419 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    68
    154
    114
    45
    38
See reviews for
20
172
56
11
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (100)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2013

Stayed at this hotel for three days. Front desk hardly spoke English. I had a digital safe...free....traveling companions had a key safe.....they had to pay 2 euros a day to use the safe. It is 2013, Hotel Subur is a 3 star hotel and no WIFI in room. Sports Bar connected to lobby has terrible food. DO NOT BOOK THIS HOTEL.

Room Tip: Rooms facing the sea have good views....that is all they have.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hsubur, Assistant Manager at Hotel Subur, responded to this review, July 16, 2013
Dear Politis_nick,

Thank you for completing the survey regarding your recent stay at our Hotel.

On behalf of our entire team, I would like to apologize for not exceeding your expectations. Your satisfaction is very important to us and we'll be using the feedback you gave us to implement improvements to ensure we could offer a better experience for guests in the future. About your comments I want to clarify the situation with the safe; we’re changing the old safe boxes for the new digital ones, the safe box service we’re offering has a reduced cost to cover the possible loss of key, meanwhile the service is free in some rooms like one of yours, but normally (like in other hotels) this service has a small supplement. Regarding internet connection we’re changing the current connection (ADSL) for a new technology (WiMax). I hope with this change we’ll solve the problems, next month the new connection will be available.

If I can provide you any assistance, please don't hesitate to contact us directly by phone or e-mail. I hope you’ll reconsider your position and we have another chance to offer you a better experience in the future in the restaurant Sports Bar and in the Hotel.

Sincerely,

Isabel Muñoz
Assistant Manager Hotel Subur Sitges
Grup M.A. S.L.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2013

I am staying at this hotel at the moment. I booked this room back in january and we are here for 10 days. I requested a balcony and sea view when I made the booking online with sunshine holidays. We got neither a sea view nor a balcony! We asked if we could change rooms and were told by the miserable reception man that they did not have one, we moved to a room with french doors as this was better than the room we were put in first with just a small window. We asked yesterday if they had a balcony room available, we were told yes but would have to pay an extra 5 euros per day to move to that room! I was shocked! We have stayed here twice before and moved rooms with no hassle in the past. The only good thing about the hotel is location. The staff unfriendly and unhelpfull. The room is not good enough for a 10 day stay. The WiFi is hit and miss. We will go back to hotel galeon next year, I won't give subur my money ever again!

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hsubur, Assistant Manager at Hotel Subur, responded to this review, July 16, 2013
Dear kylejoe82,

Thank you for completing the survey regarding your recent stay at our Hotel.

On behalf of our entire team, I would like to apologize for not exceeding your expectations. Your satisfaction is very important to us and we'll be using the feedback you gave us to implement improvements to ensure we could offer a better experience for guests in the future. About your reservation we’re offering different type of rooms and you could confirm sea view or rooms with balcony with different rates through different travel agencies or directly with us. Your reservation was for a standard room so we offered you upgrade the room with a reduced supplement (probably in other season we could offer you the upgrade without any cost), in the past the system didn’t allow to reserve a specific type of room, but nowadays we're confirming the type of rooms in the confirmation of each reservation. Regarding other questions we’re working to change our internet connection and we want to apologise again if some staff weren’t friendly.

If I can provide you any assistance, please don't hesitate to contact us directly by phone or e-mail. I hope you’ll reconsider your position and we have another chance to offer you a better experience in the future.
Sincerely,

Isabel Muñoz
Assistant Manager Hotel Subur Sitges
Grup M.A. S.L.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2013

Stayed here for a week during Carnival in Feb 2013 - location is ideal (on the front). Rooms were average, clean but dated, and breakfast was surprisingly good. There wasn't much view from the room but didn't matter as we didn't stay in that often.

This hotel would've had a 4 star rating if it wasn't for 1 problem we found - we had the room next to the cleaners room and the noise they could make from 8am in the morning was very loud - we were woken up every morning from their constant chatting in this room and they weren't exactly being quiet about it - also, the room constantly smelled cigarette smoke; whether this was the cleaners in their room or other guests breaking the rules, we do not know. Apart from this problem, overall the stay was pleasant but would've given an extra star if it wasn't for the problems.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hsubur, Assistant Manager at Hotel Subur, responded to this review, July 12, 2013
Dear Sheky73,

Thank you for share your opinion about our Hotel in Tripadvisor. Your feedback is very important to us and we value your comments (thank you for your nice comments about our breakfast service) we want to apologise about the noise problems, is clear that one of our worst points is the noise, we’ll try to improve our Hotel in the future and solve this problem. By telling us what you liked and how we can improve, you're helping us to offer a better experience for you and other guests in the future.

If we can be of assistance in the future, please don't hesitate to contact us directly by phone or e-mail. Thank you again for taking the time to comment on Tripadvisor. I hope that you will enjoy again in your next stay in Sitges with us!

Sincerely,

Isabel Muñoz
Assistant Manager Hotel Subur Sitges
Grup M.A. S.L.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2013

Woke up and found ants all over the floor and climbing around the sink! Called reception and asked to speak to a manager to change room and we were told that NO MANAGER was available and that a new room would have been available in 1 hour. 1 and a half hours later we called reception and found out that they actually forgot about us! When we did finally go to reception to pick up the new room key, the receptionist's attitude was a appalling, no apologies, no eye contact but just "Room xxx"
The reception staff always looked miserable and no acknowledgment made us feel unwelcome.

There is also a terrace seating area on the top floor that you cannot get too as the door was always locked. We asked at reception if it would be possible for them to open it for us but we were told no. After asking why, the receptionist replied that we were not allowed on it as you can get to other peoples balconies from there. I appreciate that this is good security but then WHY are they showing this on their website as a selling point??!!

Housekeeping staff were always friendly... maybe the manager (if there is 1) should move them to reception!

Definitely not staying here again and we do not recommend it to anyone!

Room Tip: If you must, then go for a top floor corner room. They seem the biggest.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hsubur, Assistant Manager at Hotel Subur, responded to this review, July 12, 2013
Dear Bty123_13,

Thank you for completing the survey regarding your recent stay at our Hotel.

On behalf of our entire team, I would like to apologize for not exceeding your expectations. Your satisfaction is very important to us and we'll be using the feedback you gave us to implement improvements to ensure we could offer a better experience for guests in the future. Will be very helpfull for me if you could send me an e-mail with more details about your stay (room number, dates, etc..) in order to take measures regarding your comments over your problem with staff. About the sunterrace we were improving our security and last week was reopened but we need to offer more security to our guests and next days will change some procedures to access there again.

If I can provide you any assistance, please don't hesitate to contact us directly by phone or e-mail.

Sincerely,

Isabel Muñoz
Assistant Manager Hotel Subur Sitges
Grup M.A. S.L.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2013

The location of the hotel is the best part of it. The levels of cleanliness are great! Maids worked very hard and were friendly!
Would we stay here again no. Better hotels in Sitges with much better staff.
The size of the room was tiny and bathroom also. In addition to this to have two AC units on your balcony is a little much! Now having read the reviews of the staff at reception - well they did actually live up to their reputation! Terrible and extremely unfriendly. Why do people work in the service industry and have such bad attitudes. Wi-fi hit or miss if working and dropped service.

Room Tip: Go for a higher floor and defo a sea view to have on the front.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hsubur, Assistant Manager at Hotel Subur, responded to this review, June 27, 2013
Dear WillsIrons,

Thank you for completing the survey regarding your recent stay at our Hotel.

On behalf of our entire team, I would like to apologize for not exceeding your expectations. Your satisfaction is very important to us and we'll be using the feedback you gave us to implement improvements to ensure we could offer a better experience for guests in the future. Thank you for your comments regarding cleanliness and maids. Will be very helpfull for me if you could send me an e-mail with more details about your stay (room number, dates, etc..) in order to take measures regarding your comments over our staff.

If I can provide you any assistance, please don't hesitate to contact us directly by phone or e-mail.

Sincerely,

Isabel Muñoz
Assistant Manager Hotel Subur Sitges
Grup M.A. S.L.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2013

We only stayed here one night as we did a bit of a Spanish tour and we weren't disappointed. We got a good deal on price and the location was great for all the bars, clubs and beach.
Our room was a double and en suite and was absolutely perfect for what we needed. I'd definitely recommend this place and would go back.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hsubur, Assistant Manager at Hotel Subur, responded to this review, June 27, 2013
Dear Midge123London,

Thank you for write your opinion about your recent stay at our Hotel. Your feedback is very important to us and we value your comments. By telling us what you liked and how we can improve, you're helping us to offer a better experience for you and other guests in the future.

If we can be of assistance in the future, please don't hesitate to contact us directly by phone or e-mail. Thank you again for taking the time to comment on Tripadvisor. I hope that you will enjoy again in your next stay in Sitges with us!

Sincerely,

Isabel Muñoz
Assistant Manager Hotel Subur Sitges
Grup M.A. S.L.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Subur? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Subur

Address: Passeig de la Ribera s/n, 08870 Sitges, Spain
Location: Spain > Catalonia > Province of Barcelona > Sitges
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#12 On the Beach Hotel in Sitges
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Subur 3*
Number of rooms: 95
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the hearth of town, the Hotel Subur in Sitges offers an unbeatable location, comfort, service and atmosphere. Next to the famous "Calle del Pecador", in the historic and commercial center, waterfront parallel to the main beaches, participating in the character and charm of the people of Sitges, this is the privileged place where you can find the Hotel Subur. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, Priceline, Despegar.com, Orbitz, Odigeo, HostelWorld and Agoda so you can book your Hotel Subur reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Subur Hotel Sitges

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Subur, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.