We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pleasant stay” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Estela Barcelona - Hotel del Arte

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Estela Barcelona - Hotel del Arte to your Saves list
Hotel Estela Barcelona - Hotel del Arte
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Avda Port d'Aiguadolc 8, 08870 Sitges, Spain (Formerly Hotel Estela)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #10 of 39 Hotels in Sitges
Perth, Western Australia
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
“Pleasant stay”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2011

Our room was great - plenty of space and very comfortable king size bed. Delicious breakfast - plentiful and fresh. Only the coffee machines were confusing! Wifi, although free, was very slow so rather frustrating. Parking available at around 20 euros per day in the hotel's underground carpark. Staff nice. Hotel nicely situated with lovely panoramic view but about a 20 minute walk from the main town/cafe/restaurant/shopping area of Sitges. About a 15 minute walk to the railway station. Hotel decorated with artwork - paintings, sculptures etc. - very novel and lovely to look at.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

192 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    71
    87
    21
    9
    4
See reviews for
31
88
7
27
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 21, 2011

This is a nice hotel with a great location next to the sea, the Marina and a short walk from the town centre. There is a lovely pool area too. Vast amounts of art that certainly wouldn't be to everyone's taste. The only negative is that the bar is utterly devoid of atmosphere. The rooms were nice and had a balcony plus kitchenettes though no utensils/pans etc. Breakfast was good. Staff are friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2011

It was generally a nice stay - hotel was quite big and clean. The air confitioning was not working at first but when I reported that in the reception it was fixed within the next hour.
Very nice breakfast - planty to choose from!

The only problem I have with this hotel is that it is so out of the city centre. To get the taxi it is about EUR 10.00 one way or about 25 minutes walk. While it's fun once in a while, when you plan to do it everyday it gets tiring.

Also, the hotel seems to be a very popular place for the weddings - spent there 3 nights and two of them was a wedding party right outside. Not to noisy but if you are a light sleeper it might be a problem.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Trondheim. Norway
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2011

Me and my family stayed at the "Estela Barcelona" for 4 nights in august 2011.

This is a very nice hotel. The rooms ar quite big. All rooms with a balcony and fridge. The breakfast was superb! The hotel is packed with art! Pictures, paintings and sculptures. There is always something interesting to watch!

Right on the other side of the street there is a lovely beach. It seemed to us that there were a lot of local people there - and not so many tourist. And the beach wasn't crowdy at all. There is also a small restaurant who offers what You need for lunch in a day on the beach.

There are a lot of restaurants some hundred meters away - in the marina area. They seemed a littlie boring and expencive - so its worth taking a walk into the city of Sitges. It took us 10-15 minutes along a nice pathway. There You can find all kind of restaurants and bars/discos!

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Top Contributor
134 reviews 134 reviews
64 hotel reviews
Reviews in 67 cities Reviews in 67 cities
99 helpful votes 99 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2011

PROS
-Clean: My room was very clean, and lobby is immaculate.
-Views: Although my room did not have a balcony, I had wonderful view of the Mediterranean sea.
-Decor: The hotel lobby is decorated with beautiful art.
-Size: The size of my room was average, but the bathroom was larger than I would have expected. The bathroom was very clean and full of natural light.

CONS
-Location: Although the hotel is directly across the street from the beach, it is a 20-30 minute walk to the center of town.
-Conveniences: There are no conveniences nearby, such as a grocery store, a coffee shop, laundry facilities, etc. You will have to walk 20-30 minutes into town for all conveniences. There is a mini-market nearby, which sells only a few things at premium prices.
-Air conditioning: My a/c did not work. I had it set to the lowest possible setting (5c) at the maximum power, and I was sitting in my room sweating. I had a small window, which I opened to receive a small breeze.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled solo
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2011

The hotel is in a nice quiet area of the town with a busy beach directly across the road. The pool is small and there aren't many sunbeds. When we arrived our balcony hadn't been cleaned properly and there were ants on it. Apart from this we were happy with the hotel.

  • Stayed July 2011
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with OctopusTravel

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Plymouth, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2011

The hotel is about a 25 minute walk to the centre of Sitges, would have thought there should have been internet access, they did have a very small note book that you could use but was very slow.
The first night we arrived, we ran out of shower gel and shampoo, and had to ask for some, our TV would not tune in correctly, the tap in out bathroom would not turn off completely. The air conditioning only went down to 15, and didnt seem to always cool the room.
The swimming pool was ok, but they have stuck some rubber over the original tiles and it is coming loose, looks horrible.
Breakfast was another matter, this was not good at all. They only had 14 tables that they used, and only 1 member of staff on to clear the tables and top up the food.
We would normally have to wait for a table to be cleared, and then go and have to ask for food to be topped up. Some days, there would be as many as 8 tables all been used, that needed clearing.
I thought it was over priced and would prob be more suited as a 3 star hotel. Staff were not all friendly, very hit and miss.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hotel Estela Barcelona - Hotel del Arte? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Estela Barcelona - Hotel del Arte

Address: Avda Port d'Aiguadolc 8, 08870 Sitges, Spain (Formerly Hotel Estela)
Location: Spain > Catalonia > Province of Barcelona > Sitges
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Luxury Hotel in Sitges
#6 Romantic Hotel in Sitges
#8 On the Beach Hotel in Sitges
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Estela Barcelona - Hotel del Arte 4*
Number of rooms: 64
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on the seafront, in one of the most attractive and relaxing corners from Sitges, the Port of Aiguadolç.Hotel Estela is a 4 star hotel that offers 65 spacious rooms, all of them with terraces. This Hotel has taken great effort, feeling and passion for culture. Not only in the work of artists through the frescoes, paintings and sculptures that can be admired throughout its facilities, but also by the affable and courteous treatment given to customers. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Orbitz, Despegar.com, Odigeo and Expedia so you can book your Hotel Estela Barcelona - Hotel del Arte reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Estela Hotel Sitges

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Estela Barcelona - Hotel del Arte, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.