We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best views in Sitges” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Avenida Sofia Hotel & Spa

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Avenida Sofia Hotel & Spa to your Saves list
Avenida Sofia Hotel & Spa
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Avenida Sofia,12, 8870 Sitges, Spain   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #13 of 39 Hotels in Sitges
Barcelona, Spain
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Best views in Sitges”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 24, 2014 via mobile

Next time you're in town, head to the top floor of this hotel for great drinks, delicious food and a spectacular 360 degree view of the city! See the sun go down, order a second Caipirinha and then head to your table. You'll wish summer never had to end.

Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
José Miguel T, Gerente at Avenida Sofia Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, January 28, 2014
Dear Guest, thank you very much for your kind comment about our hotel. Best regards from Sitges
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

219 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    88
    71
    31
    13
    16
See reviews for
20
115
6
17
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (30)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 15, 2014

This hotel was a real find and quite surprising. It's central, but away from the main area, so is quiet and in a convenient location. The rooms are a bit quirky but nice (superior) with the usual layout. The breakfast is good, but not brilliant. The spa is amazing! lovely indoor salt water pool, steam, sauna (wasn't working), and the therapy pool with various water jets. The staff are very friendly and efficient. Massages are good and the oxygen therapy is wonderful. 4 amazing nights later, we were refreshed and very relaxed. Would highly recommend this town and this hotel.

Room Tip: A great hotel for the price, comfort and location. Highly recommended.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
José Miguel T, Gerente at Avenida Sofia Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, January 28, 2014
Dear Guest, thank you very much for your comments about your recent stay in our Hotel. Please accept my apologies for not having the sauna working properly it took a few days to get it working fine. We have now a new Chef which is changing lots of things in the kitchen an one of those is breakfast. If you come back, you’ll see the difference. Best regards from sunny Sitges
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
York, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 14, 2014

The Hotel was recomended by my workmate. On arrival it seemed very nice but the Restraunt was Closed all week not Good Staff were very nice but the price of a beer was expensive 4.60 euros I and my mate were not paying but that's not the point don't think i will stay again but hayho there loss TV only had bbc world much better Hotels in the Town

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
José Miguel T, Gerente at Avenida Sofia Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, January 28, 2014
Dear Guest, I’m very sorry for any inconvenience you had while you stayed in our hotel. We did have the Restaurant closed for lunch and dinner for few days, we have now a new chef and we’re back to full operation. There had to be a mistake somewhere with the beer charge, it cost much less than the amount you mention on your comment. If you by any chance come back to Sitges, please visit us again. Best regards from sunny Sitges
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Doha
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 12, 2014

My family and I booked in to this hotel for four nights over the New Year period. What a mistake that was...
The hotel is nice and the Junior suite was well decorated and of a good size. That's where the pleasentries stop. We called down for room service soon after our arrival to be told that there was no room service until further notice. The restaurant was closed and would remain closed for the duration of our trip. It transpires that the outside caterers fell out with the Management and left before Christmas. Therefore, we were stuck in our room with a 12 year old and a 1 year old baby with no food. There was not one TV channel in English and no movie channels. The AC was not working and dirty plates and a bottle of welcome Cava remained in the room our entire trip. This became a major problem on New Years Day as everywhere was closed. In fairness the staff did make our baby some pasta when we asked. Breakfast was served. However there was no high chair!

Despite my attempts to speak to Manager, which I asked for soon after our arrival, my request was ignored until our departure date, where the manager approached me and nonchalantly exclaimed that the caterers and bar staff had walked out before Christmas, it was in the hands of the legal teams and that's that. When i responded by saying this was unacceptable and we should have been notified prior to our stay he defended the hotel by saying " We didn't think that was necessary as we didn't think anyone would want to use the restaurant as they're all visiting family. What is your purpose of your trip." Needless to say there was absolutely no apology or offer of a discount to the room rate.

During our stay it became apparent that there were very few staff and the staff were doing all the jobs. One minute the waiter would be serving in the bar the next he would be delivering room service and answering phones. I spoke with one member of staff at the bar one evening who explained that there had been a big fight before Christmas and staff had walked out There was a feeling of very low morale amongst the remaining staff members.

I have stayed in many hotels all over the world and this on a service level has to be one of the worst.

Don't book this hotel!

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
José Miguel T, Gerente at Avenida Sofia Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, February 19, 2014
I'll be very honest with you. I placed your complaint aside on purpose because it's so unfair what you wrote about your stay in our hotel. Allow me to remind you, you did not booked directly in this hotel as you state. Your booking was re directed from our sister hotel, we honored the rate reserved despite this hotel had a higher rate. We did upgrade you to a Junior Suite in order to have the family together in one room at no extra charge. When you ordered Room Service, the food was delivered to your room. I could continue clarifying every argument/complain you used to obtain a discount the day of your departure. When I did not approved any of the discounts you requested, there was no reason for both of you to start insulting me, threaten me with publishing negative comments about your stay, etc.,. I have nothing else to comment. I wish you all the best
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2014

Breakfast not good. Bar close at 10 on New Year's Eve 12 o'clock every other night not good when you want a night cap. Mini bar not much in it. Did not replace toiletries even though we were there for 4 nights. Not good value for what we paid. But bed was fabulous one of the best. Spa and treatment was very nice.

Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
José Miguel T, Gerente at Avenida Sofia Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, January 13, 2014
Dear Guest, I'm really sorry if you were not satisfied with our breakfast, other guests have a really good opinion with the variety they find in it. Also, please accept my most sincere appologies if we did not replace toiletries, our housekeeping staff is always alert to do so. Best regards from Sit
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2013

Was at SITGES for the Film Festival.

I stayed primarily at the Melia (which is nice) because it was center of the festival. However I prefer modern and newer rooms and the pricing was better so I changed to Avenida.

Glad I did! Everything is new, service was quick. Attendant immediately took care of my bags. The wooden entryway and "Feng Shui" feel of the building is inviting.

Room was incredibly nice. What I liked is they designed it to the T... they thought of everything. Wooden panel walls, large closet space that looks like it came from a Poliform catalogue. The bathroom has a cute vanity for the ladies. The shower and toilet both have closed in doors so you have privacy. Bedding is uber comfortable - I slept like a baby. I felt I was getting quality.

On the rooftop, they serve affordable sushi that's fresh, coffee, cocktails,etc with a 360 view of Sitges (the entire water and hillside). On the lowest level a very high end spa for facials and massages using Carita products - place is a sanctuary.

I liked how the rooms from the hallway looked like individual apartments... you felt you were entering your own place. The internet service is free and quick.

The location is amazing! Right on the beach and also 2 blocks you are in the city center. In addition it is very affordable for the quality, service, attention to detail and 5 star amenities.

A bit about me: I am in my early 30s from Manhattan, but a world traveler, I live out of my suitcase (literally) and live hotel to hotel. I used to have a travel blog as it's my passion. I will be posting all my hotel stays on Tripadvisor. After a few #fails from advice on Tripadvisor, I realized the importance for professional, honest, discerning feedback for someone who doesn't want to end up in the wrong place. A good deal for me is quality, comfortability, cleanliness and service and overall experience for the right price.

Room Tip: All rooms are great.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
José Miguel T, Manager at Avenida Sofia Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, November 15, 2013
Google Translation
Cher client, merci beaucoup pour vos commentaires de votre séjour dans notre hôtel. Nous espérons vous revoir. Salutations de Sitges
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cornwall
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2013

Literally in the heart of Sitges we stayed here in late August as we wanted to experience Festa Major. We wanted to stay in town rather than drive in each day. Having read some of the reports beforehand we were a bit concerned but we didn't need to be. The staff were efficient and friendly. Our room was gorgeous and spotlessly clean, if a little on the small side but it had been efficiently thought out and was sleek and modern. The bed was comfy as were the pillows. There was no balcony but that didn't matter. The hotel was quiet even though busy, we were on the fifth floor and literally didn't see anyone else on our floor during our stay apart from the cleaners. The roof bar and pool area is great during the daytime and evening. Some would say the pool is small but the beach is literally steps away! Breakfast was buffet style with plenty of choice and availability even if you went a bit later for breakfast. One disappointment was that to park at the hotel was €25 per day which we thought was outrageous, however, we parked on the roads with no problems - be careful where you park though as some of the first few lines of streets have parking meters.

The spa was simply amazing - our stay included one 1.5 hour use. It was so good that we paid €15 to go again on our last day. No chlorine is used in the pools, only salt. In the big pool you could simply float for ages and it was so relaxing. The water jets in the spa pool pummelled every area of our bodies. My husband was much braver than I and went in the freezing cold dip pool but I only managed to knee height!

We thoroughly enjoyed our stay and will definitely go back. its close to the beaches, convenient and there are many lovely restaurants nearby. The tourist information office is just beside the train station and has a wide range of information. The trains to Barcelona are frequent and fast.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
José Miguel T, Manager at Avenida Sofia Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, November 15, 2013
Dear Guest, Thank you very much for your extensive comments about your stay in our hotel, it's really a pleasure to receive messages like yours, I'll share them with my team. Best regards and till soon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Avenida Sofia Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Avenida Sofia Hotel & Spa

Address: Avenida Sofia,12, 8870 Sitges, Spain
Location: Spain > Catalonia > Province of Barcelona > Sitges
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Spa Hotel in Sitges
#7 Luxury Hotel in Sitges
#10 On the Beach Hotel in Sitges
#13 Romantic Hotel in Sitges
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Avenida Sofia Hotel & Spa 4.5*
Number of rooms: 77
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Despegar.com, Agoda, Odigeo, Venere, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Avenida Sofia Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Veracruz Hotel Sitges

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Avenida Sofia Hotel & Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.