We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Poor for 4 star Hotel” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Avenida Sofia Hotel & Spa

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Avenida Sofia Hotel & Spa to your Saves list
Avenida Sofia Hotel & Spa
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Avenida Sofia,12, 8870 Sitges, Spain   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #13 of 39 Hotels in Sitges
Skipton, United Kingdom
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Poor for 4 star Hotel”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2013

Just returned from this Hotel which was forced on us by Jet Holidays because they had over boked our choice of Hotel ... Platja D'or. Where we have been going for 12 years. So a lot to compare. The room was adequate, but no balcony so no where to dry beach clothes, swim wear.No kettle thankfully I took my own. Bathroom, well there is a glass panel in there so you can see someone in there and also vice a versa someone in bed. Didnt like that. Toilet and shower had sliding doors, no where in shower to put your shower gel or shampoo. Hotel was busy with business people but not holiday people. No one ever in the bar at night. Breakfast was nothing but sweets stuff and eggs. The roof top bar was a building site an accident waiting to happen, Scaffolding and the floor was half taken up wires hanging and sticking up from the floor. We didnt see any notices, to say no one was allowed up there. Location was off the centre and next to the residential area, so lots of traffic. All in all wouldnt go back there didnt feel like a holiday place. Back to the Plata D'or for us.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gemma G, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Avenida Sofia Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, October 4, 2013
First of all, we would like to thank you for choosing the Avenida Sofia Hotel & Spa. We regret that your stay did not fully meet your expectations. Please, accept our most sincere apologies and allow us to follow up on your comments directly with our team.

We deeply appreciate your comments, they make us aware of aspects we must improve and we thank you for this useful opportunity. It helps us to continue improving and provide the best service so we can offer a memorable experience to our guests. We will take action regarding your comments. Please give us another opportunity to demonstrate our service improvement.

Thanks again for your trust and we hope to welcome you back.


The team from the Avenida Sofia Hotel & Spa.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

219 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    88
    71
    31
    13
    16
See reviews for
20
115
6
17
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (30)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2013

Overall a five star experience, and after they work out the kinks will be perfect. Very nice accommodations, great service, nice breakfast, new facilities, high quality bath fixtures. Minor downsides: no shelf in shower (toiletries have to sit on floor), no full length mirror, and some miscommunications on rooftop. Specifically asked about roof pool, and then when we arrived, it was closed for the week while they built the Skybar. Avenida Sofia Spa appears to be the best high end hotel in town - we also checked out the Melia, and it is nice, but a notch below, and outside of the city center. Recommend that if you spring for "ocean view room" try to get above 1st floor, as floors 2-6 have full size side windows and better ocean view.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gemma G, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Avenida Sofia Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, October 4, 2013
We thank you for the confidence you have placed in the Avenida Sofia Hotel & Spa and we are pleased to know your stay has fulfilled all your expectations. Your comments make us aware of aspects we must improve and we thank you for this useful opportunity.

We appreciate the comments received and we will share them with the rest of the team to continue to offer the best service.

Looking forward to welcome you again in Avenida Sofia Hotel & Spa,


Customer Service Department.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
41 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
63 helpful votes 63 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2013

We were staying in Sitges for a week and decided to spend the first weekend in the Avenida as a treat. It is a beautiful hotel. Very contemporary design with a lot of attention to detail.

The hydrotherapy center is great - It has all the facilities you could need to unwind.
(We received free access, which apparently was a promotion. But it's not something I'd have paid to use)

Location is perfect.

Breakfast was average, given it's a four star hotel. Small and not much variety.

The roof top bar wasn't ready yet but we had a look and it has alot of potential.

During our first evening, we noticed the air-conditioning unit didn't work. (Despite only being June, it was warmer than the hottest of days we'd get in Dublin). We asked for assistance in setting the temperature. After three calls to reception, someone was sent to the room. They agreed it wasn't working and offered us a window handle to open the window. The hotel was fully booked so a room change was out of the question (Apparently it was just our room that was affected). The hotel didn't seem busy to us!!

With the window open, the traffic was a bit distracting so we chose to close it. I didn't sleep very well.

The wifi wasn't working and an engineer wasn't available over the weekend.

The bathroom was modern and well designed. There were two sinks. However one was broken and only had hot water. Water that was too hot to touch (and subsequently the tap was too hot to touch). Fortunately, the second sink was fine!! (To be fussy, the sliding door on the toilet had no handle - it was missing)

The safe wasn't accessible at one point and a 15 minute locked timer appeared on the screen. We asked reception to come up and reset it to allow us remove our belongings as we were heading out. They didn't show up.

My partner complained about the above issues on checkout. The listened and said they would respond by email the next day. They didn't. Fortunately, we were in sitges for the week, so returned to the hotel a few days later. Once again, they apologised and said they would respond by email in a few days. They didn't. The morning of departure, we returned to the hotel for one last attempt. They apologised again and said they would contact us that day.

They apologised that afternoon by email, and offered us a token gesture for the spa for our complaint "in relation to the Rooftop bar not being opened". We hadn't actually complained about the rooftop bar which just aggravated the matter!! It really wasn't good enough. We responded by mail to the hotel, and they replied once again apologising and compensated us sufficiently for our distress

I've stayed in a lot of Hotels (specifically in Sitges) and the Avenida has so much potential. It really wasn't so much our complaints that bothered us, but just the slow responses, and how we were treated after the fact.

I'd really like to return to the hotel - It really has so much potential, so I'll be keeping an eye on TripAdvisor for all reviews over the next year. Maybe, with time, the Service will improve.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gemma G, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Avenida Sofia Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, October 8, 2013
First of all, we would like to thank you for choosing the Avenida Sofia Hotel & Spa. We regret that your stay did not fully meet your expectations. Please, accept our most sincere apologies and allow us to follow up on your comments directly with our team.

We deeply appreciate your comments, they make us aware of aspects we must improve and we thank you for this useful opportunity. It helps us to continue improving and provide the best service so we can offer a memorable experience to our guests. We will take action regarding your comments. Please give us another opportunity to demonstrate our service improvement.

Thanks again for your trust and we hope to welcome you back.


The team from the Avenida Sofia Hotel & Spa.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2013

Booked this hotel Sep 2012 before they operate in Jan 2013. The hotel look brilliant from the outside and so does the reception and lobby area. I was expecting a queen size bed but when i checked in i was told that it was 2 single beds put together so was disappointed. Walking up to the room, I can see they were trying very hard to make the hotel trendy, dimly lit hallway and motion sensor lights. The room was nice given that it was only six months old. Sliding doors instead of normal doors to the toilet and shower. The partition between the bed and the sink had 2 transparent glass so when you switch on the light in the sink, the light shines onto the bed which is annoying. The fridge was filled with soft drinks and snacks but there was no indication of the price list. I had a Kit Kat and was stung with €3.50 so make sure you don't take anything from the fridge. The shower was nice with a rain shower and nice floor drainage but the walls between the shower and toilet was not put up properly so you get the water flowing into the toilet.
All in all it was a nice hotel but for some reason I don't think I will stay there again.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gemma G, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Avenida Sofia Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, October 8, 2013
First of all, we would like to thank you for choosing the Avenida Sofia Hotel & Spa. We regret that your stay did not fully meet your expectations. Please, accept our most sincere apologies and allow us to follow up on your comments directly with our team.

We deeply appreciate your comments, they make us aware of aspects we must improve and we thank you for this useful opportunity. It helps us to continue improving and provide the best service so we can offer a memorable experience to our guests. We will take action regarding your comments. Please give us another opportunity to demonstrate our service improvement.

Thanks again for your trust and we hope to welcome you back.


The team from the Avenida Sofia Hotel & Spa.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Helsinki, Finland
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2013 via mobile

The hotel is very well designed and the rooms offers good layout with wonderfull bathrooms. Breakfast delicious, the spa very cosy and elegant. Roof terrace pool unfortunately closed which Nobody told us..
Staff helpfull and kind.
Maybe not so personal a hotel, but nothing wrong..

  • Stayed July 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gemma G, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Avenida Sofia Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, October 1, 2013
We thank you for the confidence you have placed in the Avenida Sofia Hotel & Spa and we are pleased to know your stay has fulfilled all your expectations. Your comments make us aware of aspects we must improve and we thank you for this useful opportunity.

We appreciate the comments received and we will share them with the rest of the team to continue to offer the best service.

Looking forward to welcome you again in Avenida Sofia Hotel & Spa,


Customer Service Department.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam
Top Contributor
81 reviews 81 reviews
64 hotel reviews
Reviews in 46 cities Reviews in 46 cities
89 helpful votes 89 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2013

We stayed in this hotel for a long weekend.

The interior of the hotel and the rooms is beautiful. Very modern hotel, modern furniture and beds that sleep so good. We loved it.

Pros:
- Location (close to beach and bars)
- Staff (friendly and they speak English!)
- Modern interior, high end sanitary (Hans Grohe)
- soft lights that go on if you walk in the hall or need to go to the bathroom in the middle of the night
- Gym

Cons:
- We did not like the breakfast. The eggs are almost raw and drive in olive oil. Lot of sweets (rolls, etc)
- If you want to visit the sauna / indoor pool you need to pay EUR 25 (even if you stay in the hotel)
- no balconies
- Open bathroom
- Several things are already damaged (water damage in toilet and shower; plinth that are not fixed anymore)

For a 4 star hotel the hotel is very good. We normally stay in 5 star hotels, but Sitges does not have 5 star hotels in the city. Think this is the best 4 star hotel in Sitges. We really missed the balcony. If you come from the beach you want to sit and relax. We could not go to the rooftop bar as this was already under construction.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gemma G, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Avenida Sofia Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, October 7, 2013
We thank you for the confidence you have placed in the Avenida Sofia Hotel & Spa and we are pleased to know your stay has fulfilled all your expectations. Your comments make us aware of aspects we must improve and we thank you for this useful opportunity.
I take the opportunity to inform you that the terrace is open right now and it has become one of the best places of Sitges to have a drink and relax. I am sure you will enjoy it if you come again to our hotel.

We appreciate the comments received and we will share them with the rest of the team to continue to offer the best service.

Looking forward to welcome you again in Avenida Sofia Hotel & Spa,


Customer Service Department.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scotland
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2013

Great location and very peaceful. High standard of accommodation well designed with lovely spa and roof top terrace with a swimming pool and panoramic views over Sitges.Very friendly helpful staff. Can't fault this hotel. Great breakfast choice. Would definitely stay again.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gemma G, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Avenida Sofia Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, October 1, 2013
We thank you for the confidence you have placed in the Avenida Sofia Hotel & Spa and we are pleased to know your stay has fulfilled all your expectations. Your comments make us aware of aspects we must improve and we thank you for this useful opportunity.

We appreciate the comments received and we will share them with the rest of the team to continue to offer the best service.

Looking forward to welcome you again in Avenida Sofia Hotel & Spa,


Customer Service Department.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Avenida Sofia Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Avenida Sofia Hotel & Spa

Address: Avenida Sofia,12, 8870 Sitges, Spain
Location: Spain > Catalonia > Province of Barcelona > Sitges
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Spa Hotel in Sitges
#7 Luxury Hotel in Sitges
#10 On the Beach Hotel in Sitges
#13 Romantic Hotel in Sitges
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Avenida Sofia Hotel & Spa 4.5*
Number of rooms: 77
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Venere, Despegar.com, Agoda, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Avenida Sofia Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Veracruz Hotel Sitges

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Avenida Sofia Hotel & Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.