We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A pleasant surprise” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Melia Sitges

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Melia Sitges to your Saves list
Melia Sitges
4.0 of 5 Resort   |   Joan Salvat Papasseit 38 | Port Aiguadolc, 08870 Sitges, Spain   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 39 Hotels in Sitges
London
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
“A pleasant surprise”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2013 via mobile

Been to Sitges many times but never stayed this side of the church. This large hotel benefits from being in a largely residential area, close to a good sized Carrefour supermarket and a short stroll to Balmain beach but still within walking distance of the main 'nightlife'. It's true that the hotel has a split personality, with modern public areas but slightly dated rooms. That said, my classic room was a good size and clean with flat screen TV an ample sized bathroom & plenty of hot water from the over bath shower. The view from room 102 was disappointing, so if you get the chance, go for a higher floor. Unlike a lot of hotels in the area there is a good sized pool in a garden with plenty of sunbeds. It has one of the best hotel gyms I've encountered - at a cost if 7€ per day which includes classes. As others have commented, the breakfast buffet is very good with a wide selection and if you don't want filter coffee there are espresso machines you can help yourself to. Compared to facilities at other hotels in Sitges, I'd say this is one of the better ones.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

760 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    347
    326
    67
    11
    9
See reviews for
107
329
30
125
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (84)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 7, 2013

I got a room overlooking the ocean. A Huge balcony where I relaxed for hours. Then i loved to walk into town and have fun. It is a great town for fun and watch people. Seems like a little Ibiza but must more relaxed. Loved.

Room Tip: I don't know if they have an Spa. But I will recommend them to ask for a suite sea view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milton Keynes, United Kingdom
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2013

I use this hotel a lot for business and over the years I've stayed here up to eight times a year. The hotel and staff are very friendly and inviting, I've had to stay in other hotels in the area (due to the Melia being fully booked) and would not recommend any of them over this.

The rooms and comfortable and modem, the bathrooms have been updated on my last trip, no baths anymore just a shower that could fit 4 people.

The bar is always friendly and the staff are all very helpful. The restaurant serves one of the best buffet breakfasts I've had in years and the evening meals (buffet or menu) are lovely.

The location is good, little bit far away from town, good 20 minute walk. But it has views over the port and med. there are some lovely bars and restaurants in the port, very steep stairs on the way back up, but you can walk the long way wrong that only takes another couple of minutes.

The pool and spa/gym and great too. It can be difficult to park in the area but the hotel has an underground parking garage.

Doesn't matter if you are on business or as a family/couple this hotel offers everything you would ever want.

Room Tip: If there is an event on try and get a room down one of the sides of the hotel, can get a little loud...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milwaukee,WI
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2013

This was our first trip to Barcelona and decided to stay in Sitges. We had 5 nights and wanted to have a relaxing time. This hotel was a great choice - it is close to the beach and close to many great restaurants. The hotel is modern and ours had a balcony overlooking the Mediterranean. We had our doughter with us, so had a "family room" - which means there was a single bed put into our room - it was fine. The reception & bar area is very nice, the rooms could do with some updating & upkeep - but they were comfortable & clean. There was a bar fridge which was handy.
The pool area was nice - but the beaches were so nice we didnt spend much time there. The breakfast buffet - which we included - I would recomnend. It was impressive. The lunch & dinner - not so much - it was OK - bu the service was average. The resturants at the Port were fabulous - I recommend the Thai Styx - Great cocktails and food ! If going the the beach I would recommend buying a beach umbrella from the local shops - 15 euro - otherwise you need to spend that each day to rent! The hotel is on the outskirts of Sitges main town - but it is a lovely 15 min walk to the main promenade abd other resturants & shops. We prefered being away from the "main strip". There a are a number of nudist beaches also - so ask the hotel reception for directions to the beach you prefer :-)
The train from Sitges into Barcelona is convenient & quick - we went for an afternoon & evening.

Room Tip: I always ask for high floor with sea view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Conwy County, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2013 via mobile

My husband stayed here for a conference and I was here for a holiday. Lovely view of the sea from our 4th floor room. Location is 5 minutes from two beaches and a 15 walk from the main areas of Sitges. Although at 7 months pregnant I may have been walking at a slow pace! Huge breakfast choice which cost €13 each per day. Very nice staff and nice rooms although quite hot. I hope my husband has more conferences to attend here so that we can visit again!

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MeliaSitges, Director General at Melia Sitges, responded to this review, September 20, 2013
Dear ClareAndMilo,

First of all, I would like to thank you for having chosen us for your last stay in Sitges, as well as for taking the time to post your opinion on Tripadvisor.

I am sure your words and comments will help us to stimulate and motivate all our team to work on continuous improvement.

We would be delighted of welcoming you back again and making feel as comfortable as you have transmitted us through your comments.

Best regards,

Miguel Ferreres
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brighton, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2013 via mobile

Great staff, nice big rooms very well serviced and can't wait to get back! Great Location with stunning views! The restaraunts are suitable for all tastes an the staff could not be more helpful. I am already planning out next stay here for March as I loved this hotel sooo Much.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MeliaSitges, Director General at Melia Sitges, responded to this review, September 20, 2013
Dear Foxtrot2971,

First of all, I would like to thank you for having chosen us for your last stay in Sitges, as well as for taking the time to post your opinion on Tripadvisor.

It’s a pleasure for us to know that we met your expectations and be sure your comments will encourage us to strive for continuous improvement.

We will be delighted to welcoming you back in Sitges March next year.

Best regards,

Miguel Ferreres
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013 via mobile

Lovely hotel with very helpful and sweet staff! Beautiful view and a nice clean room with A LOT of mirrors. A little far from Sitges center, but there is a free shuttle bus from the hotel. The massage and gym was very good. The breakfast was good but all in all the hotel was a little expensive. We would return!

Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MeliaSitges, Director General at Melia Sitges, responded to this review, September 20, 2013
Dear Martha N,

First of all we would like to thank you for these nice comments and for taking your time to share your experience in Meliá Sitges with us.

We are pleased to know that you have enjoyed your stay in our hotel and your comments about our staff, services and facilities. Our customer’s opinion will be of great assistance for us in our continuous improvement.

Best regards,

Miguel Ferreres
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Melia Sitges? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Melia Sitges

Address: Joan Salvat Papasseit 38 | Port Aiguadolc, 08870 Sitges, Spain
Phone Number:
Location: Spain > Catalonia > Province of Barcelona > Sitges
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Sitges
#1 Spa Hotel in Sitges
#2 Family Hotel in Sitges
#2 Business Hotel in Sitges
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Sitges
#3 Romantic Hotel in Sitges
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Melia Sitges 4*
Number of rooms: 307
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, HotelTravel.com, Priceline, Melia, Agoda, Despegar.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Hotel.de and Tingo so you can book your Melia Sitges reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Melia Sitges Hotel Sitges
Sol Melia Sitges
Sitges Sol Melia

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Melia Sitges, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.