We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely friendly hotel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of San Sebastian Playa Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added San Sebastian Playa Hotel to your Saves list
San Sebastian Playa Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Port Alegre 53, 08070 Sitges, Spain   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #16 of 39 Hotels in Sitges
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Lovely friendly hotel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2013

We stayed a week in this hotel as a family party with one child and one teenager, at the height of the season. Rooms were clean and fresh and nicely decorated, overlooking the pool (which was well-used but never crowded) or the side-street leading off the promenade, so although the hotel is on a busy sea-front lined with bars and restaurants we did not suffer any noise disruption.
The location is superb, the beach is a few feet away, the views from the terrace where we breakfasted every day were lovely, food was good and staff were very helpful and friendly. We specially enjoyed swimming in the sea in the evenings followed by ice-cream or dessert and drinks on the large cushioned lounge chairs along the side of the building where we were able to enjoy the atmosphere yet still be a little bit sheltered from the bustle of the sea-front.
A bag of laundry got left behind at reception when we checked out and the hotel staff were very patient and helpful in getting it repatriated.
We would definitely go back, Sitges is a very pretty town, only 40 minutes to Barcelona by frequent train service, and the San Sebastian Playa is an ideal place to enjoy it.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelSanSebastian, Gerente at San Sebastian Playa Hotel, responded to this review, November 28, 2013
Dear Guest, Thank you very much for staying in our Hotel San Sebastian and for the very kind comment about your experience. We hope to have the pleasure to host you again in the near future. Best regards from Sitges
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

224 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    71
    88
    38
    15
    12
See reviews for
33
114
7
12
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (52)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Miami, Florida
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2013

Couldn't ask for anything more, right on the beach, close to everything, very helpful staff. We loved it. Book early for the best price. We arrived in the middle of a local festival, fireworks going off, lots of cute kids in traditional dress walking around town. Terrific experience.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelSanSebastian, Gerente at San Sebastian Playa Hotel, responded to this review, November 28, 2013
Dear Guest, Thank you very much for staying in our Hotel San Sebastian and for the very kind comment about your experience. We hope to have the pleasure to host you again in the near future. Best regards from Sitges
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Berwick, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2013

In terms of its location close to the old town and right on a good, safe, small beach this would be hard to better. In essence this is a great small very clean hotel, with good size rooms, which are well fitted out and very comfortable beds. However, the side sea view rooms are not really worth the extra money as the further back from the beach you are, the more restricted the view from the very small balconies becomes, and you are also directly facing an apartment block which leads to a lack of privacy. Better to choose the option of a room facing the small pool, which will also give you better sunlight. Reception staff were excellent, but with one or two exceptions the restaurant staff were pretty uncommunicative. Breakfasts great, but dinner menu a bit unimaginative. The hotel lacked a residents' lounge or a space where you could sit and have a coffee in the evening when returning from dining out elsewhere. Also there were no tea/coffee facilities in the rooms. If staying in Sitges, be prepared for an extremely high level of 'gay couple' activity.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelSanSebastian, Gerente at San Sebastian Playa Hotel, responded to this review, November 28, 2013
Dear Guest, Thank you very much for your comments about your stay last summer in Hotel San Sebastian. I'm very sorry if we did not fulfil your expectations in some items and areas of the hotel. We hope to see you again in the future. Best regards from Sitges
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Doncaster
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2013

Just got back from the San Sebastian, Overall its a very nice small hotel , I found the Receptionists very helpful , I ran out of books too read and they very kindly searched there office for an English Book for me.The rooms are comfortable and i liked having a bath not just a shower,The balconies are quite small but the view of the sea made up for it. We were in room 309 which was located down the side of the Hotel at the back and we found it very quiet which was a bonus, I think this is probably the best Hotel in Stiges due to the Location and Style.

Room Tip: I would suggest top floor if you like peace and quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norwich, United Kingdom
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2013

This hotel gives you just what you see on the photos. A few steps from a ideal sized beach, excellent for all swimmers, even the children. Rooms were excellent marble floors, large beds and air conditioning, which ensured a good nights sleep. Sandie and I booked B&B, breakfasts were vast if you could eat it all ! Fruits, meats, cheeses, pastries, and even bacon and eggs upon request. Very relaxed time spent at a very good hotel. Many places to eat along the promenade, so you can take a different national dish every night. Samantha on reception was our PA, for all English customers and gave excellent service. Highly recommended, and I would return , no problem.
Richard and Sandie Franklin

Room Tip: Spa and fitness centre not used, available at a sister hotel. Room 207 second floor overlooked the p...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salt Lake City, Utah
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2013

Everyone was so nice and helpful! The workers spoke English which was nice when we needed directions and the rooms are large and clean. It's within walking distance of the train station and all of the restaurants along the beaches. Fun little town!

Room Tip: Ask for the beach front rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sussex
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
96 helpful votes 96 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2013

This is a lovely hotel with nice rooms, a great restaurant and above all in a superb location. The only problem I have with the place is its cold, apathetic staff. They aren’t exactly unfriendly but you would be very lucky to get a hint of a smile from any of them – particularly the reception staff. It is almost as if they resent your presence but have to acknowledge it as unpleasant but necessary part of the job.
We stayed a week, dined several times in their restaurant and tipped very well. All in all we spent £2000.00 for our week’s stay at this hotel, including bar, restaurant and tips. Yet when we were checking out, we asked the receptionist to post a couple of post cards for us which we hadn’t got round to posting. He coldly told us that he didn’t have any stamps. We offered him a couple of Euros but he still he refused. We asked him could he not just frank them for us but still he refused. I could understand if there was a queue behind us and he didn’t want to set a precedent but this wasn’t the case. In the end he went into a room behind the reception area and spoke to someone and then returned saying he wouldn’t do it. Will return again but no more tips, they simply have no customer service skills and they seriously need some re-training. Given the current economic recession in Spain, they should really up their game to ensure people speak highly of them when they return home

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to San Sebastian Playa Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about San Sebastian Playa Hotel

Address: Port Alegre 53, 08070 Sitges, Spain
Location: Spain > Catalonia > Province of Barcelona > Sitges
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Luxury Hotel in Sitges
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — San Sebastian Playa Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 45
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Despegar.com, HotelTravel.com, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your San Sebastian Playa Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
San Sebastian Playa Sitges
Hotel San Sebastian Playa

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage San Sebastian Playa Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.