We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Hotel in a Great Location” 4 of 5 stars
Review of San Sebastian Playa Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added San Sebastian Playa Hotel to your Saves list
San Sebastian Playa Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Port Alegre 53, 08070 Sitges, Spain   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #17 of 39 Hotels in Sitges
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Durham, United Kingdom
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“Great Hotel in a Great Location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2012

Stayed here for 10 nights and really enjoyed our stay.

The hotel in on San Sebastian beach far enough out of the main centre to avoid excessive noise, but close enough for easy access via the seafront.

The staff were really friendly and welcoming on arrival and check in was seamless. Our room was on the top floor and overlooked the pool. It was very quiet, although if you are a sun worshipper, probably not ideal as there was very little sun in the afternoon. This is probably why the pool area was always so quiet.

There is a bar and restaurant but we never used them.

The room itself was very clean and smelt really nice on arrival. The beds were very comfortable and there was everything you'd expect including a safe, fridge, lots of wardrobe space, TV and air conditioning. Nice sized bathroom with a really good overbath shower.

The housekeeping was exceptional. The room was cleaned daily and was always left just as good as it was on the first day when we arrived.

The only niggle I'd have is the noise on a morning. Not sure if it was maids dragging beds around or something else, but it was pretty bad and occurred every morning. Probably not a problem to most guests but as we're on holiday we enjoy late starts it did get annoying after a few days.

Great little laundry just around the corner too - 5 euro for a wash and 1 euro for detergent. Handy if you are staying for a while.

All in all, a lovely little friendly hotel in a great location. We would definately stay here again.

Room Tip: Our pool view room was very quiet
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelSanSebastian, Director de Relaciones Públicas at San Sebastian Playa Hotel, responded to this review, October 16, 2012
We are very grateful that you had a pleasant stay at our Hotel San Sebastian Playa Hotel.

Your feedback is very valuable to us and has been shared with the departments concerned. This allows us to continually enhance our services.

We hope to see you again.

Thank you very much.
Best regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

231 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    71
    89
    41
    18
    12
See reviews for
34
116
7
15
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (53)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2012

We just spent three days at the San Sabastian Playa hotel and could not find any issues other them the bathrobes need replacing. The staff was very helpful and the suite is worth the extra cost we will be back. The location was great for the beach and it is on the quiter beach in Sitages.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelSanSebastian, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at San Sebastian Playa Hotel, responded to this review, October 16, 2012
We are very grateful that you had a pleasant stay at our Hotel San Sebastian Playa Hotel.

Your feedback is very valuable to us and has been shared with the departments concerned. This allows us to continually enhance our services.

We hope to see you again.

Thank you very much.
Best regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 5, 2012

Have stayed in several Hotels in Sitges. This is really quite a good one. Small and friendly with a good location near to town. The room allocated to us was really quite spacious. Breakfast was also a calm affair, with seating available overlooking the beach. Free wifi too - great when you're researching where to go! Recommended.

Room Tip: Some rooms like ours had a 'lateral see view' - not as much as a full see view but still ver...
See more room tips
Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelSanSebastian, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at San Sebastian Playa Hotel, responded to this review, October 16, 2012
We are very grateful that you had a pleasant stay at our Hotel San Sebastian Playa Hotel.

Your feedback is very valuable to us and has been shared with the departments concerned. This allows us to continually enhance our services.

We hope to see you again.

Thank you very much.
Best regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bradford
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2012

Had a 2 night stay at this hotel, originally booked a partial sea view but changed our minds to a pool view when we arrived, the staff were fantastic about this, moved us with no quibble and went out of their way to ensure we were happy.

Good bits - great location, opposite quiet family sandy beach and handfull of excellent restaurants and a chemist, 5 min walk through church to main Sitges beach and shops but easy to naviate, just a little hilly. Hotel very clean, beds very comfortable, beach/pool towels nice touch.

Not so good bits - would have been nice to have some kind of ventilation in the bathroom because having taken a shower the mirrors steamed up and you cannot see a thing and seemed to take an age to demist, breakfast, not value for money, go down onto the street and most of the restaurants serve brilliant breakfasts at much more favourable prices.

All in all, a nice hotel worthy of its stars if just for its staff who excel at hospitality. I will be back next year quite definitely.

Room Tip: 3rd floor have best views, pool side not quiet as backs onto other gardens/verandas, would recommend...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2012

This hotel is fantastically located. You are right on the San Sebastia beach, which has a few nice restaurants and bars but maintains a calmer and more pleasant environment than the area 5 mins walk away, just on the other side of the church, where there are more bars and restaurants but it can be a bit noisy and smelly. The hotel wasn't exactly cheap but then Sitges isn't cheap. In terms of value for money, I think it is fine. The room was spotless, and even though we got up late and had a siesta most days, the cleaners seemed to know we were there and did not bother us. The only thing that would stop me staying again is if I rented an apartment. Would definitely recommend.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Surrey
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2012

We stayed as a group of 8 "40 something" women and had a fabulous time in Sitges. this hotel is very conveniently located across from the beach. the hotel supplies beach towels. The staff are extrememly helpful and friendly. they were able to arrange taxis and made good restaurant recommendations. the hotel is very clean, the rooms well appointed., the breakfast is very good. I think every room has a balcony we overlooked the pool, which is probably better as it is quieter than the street side..The pool area is quiet ( no kids) but enclosed so maybe limited sun.
Sitges itself is an eccletic mix ! the area around the hotel was quieter than the main drag of late night bars and clubs.however they are only a short 10 minute walk away and are great fun but not necessarily if you are on a stag or hen party !..All felt very safe everywhere.. There are several very good restaurants and a great bar, literally yards from the hotel so you dont need to walk far to enjoy the nightlife.
The beach is so convenient, clean, wavey for swimming ! , not overly busy during the week., and a convenient beach bar. the showers are free you just need to get a card from the bar.!
The downside of Sitges is that if you want to take the train to Barcelona although there are plently it takes about 30 minutes and the last train back even on a Saturday night is 12.05 ! so you will need a taxi if later and it is about 40 minute drive from the centre of Barcelona. Its only about 30 mins to the airport.
Trains were easy and train station a short walk from the hotel but this is not a Barcelona holdiay.
However I would definitley recommend this hotel for a beach/town holiday and the San Sebastian Playa is a perfect hotel. We had a lovely relaxing and fun time.

Room Tip: take a room overlooking the pool area , quieter and more private for sitting on the balcolny
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Top Contributor
123 reviews 123 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
56 helpful votes 56 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2012

This hotel is in a great location right on the beach half way between the Port and the Town Centre.
The staff were great really friendly and helpful.
Breakfast was ok but much too expensive at 14 Euro PP. You can get a great breakfast at The Margita around the corner for 6 euro or at the Krongdik behind the church.
The room was very clean and comfortable but the balcony looked right into the apartment across the street. We could see their TV!!
The swimming pool only had 8 Sun Beds around it!
Also the garden was little more than a courtyard.
However overall the staff and location made up for these disappointments.

Room Tip: Choose a room with a pool view as this is at the back of the hotel. the front sea view is lovely but...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to San Sebastian Playa Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about San Sebastian Playa Hotel

Address: Port Alegre 53, 08070 Sitges, Spain
Location: Spain > Catalonia > Province of Barcelona > Sitges
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Luxury Hotel in Sitges
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — San Sebastian Playa Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 45
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, HotelTravel.com, Despegar.com and Priceline so you can book your San Sebastian Playa Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
San Sebastian Playa Sitges
Hotel San Sebastian Playa

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage San Sebastian Playa Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.