We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Why you should stay at this Hotel” 4 of 5 stars
Review of BEST WESTERN Subur Maritim

Save Saved
You added BEST WESTERN Subur Maritim to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
BEST WESTERN Subur Maritim
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Paseo Maritimo s/n | Esquina Paseo Doctor Benapres, 08870 Sitges, Spain   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Package Deal
Ranked #16 of 38 hotels in Sitges
USA
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Why you should stay at this Hotel”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2010

My wife and I and our 13 month old daughter recently stayed at this Hotel for a two week family holiday. I knew of the Hotel as I stayed in Sitges some 10 years ago. We were looking for a good place close to a beach just out of the town and it had to have a child safe pool, I have to say Subur Maritim ticked all the boxes. We had a great time here, the pool area is in the middle of the garden and is surrounded by grass. The beach is on the opposite side of the road and the staff could not be more helpful. The town of Sitges is a beautiful little place you could never tire of its many restaurants and shops. I would recommend this Hotel and the town of Sitges.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SuburMaritim, Assistant Manager at BEST WESTERN Subur Maritim, responded to this review, January 27, 2014
Dear WinstonUsa,

Thank you for write your opinion about your stay at our Hotel, Best Western Subur Maritim. Your feedback is very important to us and we value your comments. Thanks for your nice review and your comment about pool area.

If we can be of assistance in the future, please don't hesitate to contact us directly by phone or e-mail. Thank you again for taking the time to comment on Tripadvisor. I hope that you will enjoy again in your next stay in Sitges with us!

Sincerely,

Isabel Muñoz
Assistant Manager BEST WESTERN Hotel Subur Maritim Sitges
Grup M.A. S.L.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

239 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    57
    96
    61
    15
    10
See reviews for
31
119
11
11
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (34)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Galway
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
38 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2010

I had read mixed reviews about this hotel but we found it to be excellent! Staff were always smiling and friendly. The room was spacious and clean and th pool area was lovely. Although it is a short walk into the centre of Sitges (about 10 minutes) it is well worth checking this hotel out. Also if you are eating out i would recommend that you check out the Beech house, food was lovely and staff were gems.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SuburMaritim, Assistant Manager at BEST WESTERN Subur Maritim, responded to this review, January 27, 2014
Dear donegalboy25,

Thank you for share your opinion about your recent stay at our Hotel, Best Western Subur Maritim. Your feedback is very important to us and we value your comments, thank you for your nice review about our staff and rooms.

If we can be of assistance in the future, please don't hesitate to contact us directly by phone or e-mail. Thank you again for taking the time to comment on Tripadvisor. I hope that you’ll choose our Hotel for your next visit to Sitges!

Sincerely,

Isabel Muñoz
Assistant Manager BEST WESTERN Hotel Subur Maritim Sitges
Grup M.A. S.L.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Surrey
Top Contributor
66 reviews 66 reviews
53 hotel reviews
Reviews in 50 cities Reviews in 50 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2010

The hotel is medium sized ( 42 rooms ) and is located on the coastal road . Attractive pool area is at the front of hotel so some traffic noise during the day - on the other hand to go from pool to beach just means crossing the road.
Hotel is 4 stars but in reality is only 3 stars by UK standards. Rooms in the more modern main block are sparsely furnished but with a nice bathroom . All have balconies , most with a decent sea view .Breakfast means a good selection of hot and cold food , constantly replenshed fresh melon and pineapple and freshly made coffee. Otherwise hotel facilities during the day and evening are limited to a poolside bar, free coffee and a TV in the lobby . There is a restaraunt on site but it is expensive and not very busy.
Located in a upmarket residential area,so quiet at night and a one mile walk to Sitges and back is necessary for evening meals and drinks. However it is a lovely walk along the seafront and there is a roadtrain if you get fed up walking.
Sitges is very cosmopolitan , famous as a resort with a large gay clientele , but certainly still very suitable for non gays , families etc . A large number of bars and restaraunts of many different levels of price and although the town is developed , not over developed and the town centre retains a lot of character.
In summary the Subur Maritim will suit people who like an uncrowded pool scene and easy access to the beach but prefer to sleep in a quieter area and do not mind a walk to and from the town every evening.
One point to watch is that it is not just a holiday hotel and the hotel rates vary every night even if you book for a week - one night we paid nearly double another night due to a Spanish bank holiday .

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SuburMaritim, Assistant Manager at BEST WESTERN Subur Maritim, responded to this review, January 27, 2014
Dear Albermarle,

Thank you for write your opinion about your stay at our Hotel, Best Western Subur Maritim. Your feedback is very important to us and we value your comments.

If we can be of assistance in the future, please don't hesitate to contact us directly by phone or e-mail. Thank you again for taking the time to comment on Tripadvisor. I hope that you’ll choose our Hotel for your next visit to Sitges!

Sincerely,

Isabel Muñoz
Assistant Manager BEST WESTERN Hotel Subur Maritim Sitges
Grup M.A. S.L.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Derby
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2010

The main plus about this hotel is it's location. Close enough to walk to restaurants and bars but far enough away to get a decent night's sleep.

Also has a nice pool. Rooms are basic but comfortable and clean (though I was getting bitten by something in the bed)! Also a dog in the next door room which was very noisy first thing in the morning.

Breakfast is adequate. No bar (apart from pool bar). Would not recommend the outdoor restaurant (food came to the table still frozen inside).

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SuburMaritim, Assistant Manager at BEST WESTERN Subur Maritim, responded to this review, January 24, 2014
Dear greyhound1275,

Thank you for share your comments regarding your stay at our Hotel. We'll take note about your comments over the restaurant in order to improve this service.

If we can be of assistance in the future, please don't hesitate to contact us directly by phone or e-mail. Thank you again for taking the time to comment on Tripadvisor. I hope that you will enjoy again in your next stay in Sitges with us!

Sincerely,

Isabel Muñoz
Assistant Manager BEST WESTERN Hotel Subur Maritim Sitges
Grup M.A. S.L.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Canada
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
34 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
199 helpful votes 199 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2009

Stayed one night at this hotel. It's located right on the seafront in a quiet residential area. Nice beach right in front. Nice pool and lawns. On-site free parking.

I'd categorize the rooms as good 2-star rooms. They are rather dated and the non-smoking room we had, had a strong smoke smell. Bathrooms are renovated. If you don't have your own computer, you will need to pay to access the internet on their computer.

If you are here for the beach, don't want to be right in the centre but want to be able to walk into the centre of Sitges, this hotel would fit the bill. If you want to have all the shopping, restaurants, stores, etc., very close-by, this is not your hotel. It is a good 12-15 minute walk into the centre. Not a comfortable walk in the sun and heat of the summer day as there is virtually no shade.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SuburMaritim, Assistant Manager at BEST WESTERN Subur Maritim, responded to this review, January 23, 2014
Dear Ottawop,

Thank you for completing the survey regarding your recent stay at our Hotel.

On behalf of our entire team, I would like to apologize for not exceeding your expectations. Your satisfaction is very important to us and we'll be using the feedback you gave us to implement improvements to ensure we could offer a better experience for guests in the future.

If I can provide you any assistance, please don't hesitate to contact us directly by phone or e-mail.

Sincerely,

Isabel Muñoz
Assistant Manager Best Western Hotel Subur Maritim Sitges
Grup M.A. S.L.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
39 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
56 helpful votes 56 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2009

Im a regular visitor to sitges and have stayed in a few hotels now.

I would recommend this hotel based on a number of stipulations though!!

The hotel has a decent pool / poolside area. If you like the pool scene, then its far superior to any of the hotels closer to the town (La Nina and Calipolis have small plunge pools)....you can actually swim in this pool.

The walk to the town centre is a brisk 10/12min walk. Its very enjoyable, and you dont really notice it. (if ur 90 and having a walking frame, stay in the calipolis)

The hotel is cheaper than then more central hotels. I have noticed that some of the other hotels are asking ridiculous prices.

Roomwise. Dont expect too much. Lots of the reviews here are bad, but to be honest, I was happy enough...Decent size. Two double beds, renovated bathroom. Clean. Comfy bed. Safe in the room. Overall, its not NEW looking, but I was quite happy with it.

Breakfast was poor!!! I didnt really care though!! There may be a bigger selection mid season.

Free Parking and free wifi in most of the rooms!!

In summary, if i wanted a decent size pool and/or wanted to pay a little less, and didnt mind a short walk into the town, then chose this hotel. If ur a snob, dont!! You wont like it.

(Ive reviewed the other hotels too, so feel free to read them or contact me!!)

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SuburMaritim, Assistant Manager at BEST WESTERN Subur Maritim, responded to this review, January 23, 2014
Dear Marcus2000,

Thank you for share your comments regarding your stay at our Hotel. We'd improved our breakfast service and the wifi service, so we hope in your next visit you could enjoy this services.

If we can be of assistance in the future, please don't hesitate to contact us directly by phone or e-mail. Thank you again for taking the time to comment on Tripadvisor. I hope that you will enjoy again in your next stay in Sitges with us!

Sincerely,

Isabel Muñoz
Assistant Manager BEST WESTERN Hotel Subur Maritim Sitges
Grup M.A. S.L.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Travel_mole09
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2009

We spend a fantastic weekend in this hotel.

The beach is just outside the hotel, the swimming pool is very handy to keep the kids entertained.

I believe the hotel is just been renovated & the decor in our room was great.

Overall great hotel, great staff fantastic town.

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SuburMaritim, Assistant Manager at BEST WESTERN Subur Maritim, responded to this review, January 23, 2014
Dear Travel_mole09,

Thank you for share your comments regarding your stay at our Hotel.

If we can be of assistance in the future, please don't hesitate to contact us directly by phone or e-mail. Thank you again for taking the time to comment on Tripadvisor. I hope that you will enjoy again in your next stay with us.

Sincerely,

Isabel Muñoz
Assistant Manager BEST WESTERN Hotel Subur Maritim Sitges
Grup M.A. S.L.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to BEST WESTERN Subur Maritim? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN Subur Maritim

Address: Paseo Maritimo s/n | Esquina Paseo Doctor Benapres, 08870 Sitges, Spain
Phone Number:
Location: Spain > Catalonia > Province of Barcelona > Sitges
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Luxury Hotel in Sitges
#11 On the Beach Hotel in Sitges
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — BEST WESTERN Subur Maritim 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in front of the sea, the BEST WESTERN Hotel Subur Maritim in Sitges offers an excellent location and service, making it the best choice of Hotel to live Sitges while enjoying your life in a unique place.Discover the charming walk from the promenade and the beaches of Sitges to museums and a shopping area which the town has to offer. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline, Tingo, Otel, EasyToBook, BookingOdigeoWL, TripOnline SA, Despegar.com, HostelWorld, Venere and Agoda so you can book your BEST WESTERN Subur Maritim reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Subur Maritim Hotel Sitges
Best Western Hotel Sitges
Best Western Sitges
Sitges Best Western

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage BEST WESTERN Subur Maritim, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.