We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Craving a great Curry” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Cinnamon

Cinnamon
Passeig de Pujades, 2 | vallpineda, Sitges, Spain
+34 938 94 08 94
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #14 of 288 Restaurants in Sitges
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Price range: $13 - $17
Cuisines: Contemporary, Healthy, Eclectic, Asian fusion
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Scenic view
Dining options: Breakfast, Delivery, Late Night, Outdoor Seating, Reservations
Description: Restaurant just up the hill from the centre of Sitges. It is an old farmhouse with garden dining, food is eclectic asian fusian, although not strictly restaurant dining, there is plenty of room to sit and relax in the garden with a drink. Gluten free and vegetarian dishes, lovely teas and infusions, home made cakes etc.
Johannesburg, South Africa
1 review
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Craving a great Curry”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2013

Living in Spain can sometimes be a little frustrating when you really want your taste buds excited with interesting spices! However I have now become a regular at Cinnamon and never am I disappointed, Great starters and main dishes always hitting the spot. The staff are always helpful and are happy to assist when I request a little twist with my order which seems very hard to obtain in most other restaurants here.
The location and Garden really add to a great dinning experience and for sure is one of the most relaxed and chilled atmospheres in Sitges.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

223 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    164
    34
    17
    5
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sitges, Catalonia, Spain
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“One of my favorite restaurants in Sitges and in the Barcelona area”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2013

We feel so lucky to have discovered this wonderful haven thanks to a close chef friend of ours. Ya need a vehicle to get there if you live downtown, but we discovered that's a REALLY GOOD thing, especially in summer and for long weekends when you need to get away from all the madness. I'd been looking for a place that made "proper" curries for ages, that meaning, in my case, delicious and actually SPICY. Because after living in Spain for over 30 years, I know that's hard to come by here, even in most "Indian" restaurants. I gotta say, they've NEVER let me down. Mark is a fantastic chef with great ideas and who likes changing things up. He also prepares wonderful Moroccan Tagines and other fare. And if it's not spicy enough (which it almost always is), he makes one of the nicest hot sauces I've tried in years. And believe me, I make a really good one! It's truly well worth going a little bit out of your way to savor their excellent cuisine, relax in their garden... AND hear the most interesting DJ's and live bands around on THE BEST SOUND SYSTEM around for the same price!!! Which is VERY reasonable... Plus the staff is efficient and simpatico... What's NOT to like about it?

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cinnamonsitges, Owner at Cinnamon, responded to this review, June 19, 2013
Hi, what can I say? You are clearly one very satisfied customer! Thank you so much for sharing your positive opinions on Trip Advisor, and hope to see you again soon

Emma
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barcelona
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Frankly not impressed”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2013

The setting is stunning, tucked high up in the hills of Sitges. Views of the sea abound on the pleasant terrace with a cuddly cat too! But the food is a poor imitation of any curry I've eaten before - as though in trying to cater to Spanish taste buds, they've dampened down even the mildest of flavours. Recommended for a drink on the terrace. Avoid the food.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cinnamonsitges, Owner at Cinnamon, responded to this review, June 19, 2013
Hi, sorry to read that you were disappointed in your choice of dishes when you visited.
Unfortunately, we are not a curry house as such, we have only two curries on the menu, which we cannot make fiery hot (killing all the subtle flavours) and prefer to use a blend of spices to create a flavourful dish. Maybe you were expecting a typical British Indian curry, as served in UK Indian restaurants but here we create more Madhur Jaffrey style Indian curries and Thai jungle cooking - in Spain it's called comida del pueblo.
It is also far easier to add spice to a dish than take it away, which is why we provide our own special chilli sauce on the side for those who wish.

We try to create heathy, flavourful and homely dishes and salads, with thai, middle eastern and asian influences in addition to some mediterranean specials.
If you had complained at the time, we would have replaced your meal with something else from the menu, leaving you as a satisfied customer and us without a negative review on Trip Advisor, which frankly doesn't help anyone.
We are a small, family business, and we strive to create a friendly, high quality and good value environment. Most of our customers are regulars, because we will go out of our way to please wherever possible.

I do sincerely hope to see you again, please do drop by and we'll invite you to a glass of wine, and you can try something else from the menu.

Emma
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Espoo
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“superb food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2013

loved it. went with a group of 12 and everyone enjoyed it. waiters did not understand any english though. quite a small menu and the kitchen missed some menu items. very tasty food though. well worth the money.

Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
“Would have been perfect for lunch”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2013

Very nice place up the hill from Sitges center, in a rather plain neighbourhood (unrbanisation).

If we would go back, it'll be for what looks like an inviting terrace in a shady garden. Food was so-so. Hugh pile of creamy Humous (with white bread, which was not fresh), and a tiny Moroccan Tajin.

Nothing to write home about, and definitely not original, nor a re-interpetative fusion kitchen.

Cheese-cake for desert was too suite, though liked the apple-coconut cake. 49 euros for 2, including a bottle of the house white wine.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cinnamonsitges, Owner at Cinnamon, responded to this review, June 19, 2013
Hi, I am sorry to hear you were disappointed in the quality and quantity of the food served. I hope you will return for lunch and if you feel disappointed then please do tell us at the time and we will go out of our way to ensure to the best of our ability that you receive a delicious meal.
Customer satisfaction is something we take very seriously, through high standards of care (we hope) we have a regular, happy clientele.

Emma
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Cinnamon also viewed

Sitges, Province of Barcelona
Sitges, Province of Barcelona
 
Sitges, Province of Barcelona
 

Been to Cinnamon? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Cinnamon, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.