We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best restaurant in Sitges” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Restaurante Can Marti

Restaurante Can Marti
Calle Espana 10, 08870 Sitges, Spain
93 894 41 14
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #50 of 288 Restaurants in Sitges
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Cuisines: Spanish
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
London
Top Contributor
83 reviews 83 reviews
45 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
“Best restaurant in Sitges”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2012

I have been visiting Sitges for 25 years and in that time have tried most of the restaurants and Can Marti is definitely the best.
We have had many meals here but never reviewed it, an oversight.
Inside this is a comfy, warm, classy space with lovely art and tables well spaced. Outside tables are a little closer together but most have lamps and the street is quite quiet.
Waiters are fantastic, hard working, helpful and fun.
Food is top-notch, I started with snails (30 odd) which were lovely, my partner squid and prawns, great. It's a very 'meaty' menu and I had Ox which comes with a hot brick on which you cook it yourself, great fun. Veal was also very good. Great deserts and free, yes free, desert wine and homemade biscuits.
Wine list is superb.
RECOMMENDED.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

124 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    48
    56
    12
    8
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
“Expensive, Spanish is a must”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2012

Guided by the Sitges tourist guide we came to this "regional food" restaurant - located in a side street and looking very cosy.

Once the menu was presented we noticed the "creative" approach to the prices - where a starter could cost more than a steak main. Expect to pay 50-60 per person unless you choose to stick with cheaper options on the menu or stick to the offer of the day.

Waiters did not speak a word of English and did not even understand the English menu - we had to look it up for them.

Olives etc seemed only to be an offer to Spanish speakers; the table came without olive oil etc, the usual anywhere else.

The waiters seemed more than friendly to Spanish speakers so perhaps it was simply the language barrier holding us back.

Food was very commendable - as other reviewers said the meat on a stone looked good.

In the end, we were left wondering if there were tourist prices and local prices.

Conclusion: good food if money is no issue, better options out there.

    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Geneva, Switzerland
Top Contributor
116 reviews 116 reviews
67 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 72 cities Reviews in 72 cities
96 helpful votes 96 helpful votes
“Fabulous food!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2012

The decor is traditional, even a bit outdated in this upmarket restaurant but the quality of the food and service definitely make up for it. The foie gras salad starter is a must, as well as the steak on stone. The tapas are excellent too. All excellent products cooked with expertise. We liked it so much that we went twice in 5 days for dinner! The service is very attentive, and the complimentary Moscatel with catalan almond biscuits at the end of the meal soften the bill.
I highly recommend it!

  • Visited September 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toluca, Mexico
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Great Italian Food in Spain”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2012

We discovered this restaurant after having eaten Spanish food for a week.
The personal attention of the owner, as well as the rest of the personnel was unique.
Everybody was very friendly, and helpful when it came to the choice of food.
The menu was very much complete with many choices of great Italian food.
Food was very well prepared, fresh and good.

  • Visited August 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brighton
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
39 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Great Food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2012

Very central but tucked away in a side street. Excellent service and food, from tapas to steak on sizzling stones. Good wine list. Inside and outside seating (good for watching the world go by). Not the cheapest restaurant in town, but we have never been disappointed and we return on every visit to Sitges.

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Restaurante Can Marti also viewed

Sitges, Province of Barcelona
Sitges, Province of Barcelona
 
Sitges, Province of Barcelona
Sitges, Province of Barcelona
 

Been to Restaurante Can Marti? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Restaurante Can Marti, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.