We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“unexpected Japanese double experience” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Sitthai Lounge & Restaurant

Sitthai Lounge & Restaurant
Carrer Bonaire, 29, 08870 Sitges, Spain
+34 938 11 16 58
Website
Improve this listing
Reserve with
Sitthai Lounge & Restaurant is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #65 of 275 Restaurants in Sitges
Price range: $33 - $46
Cuisines: Japanese
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Delivery, Late Night
Pubol
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
“unexpected Japanese double experience”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 23, 2013

What started as a Thai restaurant and lounge experience has developed to very interesting sushi experience. I have eaten twice in Sitthai within the last 10 days and was both times amazed by the quality and creativity of their Sushi. I only had various makis and Nigiri. Quality and taste wise I would put them up with the best Sushis I had. And that includes Koy Shunka in Barcelona! Unfortunately as in all good Sushi restaurants the food is quite pricy but I think that that is what you have to pay for a quality product. I have not eaten anything else but still noticed a hugh variety of food options from Thai to Indian to whatever that I found rather confusing. Atmosphere and service are average and they have to work on the wine menu (small selection of rather modest wines at not so modest prices). Their cocktails though (as they have a real and true cocktail bartender) are excellent. A place that I definetely recommend for the excellent Sushis and perfect cocktails. For a different moment in Sitges!

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

146 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    84
    26
    13
    10
    13
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Not worth the money at all”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2013

Sushi was actually good, over priced but very fancily presented, if you prefer presentation over value for money then get the sushi here.

Despite the name 'SitThai' (if I added another letter to the name it would be just right!) there were no thai flavours in the thai dishes we chose. I had the spicy prawn soup - which you would hazard a guess would be tom yum soup. It cost €9 for 2 small prawns and 2 cherry tomatoes in a tomato base soup. Not spicy and not a Thai flavour at all. It was an ok flavour, but just not what you would expect from an apparently Thai restaurant.

The green curry was a boiled chicken breast sliced in two with a japanese katsu curry sauce. The chicken was raw as I cut through it and although they did whisk it away as soon as I pointed it out, the same plate returned after about 5 minutes in the microwave. Could not eat it. Waste of money. Do not order Thai green curry here. Worst I have ever had.

The waiters friends sat at the table next to us and ridiculed all the diners around them, from the way they looked to how they spoke. Very annoying group. Despite only speaking and understanding a little Spanish, was quite clear they were behaving like teenagers, making everyone feel uncomfortabe and no doubt got a discount to boot! Unbelievable behaviour. Dissapointing ambience, wait staff pretty rubbish.

We spent €70 for 2, utterly dissappointed and would not advise you to eat here unless you don't mind only eating over-priced sushi.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jacksonville, Florida
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Excellent choice for a change of cuisine”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2012

Having been many years going to Sitges, Spain for summer vacation, thought we would try something different and experience the (only) Thai restaurant. The curry's were wonderful and noodle dishes also very authentic. Overall, the thai food was everybit as good as we had in Thailand. We were also treated to an assortment of Sushi, and I would certainly like to tip my hat to the sushi chef (Flavio). A charming individual and he prepared some of the best sushi I've eaten. My compliments to owner Ramón and his staff for really understanding how to make Thai food something special! I will definitely be returning to Sitthai next time in Sitges...Hope you will too!

  • Visited September 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Amazing Sushi Experience in Sitthai”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 14, 2012

We came back after a good while not visiting last April just before my little baby boy was born and we were very impressed with the Asian fushion cuisine we tried. All exquisite. We went back after a while for sushi as per their suggestion to try it at some stage and... we felt in love with their sushi.
The tuna belly (toro in Spanish), a very difficult part of the tuna to get in restaurants and it is amazing.
Finally they have something not even the best renowned restaurants in the area have which is a fantastic somelier to help you with the wines. The place is decorated very chic which makes the gastronomic experience even better.
One of teh best restaurants in Sitges today for sure.
Ah, and the gin tonic menu makes Sitthai the perfect place for an after dinner drink (sobremesa).

  • Visited August 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Woodbridge, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
103 reviews 103 reviews
63 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
102 helpful votes 102 helpful votes
“Good sushi”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2012

We came in September , the sushi was presented immaculately and tasted very fresh
The Thai chicken curry was tiny portion , two slices of chicken smothered in overly salty taste paste in a fancy bowl I was left hungry, two mouthfuls my meal was gone.
With a bottle of wine our bill was 140 euro's
Probably won't return

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Sitthai Lounge & Restaurant also viewed

Sitges, Province of Barcelona
Sitges, Province of Barcelona
 
Sitges, Province of Barcelona
Sitges, Province of Barcelona
 

Been to Sitthai Lounge & Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sitthai Lounge & Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.