We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Dont bother” 1 of 5 stars
Review of El Raco de la Carreta

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
El Raco de la Carreta
Carreta, n0 7, 08870 Sitges, Spain
938 947 836
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #162 of 288 Restaurants in Sitges
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Devon
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Dont bother”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2013

Poor food which you can hear being heated up in the microwave. Overpriced and poor service; don't waste your money.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

40 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    9
    17
    5
    5
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Atlanta, Georgia
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Don't waste your money”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2013

Our favorite restaurant El Celler Vell was closed so we decided to give this restaurant another chance. It is deceiving because in the old part of Sitges and is very quaint. Because of this it can be easy to think the food is good as well - but it really isn't worth the time and money. It also appears the owner, waiter, etc. doesn't provide the same quality food/drink for all. We noticed low quality beer from cans were poured in our glasses and served to us. The food is overpriced and the choices are limited - there are many, many better places to eat and experience in Sitges - don't waste your money!

  • Visited May 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
“Not worth a visit”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2012

This place was so disappointing. There is no chef nor a restaurantuer in situ, just a guy who uses a microwave and chap who has little idea of service or cuisine. I sometimes think when people go on holiday they leave there taste buds and judgement at home because there is no reason why this place could deserve even a reasonable review.
We ordered duck magret and waited whilst the microwave user defrosted a whole breast and served half a breast as a freshly cooked dish. The mamas lasagne, a house speciality was ready meal cheap trash. I wanted to tell the chap to nip down to the local lidl where he could buy one with better taste but even at the 2euro they barge it would be 1euro more than the freezer shop he buys it from.
If the owner might ever read this then please go back to bricklaying or plastering or whatever but just get the hell out of the restaurant business.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tienen, Belgium
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Absolutely fabulous for catalan food lovers”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2012

Uncomplicated restaurant with typically catalan food, always fresh ( every year I go there several times). Good service and great atmosphere. Very cheap . You have to go there at least once.

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Great family-owned 'joint' in the heart of old town Sitges”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2011

We happened upon this place while scoping out the heart of Sitges for a local haunt. We found it. Small and bustling (a good sign) at 11pm or so. Chatted with our Get a nice bottle of Rioja, some tapas and you can't go wrong!

  • Visited September 2011
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed El Raco de la Carreta also viewed

Sitges, Province of Barcelona
Sitges, Province of Barcelona
 
Terrassa, Province of Barcelona
Sitges, Province of Barcelona
 

Been to El Raco de la Carreta? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage El Raco de la Carreta, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.