We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Out of this world!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of El Celler de Can Roca

El Celler de Can Roca
Carrer de Can Sunyer, 48, 17007 Girona, Spain
972 222 157
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #1 of 365 Restaurants in Girona
Price range: $25 - $100
Cuisines: Spanish
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance, Doing business, Special occasions, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Delivery, Late Night
Somewhere!
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“Out of this world!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2014

This was our reason for visiting Girona. Like most others we have waited a year for this, making the reservation last July. It was a surprise for my partners 30th so I was hoping for amazing! All I can say is it far exceeded our expectations and could quite possibly be the most amazing meal we have ever had! 4.5 hours of pure excellence!

  • Visited June 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

910 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    783
    67
    34
    14
    12
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Guernsey
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
“Reached expectation”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2014

The whole experience was wow from start to end . We didn't begrudge one penny of a very expensive evening out! Surprisingly the wines are very reasonable and we paid less for a bottle of Muscadet there than we do at home. Our waiter was a delight and carefully explained what we were eating and even though the dining room is very smart there was a nice relaxed feeling to the proceedings! Expect to be there for hours , there is a lot enjoy! Dress code is from smart casual through to very smart! This is a special place for a special night out! The other plus is staying in Girona which is now our favourite Spanish city! Spend a few days there! We stayed at LLegendes de Girona 10/10.

Visited June 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moscow, Moscow City, Russia
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
“What an honour!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2014

Best restaurant I have eaten! The food - of course, but not only that. What you get from this place - is the feeling of huge respect the owners have for their guests. By respecting your guests this much they show how respectful and honourable their profession is to them, how they value it and how proud they are of what they do. Without snobbery, without much pretentiousness - they try to do what the do best - make people happy by creating a unique culinary experience every day. AMAZING!!!!

Visited June 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Malmo, Sweden
Top Contributor
126 reviews 126 reviews
66 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
316 helpful votes 316 helpful votes
“Fantastic!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2014

We made a reservation in May 2013 and finally visited in June 2014. The whole experience was truly fantastic, everything from the service to the quality of ingredients and the food preparation was perfect!

We had a few very lovely hours and we are just dying to revisit El Celler de Can Roca. The only issues we had during our visit were the fact that we were getting a bit to full towards the end of the Feast Menu, and the fact that there was a very limited selection of non-alcoholic drinks to offer us. For example, Noma in Copenhagen offers a juice meny specifically composed for their menu. This was something we would have liked here as well. The waiter seemed very confused when we asked for non-alcoholic alternatives (I had just recovered from a fever the same morning) and offered orange juice, tomatoe juice or non-alcohol beer.

Except for this small issue everything was perfect and I can truly recommend a visit!

  • Visited June 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Budapest
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“A Feast Of Tastes!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2014

Let me start with a Funny detail: Our reservation was given 13 months ahead, for 2nd of May to be more precise.

Exactly on the Week it Lost its outstanding Nr.1 position to Copenhagens Best. Yupp! ;)

Normally when talking about superlatives I'm rather cautios to absorb all of the opinions without any doubt.

So dissapointment was part of the equation.

Worries of dissatisfaction proved to be unnecessary!

Enjoyed the 4 hours Festival Degustative till the end!

+ sauces
+ seafood
+ fantastic wine selection
+ serving

- the staff was obviously worn by the News recieved that week and many of the seemed - including the Roca brothers - rather dissapointed, which took a bit away of the overall experience!

  • Visited May 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed El Celler de Can Roca also viewed

Girona, Province of Girona
Girona, Province of Girona
 
Girona, Province of Girona
Girona, Province of Girona
 

Been to El Celler de Can Roca? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage El Celler de Can Roca, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.