We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Variable!” 2 of 5 stars
Review of AC Hotel Palau de Bellavista by Marriott

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added AC Hotel Palau de Bellavista by Marriott to your Saves list
AC Hotel Palau de Bellavista by Marriott
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Pujada Polvorins 1, 17004 Girona, Spain   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
FREE Wi-Fi
Ranked #10 of 22 Hotels in Girona
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Toulouse, France
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Variable!”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2013

We stayed here for one night at the beginning of August and enjoyed it so much that we booked to return at the end of the month. However, I think we were blinkered in our view of the Hotel and just over-whelmed by the beauty of Girona itself! I would definitely recommend anyone to visit the city of Girona . . . but maybe stay in a different hotel. The view from the terrace is good, as everyone has said, but let's face it you cannot see the beautiful old city and you cannot see the mountains at night! We enjoyed a reasonable meal with friendly staff on the Saturday evening (informed it was closed for the Sunday night). The rooms are good and increadibly clean, although the mini bar is more suited to teenagers, than adults, and if you look out of the window you are staring into someone else's bedroom! However, the major problem here is that the Hotel seems to be run for the convenience of the staff. The reception staff on arrival and during our visit were so unprofessional. Infact I couldn't ask a single question of them as they were too engaged in their own personal conversation, and yes, this includes the check in process! The restaurant was good, but although it should be open until 2300h, the staff started clearing away the empty tables at 2230h and then seemed somewhat disappointed when two tables of four people arrived to eat! The bar opens and closes at whim . . ! This is not the kind of service I expect from a four star hotel. Will definitely not visit again!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EstherSolaFerres, Gerente at AC Hotel Palau de Bellavista by Marriott, responded to this review, September 12, 2013
We acknowledge receipt of their comments during their stay at our hotel AC Palau de Bellavista and thank him for his contribution to our continued work to meet the needs and expectations of our customers.

I am confident that, apart from this inconvenience, the rest of its services and stay in general would have been pleased. We hope to see you again in the hotel and able to greet personally.

At your disposal, greets.

The manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

536 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    185
    247
    79
    17
    8
See reviews for
65
341
14
46
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (32)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Oakham, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2013

Good room in all respects. Great view over Girona from the outside roof which was also a restaurant and bar. Excellent staff. Old town easily accessible. Our room cost only £68.Plenty of free parking. Finding it was not easy but one stop to ask directions was all that was needed.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lichfield, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2013 via mobile

We stayed here whilst driving from uk to southern Spain, and having booked online a few days prior to our visit. As others have said, the views are quite stunning, and the hotel is in an excellent location for exploring the old town and its wonderful atmosphere. The walk back up the hill is steep, but take it easy and its should be fine, and a drink on the terrace once you return is a just reward!

The hotel itself is very modern, and the space layout of the bar, lounge and restaurant is done with style and practicality. We didn't use the restaurant as it was closed on the Monday night we stayed, but the menu looked tempting. That said, we wanted to experience the Girona cafe culture anyway, so enjoyed the stroll into the city, which took no more than 10-15 minutes.

The bedroom is very comfortable, and very cleverly designed to maximise space. Good amenities, great bathroom and shower, and nice touches with full toiletries and a well stocked mini bar. Our online rate was only €65 which we both agreed was excellent value for money. We'd have no hesitation in recommending the hotel as great base for a city break, a stopover or to explore the surrounding area. We'll be going back for sure!

Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scottsdale, Arizona
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
52 hotel reviews
Reviews in 45 cities Reviews in 45 cities
88 helpful votes 88 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2013

We stayed at this hotel for two nights, having made a reservation on the internet a couple of days in advance. There was a special for a suite (less than 100 euros), which we enjoyed. It was a pleasure after a month of traveling to spread out in a couple of large rooms. The bathroom was also large, with lots of thick towels. Everything was perfectly clean and well-maintained.

The view from the hotel is nothing short of spectacular. On a clear day, you can see a wide panorama of the city of Girona and the mountains in the distance. All the public spaces (lobby, bar, breakfast room, terrace) are oriented toward the view, while the guests' rooms views are more mundane. We looked at some tree tops in a nearby park.

The staff at the front desk was always polite and helpful to us. One day when we wanted to drive to the Costa Brava, they gave us a map and suggested our route.

As for the walk to the old quarter of the city, it takes less than fifteen minutes--and only half of that is on a very steep incline. Unfortunately, the weather was extremely hot when we visited Girona, so the walk was indeed strenuous. Otherwise, I'd say it was easily manageable for anyone comfortable with a little climb. Parking isn't always available in the city, so it is definitely easier to leave the car in the hotel's free parking and walk.

We enjoyed the city of Girona and wished we had longer to explore the surrounding area--we'll certainly stay here on a return trip.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oslo, Norway
Top Contributor
155 reviews 155 reviews
144 hotel reviews
Reviews in 136 cities Reviews in 136 cities
257 helpful votes 257 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2013

We booked a night at Palau de Bellavista over the phone and paid around €100 for a double room. We did this on the day and upon arrival had to choose between a disabled access room and a stinking smokers room. Easy choice.

We were driving a hire car so the parking was convenient. The walk uphill from the city centre was not quite as strenuous as has been suggested in some reviews. You should have no problem unless you are particularly infirm or geriatric. And if you are there then is a bus you could take which passes close to the hotel.

The room was modern and comfortable. Considering all the raving about the view from the terrace, the view from our window was a bit of a disappointment - perhaps the guests opposite whose view was of our window had the same thought. Bathroom was nicely equipped. The only down side being that one wall was a translucent screen (covered with a picture of a 90's fashioned family enjoying the sights of Girona) facing into the room. When somebody turned the light on in the bathroom the whole room lit up. Wifi in the room was only available for a fee. I really don't understand why wifi is usually free in cheaper hotels but costs in more expensive ones.

The terrace did indeed have spectacular views over the city. The reception area to which it was connected had some seating and free wifi. This was also where breakfast was served. There was a pretty good selection of items.

The serving and cleaning staff I encountered were very friendly. Reception staff were a mixed bag and overall not particularly welcoming. As we left I tried to say thanks and bye but staff completely ignored me as they were deep in their own conversation.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2013

in this hotel everything was great!nice staff,polite and helpfull,spacious modern rooms fully airconditioned,very comfortable,nice breakfast,free parking,nice terrace with a great view to the city!highly recomended!better for free access to the internet in the rooms!

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Raleigh, North Carolina
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
49 hotel reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2013

The view from the terrace here is quite breathtaking at sunset and worth the stay alone.

After staying at the AC Hotel Vicenza, I knew that the bed would be uncomfortably hard here (it was) so I took the extra pillows and slept ontop of them. That solved that problem! Room was very clean, large and with a perfectly working air conditioner. There was some lobby noise at night that you could hear in the room, but it stopped once the restaurant closed.

Front desk staff spoke excellent English and were quite lovely. Asked for a map of the area and was given one and shown all the important sights as well as the best path to take down the hill! Such a timesaver!

If you walk to the train station as I did (easy ride to Barcelona from there), it takes around 30 minutes to make the walk. And if you're looking for good driving day trips, try going to Tossa de Mar!

Hotel was a little difficult to find upon arrival until I noticed signs for it in the city center at various intersections. That was definitely a blessing!

And if you arrive hungry - the restaurant does not open until 8pm :(

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to AC Hotel Palau de Bellavista by Marriott? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about AC Hotel Palau de Bellavista by Marriott

Address: Pujada Polvorins 1, 17004 Girona, Spain
Location: Spain > Catalonia > Province of Girona > Girona
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Romantic Hotel in Girona
#8 Luxury Hotel in Girona
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — AC Hotel Palau de Bellavista by Marriott 4*
Number of rooms: 74
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Category: 4 StarsObservations: Central / Parking / Meeting and banqueting Rooms / Restaurant / Cafeteria / Safe / Internet / Coffe shop free / Access disabled. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Despegar.com, Marriott and Hotels.com so you can book your AC Hotel Palau de Bellavista by Marriott reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ac Hotels Girona
Ac Hotel Girona

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage AC Hotel Palau de Bellavista by Marriott, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.