We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Exceeded expectations, a charming and gracious experience” 5 of 5 stars
Review of L'alqueria

L'alqueria
c/Ginesta 8, Girona, Spain
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #5 of 365 Restaurants in Girona
Cuisines: Spanish
Dining options: Reservations, Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations, Late Night
Eugene, Oregon
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
“Exceeded expectations, a charming and gracious experience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 21, 2014 via mobile

We were seated and immediately provided with a vermouth cocktail and some delightful little breadsticks nestled in a romesco sauce. This was followed with a lovely gazpacho and some tasty fresh rolls. Then, we ordered our paella, the house specialty, and a bottle of wine. The paella could have fed a family of four and was wonderful.

Visited May 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

150 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    90
    51
    7
    1
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
San Francisco, California
1 review
“Very nice”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 27, 2014

Very well done paella to our specifications. It came with excellent artichoke hearts, asparagus and fish.

Nice decor and quiet.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle, United Kingdom
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Great”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2014

Lovely place, easy to find in the centre of Girona, delicious paella and lovely service.....I would return again.

  • Visited April 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Not to be missed!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2013

We dined here on our last evening in Girona and were not disappointed. As you enter, you can see through to the kitchen and you climb a flight of stairs to the first floor restaurant.

The whole ambiance is very contemporary and you quickly realise that you are in a proper restaurant. The service is efficient and not at all over bearing, as can be the case with some fine dining establishments.

The restaurant is well known for it's rice dishes. However, we didn't choose the rice options although another group had a selection of Paellas and they looked very appetizing. We both had scallops to start and these came cooked with pancetta and served on a potato puree base. There were 4 scallops on each plate and this made it a substantial starter and was all together delicious. My friend had a veal dish and I had the shoulder of lamb in wine of Pedro Ximenez, which was delicious. For desert we both had Tarte Tatin, which was simple, delicious and very well executed.

The wine list was good and not over priced as can be the case in a lot of restaurants.

All in all, a very good end to our visit to Girona.

Visited November 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sarasota, Florida
Top Contributor
81 reviews 81 reviews
44 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
79 helpful votes 79 helpful votes
“Scrumptious!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2013

This is by far the best paella I have ever had! The restaurant is hidden a bit, but right in the heart of Girona on the west side of the Onyar River near the Placa de Catalunya. The atmosphere is very nice and the staff was very pleasant!

  • Visited September 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed L'alqueria also viewed

Girona, Province of Girona
Girona, Province of Girona
 
Girona, Province of Girona
Girona, Province of Girona
 

Been to L'alqueria? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage L'alqueria, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.