We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“My Old Mother” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Can Lloret

Can Lloret
Placa Independencia, 14 | Tel 972 213671, Girona, Spain
Improve this listing
Ranked #180 of 377 Restaurants in Girona
Cuisines: Spanish
Restaurant details
Sydney
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“My Old Mother”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2013

The owner of the place we stayed recommended this restaurant. He obviously didn't like us.
My old mother used to say to me "Terence if you can't say something nice about someone or something don't say anything at all".
Here ends the review.

P.S That was a bit cruel, the staff were very nice.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

25 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    4
    12
    5
    2
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Poole, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
67 reviews 67 reviews
55 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
“Fine for the price”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 21, 2013

Great location to eat outside with an undemanding menu containing all the usual local offerings. Go for the set menu for lunch which is low cost and acceptable.Attentive service and a;lthough you could not call this haut cuisine it is perfectly acceptable particularly the fish dishes

  • Visited September 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Granny's Kitchen”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 12, 2013

As a previous reviewer said "like eating in your Granny's ", only if your granny has no teeth and everything is so over cooked that it is just a mush resembling real food. Indeed, what looked reasonable on the menu bore no likeness to what was served. Salad was limp as in floppy, Cannelloni was burnt on the bottom with just a mush as a filling, bits of chicken were served with a few chips - everything deep fried- the wine served (if wine at all) was vile, vinegar would have tasted better, it was more like a glass of bad sherry mixed with water then poured into a dirty bottle. While I do not speak Catalan, nor do I have sufficient Spanish to express my disgust properly, I paid up for the two meals and left. The only good thing about the entire experience was that we were able to shelter when the skies threatened to open upon us as the thunder rolled in the distance, but avoid this restaurant.
The wash room, as there was only one, was behind a frosted glass partition with a dirty towel slung over a rail, the decor was out of the formica era, over all it was just bad,bad ,bad.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Spain
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Can Lloret - Daily Set Menu”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2012

My brother was right: Can Lloret is an odd ball set in its ways amidst the trendy design wave sweeping over Girona’s old and new restaurants. Indeed, stepping into it provides a glimpse into a frumpy yet deliciously genteel Catalunya for which some locals are starting to long and fewer tourists are able to find at hot tourist spots. We were sat on the terrace on the restaurant lined square and regaled by a street busker. Unassumingly presented, the daily set menu offers no less than 3 dishes. You must try the paella! (min 2 people) invited my brother. It wouldn’t have been my choice as it was a rather hot summer day, but went along just to please him. And glad I did as it was flavoursome, the sofrito base just right and the quantity plenty, and so were the salad and the, chicken, my main dish, with some real chips. The dessert also took us back: a generous ice-cream slice set between two wafers. The generous helpings and price will help any traveler to feel better. I’d specially recommend it as a winter stop.

  • Visited July 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Can Lloret also viewed

Girona, Province of Girona
Girona, Province of Girona
 
Girona, Province of Girona
Girona, Province of Girona
 

Been to Can Lloret? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Can Lloret, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.