We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Hotel, Great Location” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Carlemany

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Carlemany to your Saves list
Hotel Carlemany
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Placa Miquel Santalo, 17002 Girona, Spain   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 22 Hotels in Girona
Bexhill
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
“Great Hotel, Great Location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 27, 2012

This is a really very nice hotel in a great location in Gerona. The rooms are quite large - I wouldn't say it was the most attractive room I have ever stayed in but perfectly nice, good bathroom with nice 'freebies', nice size TV, minibar etc. Very comfortable large beds. No tea/coffee making or bathrobes which for a 4 star hotel would have been a nice touch. We were on the 2nd floor and I do have to say that the rooms are very quiet and you can't hear anyone walking about or noise from the next room. The staff are very friendly and very helpful.

We booked our trip through Expedia to include an Easyjet flight and car hire and for what we got it was very reasonable.

If you are looking for a good restaurant do try Divinium in the old part of the city - the 35 Euro for 2 menu is a steal and the food and service is absolutely excellent.

If you are driving from Barcelona don't forget to have some Euros handy as you will go through toll booths - might be obvious but we didn't think about it before we arrived.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

257 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    101
    134
    16
    4
    2
See reviews for
21
134
11
48
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (27)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Ringwood
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 3, 2012

Stayed at the Carlemany on a weekend break as we had to get back to Girona airport for an eary flight,
Location wise I cant imagine there is a better hotel if you are doing a one night stop over before getting to the airport.
Hotel was great, reasonable in the extreme price wise and queen size bed was cool.
They had a great receptionst who was really helpful and told us where to go and what to do and gave us a really warm welcome which is why we,I ,are writing the review. He made the stay a more pleasant experience due to his genuine attentiveness to us as guests/tourists and helping us to go out and experience Girona.
So basically stay there its good!!!

Bosses of hotel, we stayed there on the Sunday the 1st of April,, if he is due a promotion give him one, he is a real asset to you!!

Room Tip: Go for the Queen size bed they are enormous. Even if you are a couple of fatties(sorry!!) you could...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelCarlemany, Director General at Hotel Carlemany, responded to this review, April 10, 2012
Dear Simon P,


Thank you very much for sharing your opinion with the rest of tripadvisor users regarding your stay at the Hotel Carlemany and also to regarding our lovely city of Girona.

We appreciate your positive comments regarding your experience with our front desk department and be sure that all the staff is already aware about your opinion. It's always a great pleasure for us to receive such a positive guest service feedback from our guests.

We all look forward to welcoming you back to Girona and to our Hotel Carlemany in the near future.

Sincerely,

Jordi Mias Morell
Hotel Carlemany
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cork
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 19, 2012

we needed to find a place in girona that was near the bus station as our flight was leaving early the next day- this was perfect.
Really friendly and helpful staff!
reasonable rates and comfortable rates

Room Tip: try and find the cheapest rate
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelCarlemany, General Manager at Hotel Carlemany, responded to this review, March 25, 2012
Dear TripAdvisor member "MaryWalsh80",


It is always a great pleasure for us to see you sharing your opinion with the rest of tripadvisor users regarding your stay at the Hotel Carlemany and also to regarding our lovely city of Girona. We are happy to see that overall you had a pleasant and good experience with us.

We all look forward to welcoming you back to Girona and to our Hotel Carlemany in the near future.

Sincerely,

Jordi Mias Morell
Hotel Carlemany
General Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
77 helpful votes 77 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2011

Found this hotel through a company I had to visit in Girona Spain, and it was first class even though it may only be a 4 star hotel. The rooms were quite large and comfortable, spacious hallways, and most important security boxes for your valuables. The Old City was about a 15 minute walk away, and the buffet breakfast offered something for everyone. The double glazing meant that there wasn't any noise which can be a factor in Spanish hotels. Remember don't think about eating dinner before at least 9pm or later as it won't happen. Overall a great find which I can highly recommend.

Room Tip: Be nice to the staff and they'll help out even if you can't speak Spanish
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelCarlemany, Director General at Hotel Carlemany, responded to this review, November 4, 2011
Dear TripAdvisor member "OscarGreen",


Thank you very much for sharing your opinion with the rest of tripadvisor users regarding your stay at the Hotel Carlemany and also to regarding our lovely city of Girona. We are happy to see that overall you had a pleasant and good experience with us.

We all look forward to welcoming you back to Girona and to our Hotel Carlemany in the near future.

Sincerely,

Jordi Mias Morell
Hotel Carlemany
General Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Strachur, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2011

After a week in self catering in France we treated ourself to 3 nights in a 4 star central hotel in Girona. I looked around the reviews and this Hotel seemed good - it was.
Positives : good quality room; airconditioned; windows overlooked square - gave good light, good view, reasonably noise proof; close to railway/bus station; close to old town/ barri gotic; helpful staff; delightful barman; chic bar open at night; very reasonable good quality cafe/bar open in daytime.
Only negative was disdainful breakfast waitress.
We've visited Girona several times. Love it and will definitely stay at Carlemany again.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelCarlemany, Director General at Hotel Carlemany, responded to this review, November 2, 2011
Dear Daisypots,


Thank you very much for sharing your opinion with the rest of tripadvisor users regarding your stay at the Hotel Carlemany and also to regarding our lovely city of Girona.

We appreciate your positive comments regarding your experience in our new Indigo Restaurant & Lounge, on the other hand we regret that the service provided in our Pati Verd Restaurant for breakfast wasn't as expected. Please accept our apologies and be sure that we'll work in order to improve our service at breakfast time.

We all look forward to welcoming you back to Girona and to our Hotel Carlemany in the near future.

Sincerely,

Jordi Mias Morell
Hotel Carlemany
General Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Europe
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2011

We only spent a quick 20 hours here (Rm 213) but it definitely outdid our normal standard of accommodation. Large room, all the important amenities, close to the old town and entertainment area, and close to the train station. Staff was more than helpful. Only slight drawback was that the square in front of the hotel seemed to be a gathering point for people, however the noise had generally died down by the time we wanted to sleep. Girona itself was also surprisingly nicer than expected, with the river and old town. Great place to walk around.

Room Tip: Perhaps the rooms away from the square are a bit quieter?
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelCarlemany, Director General at Hotel Carlemany, responded to this review, November 2, 2011
Dear TripAdvisor user "AnotherHasher",


Thank you very much for sharing your opinion with the rest of tripadvisor users regarding your stay at the Hotel Carlemany and also to regarding our lovely city of Girona.

We all look forward to welcoming you back to Girona and to our Hotel Carlemany in the near future.

Sincerely,

Jordi Mias Morell
Hotel Carlemany
General Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Driffield, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2011

Perfect hotel for a weekend break in Girona. Pleasant staff on reception, room modern and clean, but most of all so close to the train and bus station. Girona is a fantastic town, what a little gem. More compact than Barcelona and so friendly. Arrived on Friday lunchtime and did the usual tour of the town, with a trip on the tourist train. Went to a fab indian restaurant called Taj near the historic part of town. Great food and good wine at a reasonable price. Went to Estartit on Saturday, lovely resort with some great fish restaurants, very relaxed and not spoilt with english bars and "all you can eat buffets and breakfasts". Came home Sunday feeling very relaxed after two wonderful days away - because the airport is only 20 minutes from the town you really feel like you have had a break. - and the bus fare is only 5 Euros return.

The great thing about Girona is you can get a bus or train up the coast to Estartit or Figueres or go the other way towards Costa Brava or Barcelona and the fares are very reasonable.

Try it, it's cheaper than a weekend in London and although I am not a culture vulture (I also do all inclusive in Tossa Beach Hotel, Tossa De Mar) I love the history and general relaxed atmoshere of Girona and the Carlemany Hotel.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Carlemany? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Carlemany

Address: Placa Miquel Santalo, 17002 Girona, Spain
Location: Spain > Catalonia > Province of Girona > Girona
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Girona
#4 Luxury Hotel in Girona
#5 Romantic Hotel in Girona
#5 Family Hotel in Girona
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Carlemany 4*
Number of rooms: 89
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located right in the center of Girona, Hotel Carlemany, undoubtedly offers you the best location for your trip whether is for business or leisure, allowing you to discover walking distance the most interesting sites of Girona. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Despegar.com, Booking.com, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Hotel Carlemany reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Carlemany Hotel Girona

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Carlemany, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.