We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Friendly modern hotel in great location” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Ciutat de Girona

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Ciutat de Girona to your Saves list
Hotel Ciutat de Girona
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   C Nord 2 Esquina Hortes, 17001 Girona, Spain   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 22 Hotels in Girona
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Dublin
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Friendly modern hotel in great location”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2009

We stayed here for 3 nights on a short city break. We were delighted with the hotel's location, right on the edge of the charming old town, (3 minutes walk) . The staff were friendly and helpful- I had no problem borrowing an adapter to charge my phone- they gave advice on anything we wanted to know We breakfasted each morning in the stylish white dining room, a very calm way to begin the day.The breakfast buffet had plenty of variety and we were greeted each morning with a glass of fresh orange juice, prepared on the spot. Rooms were modern and well equipped and there were a few English language stations - BBC world, CNN, SKY News....
I'd stay there again if I ever return to Girona.

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

531 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    308
    169
    42
    6
    6
See reviews for
52
302
16
32
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (42)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Dublin, Ireland
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2009

Having stayed many times at Hotel Ciutat de Girona, I was surprised during this visit to discover that the management have done away with the free minibar which included water, beer and minerals. They have also discontinued the chocs and the weather forecast in the rooms. But the rates haven't changed.

These extras made this hotel special - without them it puts it back to the "average". The location is good but it appears management don't seem to care whether this hotel is "special" or "average".

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2009

This hotel is right in the city centre of Gerona, so it's perfect for visiting the city,shopping...The room is very big, very clean, with tv,free wifi, room service.
The staff is quite nice.

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Morecambe
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2009

This hotel is very well situated for shops, sightseeing and transport; it is very modern.

The rooms follow the modern theme, excellent air conditioning and triple glazing, but although there is a wardrobe there is only one small drawer built into the washbasin.

The mattress is hard, the TV has some 30 channels but none are in English even CNN and BBC World are in Spanish; newspapers in reception are free but again none are in English; this may appear nitpicking to some people, but don't forget part of your bill will be paying for these 'amenities'.

The hotel is clean, but the carpet outside our room had suffered from some minor spills from bleach and the mop bucket.

We did not eat breakfast in the hotel as a price of 7 euro for the express breakfast was too expensive, but did eat dinner there twice, consisting of 2 courses, with beer and coffee, this cost around 38 euro for the 2 of us. Two courses was plenty for us, but someone with a large appetite may be disappointed. Unfortunately, the food quality was not consistent as on the second occaision the food was not as good as the excellent meal the night previously.

Girona is mainly Catalan speaking and some bars and restaurants have menus only in Catalan, which is not like Spanish, alienating not only foreigners but the Spanish themselves, some do have English menus - prices are varied. Although the exchange rate was poor for our visit, some attractions are expensive. The Arab baths were only 2 euro, but a waste of money; two rooms, mostly reconstructed, and full of bizarre sculpture which was totally out of place.

The Dali museum in Figeres is 11 euro and crowded with people. The massive Castell de Sant Ferran, not too far away, is only 3 euro and fantastic value for money with good audio commentry included; the cafe there is good and reasonably priced, anyone who likes real serrano will not be disappointed.

A 1.5hr trip on the bus to Olot is worth a visit for the breathtaking scenery of the Pyrenees; there are several routes to walk around extinct volcanoes from which to view the mountains.

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London (England)
Top Contributor
83 reviews 83 reviews
76 hotel reviews
Reviews in 69 cities Reviews in 69 cities
85 helpful votes 85 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2009

Centrally located ten minutes walk from railway and bus stations, on the other side of the river and just minutes from the historic centre. Quiet street.

Friendly receptionists. Free use of an internet laptop. Problem with the room (slow water drainage in the shower) was notified on the day I arrived and had not been resolved when I left three nights later.

Large comfortable bedroom, bright modern style. Well lit. Modern TV with many channels (only BBC World and CNN in English), radio, CD player. Effective air conditioning. On one day the room had not been made up when I came back at 15.30

Bright modern bathroom, a bit too much modern design - the handbasin could have done with being more conventional. Reasonable toiletries (toothbrush, rasor), though no soap for first couple of days. Dressing gown.

Decent breakfast buffet, orange juice feshly squeezed for you, friendly hard-working waitress.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Honolulu, Hawaii
Top Contributor
154 reviews 154 reviews
145 hotel reviews
Reviews in 128 cities Reviews in 128 cities
325 helpful votes 325 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2009

I stayed here based on the previous reviews, and found them to be true. This hotel definitely deserves 4 stars. The room is stylish, spacious, comfortable in every way, with a really modernistic (and excellent) bath. I think the bath had more amenities than any hotel I've ever been in (but you need to know how to find them - really unusual,stylistic draws). Good walls and windows keep the room quiet.

As mentioned, the location is perfect for seeing the old city on foot, and only a 10 minute walk to the train station (through the 'new city').

The staff are very friendly and helpful, check-in a breeze (I did not have reservations, but got a great price). Overall, this is a great choice.

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bristol
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2009

We stayed at this hotel for 3 nights, it was recommended no1 in tripadvisor and it didn't disappoint. Great location, we got the bus from Girona airport for approx 2 euros and less than 10min walk through the cobbled streets to the hotel. Reception staff were very friendly and although we were on an early flight they found us a room, we had expected to be told to drop our bag and come back later.

The room was great, flat screen tv, radio/cd player, kettle with tea and coffee making, professional hairdryer, loads of toiletries, in a pretty cool bathroom, I particularly liked the shower, and the sink which slid across to reveal all the toiletries you could need, including disposable toothbrushes and razor.

The only thing that let down our stay was Blanc, the hotel restaurant, who totally messed up our meal, I think we were just unlucky, they served my main course with my husbands starter, and the potato was stone cold, I sent it back and when it arrived again, they didn't redo the meal just microwaved it and smashed up the potato with a fork so that it looked a bit of a mess. Other people's meals looked good, but in the end we walked out as I didn't want to eat on my own, and then watch my husband eat his meal, but at least they didn't charge us, I told the reception who said they would feedback my comments to the manager.

We found a street just off of Plaza Indepencia that had quite a few restaurants where the locals only seemed to go, it was called Figueroles or something like that and de Gust restaurant was particularly good 10 euros for a set menu del dia, with plenty of choice, the waitress took a lot of time to translate the "catalan only" menu to us.

A lot of the places were very Catalan and we did struggle to work out what some dishes were, even though my husband speaks Spanish, but I guess thats not a big issue. Zamzapar tapas bar in the old town was great just pick a plate and select your tapas, I even had a mini fried egg and bacon on a piece of bread.

On Girona town itself, we found plenty to do, and didn't even get time to do our planned trip to Figueres for the Dali museum, thought we'd save it till next time as would definitely return.

Must sees are. the bridges, the old town narrow streets, walk the city walls, the cathedral and the jewish museum (I thought it would be dull but it was very interesting telling you about the narrow streets and Girona's past), and of course the tapas bars, the ones around Independencia Square are very good.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Ciutat de Girona? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Ciutat de Girona

Address: C Nord 2 Esquina Hortes, 17001 Girona, Spain
Location: Spain > Catalonia > Province of Girona > Girona
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 22 Hotels in Girona
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Ciutat de Girona 4*
Number of rooms: 44
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Ciutat de Girona is located in the most symbolic, historical and cultural heart of Girona. Surrounded by the most charismatic buildings and the best shopping in the city.The hotel combines a modern style and it is decorated with pictures of the most representative places of Girona. It is equipped with last generation facilities. Among its services you can find and indoor swimming pool and a indoor cycling. In the lobby you will find "the corner of the musician" where you can have a glass of moscatell ( sweet wine) and some nuts to make your arrival at the Hotel a special moment.Hotel Ciutat de Girona is an option to enjoy an exquisite treatment and exclusive facilities in the heart of the city. These and many other details will fill your stay with pleasant surprises. Hotel Ciutat de Girona aims to achieve maximum customer satisfaction. This is why our priority is to work to adapt to the uses, traditions and tastes of each of our clients. This purpose is achieved thanks to bi-directional teamwork of all the teams that are part of the Hotel, both in his daily task and other moments. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Splendia, Despegar.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your Hotel Ciutat de Girona reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Ciutat de Girona, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.