We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Well located and appointed” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Ciutat de Girona

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Ciutat de Girona to your Saves list
Hotel Ciutat de Girona
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   C Nord 2 Esquina Hortes, 17001 Girona, Spain   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 22 Hotels in Girona
Certificate of Excellence 2014
San Francisco, California
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Well located and appointed”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We stayed here overnight in conjunction with a dinner at El Cellar. The hotel was well placed and we could walk to all sites and other restaurnets. It was a perfect way to include some other sightseeing .

  • Stayed March 2015, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

531 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    308
    169
    42
    6
    6
See reviews for
52
302
16
32
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (42)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Vetlanda, Sweden
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Nice hotel located in the old part of Girona. Close to many restaurants. I have stayed here a couple of times in the past years and the rooms starts to wear down a bit compared to the first time but still very clean rooms. will continue to stay here when in Girona!

  • Stayed March 2015, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

2 nights and a nice break from Barcelona.
The location is perfect and you can explore the whole old city by walk. Really close to amazing restaurants.
The pool is nothing one would expect from the pictures, it is actually tucked in the basement. Didnt even dare to go in. The room was nice ans spacious but didnt have a window! Weird!

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sitges, Spain
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2015

Miguel at the desk and cleaning staff very friendly and helpful. Hotel and dining room beautiful.
Unfortunately this beautiful hotel has an arrogant breakfast staff.
We paid for an expensive ( and good ) breakfast.
But 15 minutes before the closing for guest to START their breakfast, the two staff began a demonstration of noisy moving of furniture, clanking loudly with cutlery, obviously trying to clear us out of the breakfast room. When I asked politely if they would please make less noise and allow us to eat in some peace, they laughed at me and continued.
A very unpleasant breakfast experience!
Please! Allow the last guests at least 1/2 hour of peace before this extreme noise and clamour.

  • Stayed March 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Esther S, Gerente at Hotel Ciutat de Girona, responded to this review, March 23, 2015
Dear Sr.
Would you mind if you sending us more information about that day by email ?
It would be really helpful for us if you could tell us the exactly date.
You can send it at direccio@hotelciutatdegirona.com
Thank you in advance
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 9, 2015

I have stayed in this hotel twice in the past few months on business nearby and would recommend it.Bang in the middle of town and the town is one of the nicest places I have visited.
The hotel is on the corner of a street that is frquesnted by locals for drinks and shopping until late in the night. No noise issues as the Spanish can enjoy themselves without making a racket unlike us English folk.
A small courtesy fridge in each room which is reasonably priced and the hotel bar is a nice area to relax. There is a small terrace outside to enjoy the atmosphere and people watch while you have a drink or two.
Lovely staff in the hotel and the rooms are spotless. Free wifi with a ticket from reception which is always handy.
The town square with nice places to eat for all budgets is just around the corner and again, sit back and enjoy the ambiance until well into the small hours.
The hotel has a small spa area but I did not have time to visit it but the pictures in the hotel looked like it was worth a visit.
The main shopping area is about a hundred yards away over the river and is extremely friendly.
No all day full english breakfasts or red lion pub Karaokes, a nice Spanish town to relax in.

Room Tip: no preference which room to have, I have not had one with much of a view but they were both great.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brighton, United Kingdom
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 6, 2015

Perfect location (right next to Gustave Eiffel's bridge) and wonderful staff.
I have to point out that the breakfast was brilliant. Proper coffee rather than the disgusting sludge so many other hotels serve up and a normal toaster that doesn't take up half of your holiday whilst you wait for a piece of bread to turn beige! Well done guys!

  • Stayed January 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tokyo, Japan
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 4, 2015

When I checked in, a guest was complaining about the internet access as it was not working. I asked about the WiFi information and the receptionist gave me the password. It didn't work when I got to the room. After taking a walk for a couple of hours, I could not still have access to internet. I called the front desk about the WiFi problem, and the receptionist said he can give me another code, but there was no WiFi signal. He said he would come back to me for an update, but there was no follow-up.
Next day when I checked out, I complained about the WiFi problem. A lady at the front desk was apologizing.
The room was clean and breakfast was decent. I talked with another guest at a breakfast and she also complained about no access to internet.
I don't think it's worth paying for USD160 a night for a B&B without WiFi access. There will be better option elswhere.

Room Tip: If you want to stay online, look for another hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2015, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Ciutat de Girona? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Ciutat de Girona

Address: C Nord 2 Esquina Hortes, 17001 Girona, Spain
Location: Spain > Catalonia > Province of Girona > Girona
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 22 Hotels in Girona
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Ciutat de Girona 4*
Number of rooms: 44
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Ciutat de Girona is located in the most symbolic, historical and cultural heart of Girona. Surrounded by the most charismatic buildings and the best shopping in the city.The hotel combines a modern style and it is decorated with pictures of the most representative places of Girona. It is equipped with last generation facilities. Among its services you can find and indoor swimming pool and a indoor cycling. In the lobby you will find "the corner of the musician" where you can have a glass of moscatell ( sweet wine) and some nuts to make your arrival at the Hotel a special moment.Hotel Ciutat de Girona is an option to enjoy an exquisite treatment and exclusive facilities in the heart of the city. These and many other details will fill your stay with pleasant surprises. Hotel Ciutat de Girona aims to achieve maximum customer satisfaction. This is why our priority is to work to adapt to the uses, traditions and tastes of each of our clients. This purpose is achieved thanks to bi-directional teamwork of all the teams that are part of the Hotel, both in his daily task and other moments. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Priceline, Splendia, Despegar.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your Hotel Ciutat de Girona reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Ciutat de Girona, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.