We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Authentic Mexican Food in Spain!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Maguey

Maguey
Cort Reial 1, 17004 Girona, Spain
659695631
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #53 of 365 Restaurants in Girona
Cuisines: Mexican
Dining options: Reservations, Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations, Late Night
St. Louis, Missouri
Top Contributor
74 reviews 74 reviews
49 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
51 helpful votes 51 helpful votes
“Authentic Mexican Food in Spain!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2013

My husband and I LOVE Mexican food and wanted to satisfy our craving, so when we found Maguey we thought we'd give it a try. We ended up eating at this restaurant twice during our stay in Girona. All the lovely women that run the place are super friendly and our spunky server was high spirited and spoke English well. All of the food we had was very good, we especially liked the carnita tacos. The second night the restaurant was offering a fixed menu which we shared. The meal came with a beverage (cervesa included), rice, beans , 4 different cooked meats (meatballs, chicken, pork, and beef), tortillas, and fabulous dessert, all for 20 Euros each. All of the meat dishes were prepared in different styles with great sauces and was really delicious. The three milks cake and fudge balls with chocolate syrup for dessert were incredible too. We greatly enjoyed our meals at Maguey and would recommed this restaurant to anyone who wants something a little bit different during their vacation.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

72 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    38
    19
    8
    3
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Delicious mexican food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2013

We went with a group of friends, and suggested by the waitress, we took some dishes to share like nachos (I really would prefer a bigger plate because were delicious!), quesadillas and other typical mexican dishes. The place is small but the staff is really friendly and welcoming.
I recomend it!

  • Visited October 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belfast
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
54 helpful votes 54 helpful votes
“Nice change from Spanish food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2013 via mobile

Girona has some of the best food I have ever had. We decided to try something different on our 5th night out. Food was good and service exceptionally friendly in this authentic Mexican. Give it a go if you need a bit of a break from gorgeous tapas

  • Visited July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Durham, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Great food, nice to talk to people who make it!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 15, 2013

Visited Maguey on a very wet Wednesday lunch time. Staff were friendly and were happy to accommodate any variant of menu to suit our taste and hunger levels. Atmosphere was authentic and didn't try too hard, food did the talking. Very subtle background music added to atmosphere and we stayed for drinks well after our food was finished. Genuine staff and genuine food.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eastbourne, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
“Excellent food!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 27, 2013

Found this little gem on a stopover in Girona. It was cold and wet day by Spanish standards when we were there but the welcome from everyone in the restaurant was very warm and welcoming. Tried a number of dishes and they were all excellent. Would have no hesitation in highly recommending!

  • Visited April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Maguey also viewed

Girona, Province of Girona
 
Girona, Province of Girona
Girona, Province of Girona
 

Been to Maguey? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Maguey, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.