We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice change from Spanish food” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Maguey

Maguey
Cort Reial 1, 17004 Girona, Spain
659695631
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #53 of 365 Restaurants in Girona
Cuisines: Mexican
Dining options: Reservations, Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations, Late Night
Belfast
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
54 helpful votes 54 helpful votes
“Nice change from Spanish food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2013 via mobile

Girona has some of the best food I have ever had. We decided to try something different on our 5th night out. Food was good and service exceptionally friendly in this authentic Mexican. Give it a go if you need a bit of a break from gorgeous tapas

  • Visited July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

72 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    38
    19
    8
    3
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Durham, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Great food, nice to talk to people who make it!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 15, 2013

Visited Maguey on a very wet Wednesday lunch time. Staff were friendly and were happy to accommodate any variant of menu to suit our taste and hunger levels. Atmosphere was authentic and didn't try too hard, food did the talking. Very subtle background music added to atmosphere and we stayed for drinks well after our food was finished. Genuine staff and genuine food.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eastbourne, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
“Excellent food!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 27, 2013

Found this little gem on a stopover in Girona. It was cold and wet day by Spanish standards when we were there but the welcome from everyone in the restaurant was very warm and welcoming. Tried a number of dishes and they were all excellent. Would have no hesitation in highly recommending!

  • Visited April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Elgin
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
“Great Find in Girona!!!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 12, 2013

My colleague and I stumbled upon this restaurant looking for a place for a get a decent meal. Being in Spain, and eating Mexican was not what we had expected, but as business travelers the place looked comfortable enough, and we liked that we could see the kitchen. Being from the United States, we didnt have expectations, as great mexican food can be found. We started by ordering some pork tacos, and OMG they were GREAT! The waiter, who i think was the owner recommended a dish that i can only describe as a steak type burrito with fundito on it. When it came out, it was basically a big plate of the meal, with tortillas on the side to make your own burrito. I can honestly say this may have been one of the best mexican main dishes i have eaten, and certainly was the best meal i had on the trip. Service was great, food was great, prices reasonable. I would highly recommend.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Girona, Spain
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Authentic mexican gastronomy”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2012

I love mexican restaurants but started to think all of them were tex-mex style outside from Mexico, but I found this hidden gem in the center of Girona: authentic mexican cuisine made with honesty and respect for their roots and traditions.

I got nachos with chili and meat, pibil toast with macerated chicken, citrics and spices (delicious and different). The toast is a fried blue tortilla (and that's the original color, believe it or not).

Friendy and efficient service. Eva and Arturo achieved their dream of having a mexican restaurant and do it right. Congrats!!!

  • Visited October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Maguey also viewed

Girona, Province of Girona
 
Girona, Province of Girona
Girona, Province of Girona
 

Been to Maguey? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Maguey, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.