We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Take the walk along the ruins of the old town” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Museu d'Arqueologia de Catalunya

Museu d'Arqueologia de Catalunya
Placa de Santa Llucia, s/n | Monestir de Sant Pere de Galligants, 17007 Girona, Spain
972 20 26 32
Improve this listing
Ranked #19 of 30 attractions in Girona
Type: History Museums, Historic Sites
Attraction Details
San Francisco
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
26 attraction reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Take the walk along the ruins of the old town”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2013

I didn't make it into the Museu but I did the long walk following the red "Arqueologia" line on the tourist map and it was great (and free.) Like Pompeii you get a real sense of walking in the footsteps of the ghosts from eons before. Huge chunks of the city's old wall are just frozen in time exactly where they fell during the battles they endured.

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

18 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    7
    6
    4
    1
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
manchester
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
7 attraction reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Good Exhibition - Shame about the Chapel”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2013

Was keen to see the Monastery Chapel which is ancient and atmospheric. Arrived at opening time (10.30) and did manage to see it for two minutes before the lights were turned off due to some Son et Lumiere thing. Visited the exhibition instead which is very interesting (tho' I agree about the Catalan texts), but have good museums where I live with lots of Roman and pre-history artefacts. Very disappointed about the chapel, as were an elderly American couple at the same time who had come especially to see it. I believe the Light Show thing is due to finish (? November),so will go next time!
Btw - gift shop looked good!

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Museu de'Arqueologia de Catalunya”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2013

Really interesting and well presented, gave a fascinating history of the site and city of Barcelona and not too crowded.

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bethesda, Gwynedd UK
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
27 attraction reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Free for kids”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2013

Nice piece of history and good lesson for kids. They had masks for children so me girls still remember the place.

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vilanova i la Geltru, Spain
Top Contributor
67 reviews 67 reviews
19 attraction reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
“Super exhibition with Roman artifacts.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 12, 2013

Really lovely, free to walk round, shame all the texts were in Catalan, had to use imagination. They could have put it in Spanish, at least.

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Museu d'Arqueologia de Catalunya also viewed

 

Been to Museu d'Arqueologia de Catalunya? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Museu d'Arqueologia de Catalunya, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Museu d'Arqueologia de Catalunya to your Saves list