We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Our favourite in Girona” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Peninsular

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Peninsular to your Saves list
Hotel Peninsular
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Avda Sant Francesc 6, 17001 Girona, Spain   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #13 of 22 Hotels in Girona
Barcelona, Spain
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
38 hotel reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Our favourite in Girona”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2013

Over the years we've stayed in several different hotels in Girona but having stayed at The
Peninsular that's where we'll go in future.The location is excellent and the rooms are very nice.
There is a good breakfast too.Parking near the hotel can be a problem and rather expensive.
However, they do have ONE parking space very near the hotel which is reserved for their own
vehicle.This space is sometimes available for one of the clients ( for 12 euros ) so when checking in, ask whether it's free.You may be lucky as we were on our last visit.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

264 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    56
    144
    46
    12
    6
See reviews for
24
127
13
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2013

This hotel had nice comfy rooms and very friendly service. The front desk clerk advised us there was no parking onsite but he took the time to explain how much street parking costs and when we had to pay and when it was free (generally all day Sunday). The only issue we had was that the hot water for a shower takes a while to reach your room if u shower when other people in the hotel are not (ie around midday). Also, there was no kettle, tea or coffee in the room and no iron/ironing board. Soap and shampoo (but not conditioner) were provided. Overall if you are looking for something clean and close to the old city this is a good hotel to stay in. The breakfast buffet was €8 with good variety. However, there is a great locals cafe across the road where we ate extra long baguettes with our own choice of filling for only €3.50.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Monica, California
Top Contributor
65 reviews 65 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
113 helpful votes 113 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2013 via mobile

An easy 8-9 minute leisurely walk from the bus and train stations, the hotel's location is also literally 20 metres from one of the short bridges to the Old Town, which is charming and where you will want to be.

The hotel itself is fine, nothing spectacular nor troubling to report. Easy and easy-going and pleasant staff.

I will definitely stay again when I return to Girona. Recommended.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baltimore, Maryland
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2013

The rooms were beautiful and fairly large by European standards. The location of the hotel was perfect for exploring Girona. The breakfast was delicious and the staff was very helpful. I would highly recommend this hotel to anyone visiting Girona.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Franklin, North Carolina
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2013

Just spent three nights at the Peninsular with a group of folks.

Good points: very clean, excellent location, reasonable price. You are withing easy walking distance of the Old Town of Giraona. Our group had really early flights and the hotel opened the buffet breakfast just for us at 5:30 am. This was very much appreciated

Not so good points: beds are really firm, actually hard. If you have back problems you should probably look somewhere else. Our group always had cocktails before dinner and getting adequate ice was an issue. This was an unusual occurance for me. A minor one but some folks got a bit miffed at this. Rooms located at the front of the hotel were pretty noisey. I would suggest asking for a room away from the street. These rooms were very quiet.

Overall, a good choice for you while in Girona.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle, England, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
98 reviews 98 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2013

We stayed at the Hotel Peninsular for one evening, the staff were very helpful despite our late arrival. It was the perfect location for exploring Girona, walking distance to all local attractions and sights. Lovely breakfast to start the day, a range of items. Rooms were clean, quiet and comfortable, only thing I would ask for is more electric points, only one socket in the whole room. Lovely stay, thank you.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxford, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2013

One of the best Hotels I have stayed in for the price. I went at a busy time of year and had a great room. Very classy. Went to the restaurant once for lunch. One of the best I have ever had and not expensive. Simple tasty and healthy.

Room Tip: I only stayed in one but it was a high standard. Single bed quite narrow.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jaime A, Front Office Manager at Hotel Peninsular, responded to this review, June 6, 2013
Dear Guest,

It is an honor for us that you have given us such positive review of our services. Indeed, we try that our quality / price is the best we can offer. We are also receiving a lot of good feedback for our daily menu deals at lunchtime, where you can enjoy a great meal for 10 to 12€.

Our most affectionate greeting,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Peninsular? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Peninsular

Address: Avda Sant Francesc 6, 17001 Girona, Spain
Location: Spain > Catalonia > Province of Girona > Girona
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 22 Hotels in Girona
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Peninsular 3*
Number of rooms: 45
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA, Booking.com and Tingo so you can book your Hotel Peninsular reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Peninsular Hotel Girona

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Peninsular, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.