We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great, unpretentious, hotel in the heart of Girona” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Condal

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Condal to your Saves list
Condal
1.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Joan Maragall, 10, 17002 Girona, Spain   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #8 of 22 Hotels in Girona
Dublin, Ireland
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Great, unpretentious, hotel in the heart of Girona”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2012

Finding this hotel reiterated to me why Trip Advisor is so good - we'd arrived in Girona looking for somewhere cheap but nice to stay for a couple of days. Reading the reviews of this hotel gave a very accurate picture of what we found: the hotel is basic and unpretentious; but friendly staff, scrupulously clean and pleasant rooms, and a great location within easy walking distance of the mediaeval heart of the city made this an ideal place to stay for us. Our room was compact, but still big enough for two people, it had a modern, bright bathroom, and our window had a nice view out onto the city. When we come back to Girona we will almost certainly stay here again.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

93 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    24
    49
    18
    1
    1
See reviews for
11
43
17
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
ireland
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
86 helpful votes 86 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 25, 2012

We stayed for four nights at the Condal Hotel, and choose to stay there due to location and price. Five minutes walk from the bus and train stations made it perfectly placed especially for our early morning flight to Girona airport. The return ticket for the bus was only €5, takes half an hour, and start at 5am. The hotel is really central for sightseeing also.

The Condal was perfect for our needs, the room was fine with a double bed, and the bathroom was spotless. There was a large shower instead of a bath, and a hairdryer was supplied. Even though there are no tea/coffee making facilities, there are vending machines on the first floor. You can buy a voucher at reception for breakfast at ‘besCuit’ across the road. It’s €3 for a juice + a selection of croissants + tea/coffee. There’s a very good WiFi signal, including in the bedrooms.

The only negative we experienced was the road noise. We were on the 4th floor, but at the front and as the hotel is located at a very busy junction there was a lot of noise from the traffic. We got used to it, and it didn’t interfere with sleeping, but having said that I would request a room at the back of the hotel next time.

Room Tip: Request a room away from traffic noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ballymena
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
37 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 11, 2012

This hotel was very very basic but very very clean and from that point of view a 4* two star. it was more like a hostel but a good one. we stayed there for 3 nights in February and it suited our purpose at the time. we were spending each day with friends so only using it to sleep in. Staff were very accommodating and got us anything we asked for our needed. No breakfast provided but hotel sells tickets/vouchers for little cafe across the road which is very good and breakfast is cheap. extremely central. Would stay here again if I was not staying with my friends. Would have loved a kettle etc. for a cup of tea/coffee in the morning!!!!

Room Tip: High up room probably less noisy
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
86 reviews 86 reviews
79 hotel reviews
Reviews in 72 cities Reviews in 72 cities
132 helpful votes 132 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 3, 2012

I stayed at the Hotel Condal for three nights in early April, having stayed there once before, four years previously. In terms of value for money, I would give this hotel a very high rating (I paid 107 Euros for the three nights). I really have no negative comments to make but would endorse all those made by previous reviewers. My room was at the back of the hotel, so I wasn't disturbed by noise from the street, as one reviewer appears to have been. I found the staff on reception unfailingly polite and helpful. My single room, though small, was attractively furnished and the bed was very comfortable. The bathroom was also fine, though I found the shower a little difficult to manoeuvre in. There was always plenty of hot water. The hotel offer free wi-fi Internet access in all the rooms and there is also satellite TV, though I could find only one English language channel (BBC World). In terms of location, the hotel could hardly be more convenient: it is a very short (i.e. 5 minute) walk from the main train and 'bus station and, in the opposite direction, the same distance from the historic town centre. All in all, I wouldn't hesitate to stay at the Condal again and to recommend it to travellers looking for top value for money in terms of accommodation.

Room Tip: Ask for a room at the back as the rooms facing the street may be rather noisy even at night.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2011

Very good location, close to everything (shops, Old Town, river, restaurants, train station etc).Went to Girona for a short,weekend break. Staff was very helpful and friendly. Our room was basic(didn't spend too much time there anyway), but very clean and wasn't noisy at all. Not a five star hotel, BUT for the price,I have to say it was an excellent choice!! If we ever go back to Girona, we'll stay there again!

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rhode island
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 16, 2010

We stayed here based on reviews on Tripadvisor. Great location, superior cleanliness, good size room, friendly staff, and great rate. It is a 5 minute easy walk from the train station and a 5 minute walk to Old Town. The hotel does not serve breakfast or dinner but food is within a 5 minute walk. If you are going to stay in Girona don't miss this hotel.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scotland
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 30, 2010

Pro's: Brilliant location for sight seeing and close to the bus/train station. The room was basic but comfortable and very clean. Definitely worth 69 euros per night.
Cons: Situated on a very busy road and the double glazing didn't do the trick.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Condal? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Condal

Address: Joan Maragall, 10, 17002 Girona, Spain
Location: Spain > Catalonia > Province of Girona > Girona
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
#11 Romantic Hotel in Girona
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:1 star — Condal 1*
Number of rooms: 38
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline and Despegar.com so you can book your Condal reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Condal Hotel Girona

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Condal, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.