We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Really good restaurant” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Txalaka

Txalaka
C/ Bonastruc de Porta, 4 | 17001, 17001 Girona, Spain
972 225 975
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #37 of 377 Restaurants in Girona
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Cuisines: Spanish
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Turin, Italy
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Really good restaurant”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2013

Good basque restaurant in Girona. The tapas were awesome and cheap 1,60 €.
The dishes were good, maybe just a little bit too expensive to be in Spain.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

161 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    60
    77
    14
    8
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Wisconsin
Top Contributor
259 reviews 259 reviews
134 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 138 cities Reviews in 138 cities
161 helpful votes 161 helpful votes
“Good Variety of Pintxos”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 8, 2013

I love to bring my guests to Txalaka as they have a good variety of pintxos (small bites) for 1,60 euro each. Even the dishes of olives and the desserts are the same price. I wouldn't say it is the best value for money in Girona, but I think it is a great way to try a variety of tastes. I don't enjoy the seats as there are many that are just stools, but the atmosphere is nice and the staff friendly. I'd recommend it to anyone.

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Fantastic tapas, lovely restaurant”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 10, 2012

We went to this restaurant the second last night of our stay in Girona, and loved it so much that we had to go back again for our final dinner there (Corsaro was our second choice). The tapas were 1.60Eur each, and were just delicious. Little mushrooms, fish ceviche, bread with cheese and quince jelly, sausages, seafood salad stuffed in roasted peppers. The desserts were great too.
If only their cider had been sold by the glass, I'd have been in seventh heaven. As it was, I enjoyed the "clara" (shandy).
I can't recommend this place highly enough. This was probably our favourite restaurant of this trip.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perpignan, France
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Very good quality / price”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 2, 2012

Everything was fresh and tasty, with a lot of choice. It was very close from our hotel Gran Ultonia where we got the tip, and I don't think we could find better, really good Spanish food.

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Holmfirth, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
75 reviews 75 reviews
44 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
51 helpful votes 51 helpful votes
“Good tapas”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2012

Absolutely full of locals and that says everything. Excellent choice of tapas and wines at reasonable prices

Visited March 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Txalaka also viewed

 
Girona, Province of Girona
Girona, Province of Girona
 

Been to Txalaka? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Txalaka, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.