We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Modern Spanish with interesting menu & quality ingredients” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Llevataps

Llevataps
Placa de l'Oli 1, 17004 Girona, Spain
972099112
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #23 of 360 restaurants in Girona
Cuisines: Mediterranean, Spanish, Tapas
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Late Night
Sydney, Australia
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Modern Spanish with interesting menu & quality ingredients”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 31, 2012

We select this restaurant based on recommendations here in Trip Advisor, and weren't disappointed. Great central location. Arriving fairly late on a Tuesday evening there was plenty of empty tables, but the small venue felt comfortable & intimate rather than empty, and has nice modern decor with indoor brickwork etc.

We opted for a selection of entrees as tapas rather than a series of different courses, and this worked beautifully. We chose 5, which our waitress advised us would be plenty of food. She wasn't wrong - 3/4 would have been ample, especially if we'd wanted room for dessert / cheese! They thoughtfully prepared the dishes at staggered times so we could one or two at a time rather than throwing everything at us together.

All the dishes were beautifully presented, with interesting menu choices such as salmon sashimi served with black sesame seeds and a strawberry reduction. Everything we ate impressed us - high quality ingredients (sourced locally according to the menu), great portion sizes (for two sharing several dishes) and thoughtful service.

We drank a beautifully smooth bottle of Cercium 2009 (Grenache, Syrah, Samso) with our meal. Their wine list is great, although only offering a limited selection by the glass - the wine we chose is one of the ones available by the glass, and it was great!

  • Visited August 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

101 reviews from our community

82% Recommend
    51
    33
    8
    6
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
dungarvan
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“good restaurant”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2012

The food was really nice, the service was very efficient and the wine was delicious. Menu also in English which helped us.Menu states that the ingredients are sourced from the local area. This was a good experience.

Visited July 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anchorage, Alaska
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Great experience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2012

We went there twice and look forward to more visits when we visit Gerona. Food is great, inventive, fresh, beautifully presented. Service was excellent. The location is great, right in a center of the old town, the decor is modern and smart. Make sure to try the Creme Catalan dessert!!!! Prices are very reasonable

  • Visited July 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Excellent experience!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2012

We enjoyed our experience so much we returned the next day to try more of the wonderful food. The cheese plate we had for desert on both days and it was some of the best cheeses ever!
Chairs need to be more comfortable.

  • Visited June 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Top Contributor
316 reviews 316 reviews
266 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
257 helpful votes 257 helpful votes
“Nice picturesque restaurant in the centre of Girona”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 31, 2012

Located in the centre of Girona, this restaurant oozes a quirky wine-celler-type-vibe.

This was our first night in Girona and after a tiring flight we decided to take easy and eat here (upon TA research and consulting with our hotel).

We decided to skip the main and desserts and solely focus on the starters. We went for the Salmon tartar (8/10), Cod tartar (7/10), Foie bonbons (9/10), Mozarella salad with raw mushroom and tomatoes (8/10), Cheese platter (8/10) and the Squid with chantarelle mushrooms and egg on top (9/10). As others have mentioned, the quality of the produce is very good and it shows in the dishes.

They don't do that many wines by the glass, but the ones they do have by the glass are quite nice. In all we paid about 70 Euros.

  • Visited May 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Llevataps also viewed

Girona, Province of Girona
Girona, Province of Girona
 
Girona, Province of Girona
Girona, Province of Girona
 

Been to Llevataps? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Llevataps, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.