We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Convenient hotel in a quiet location” 4 of 5 stars
Review of DoubleTree by Hilton Girona

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added DoubleTree by Hilton Girona to your Saves list
DoubleTree by Hilton Girona
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Joan Pons, 1, 17001 Girona, Spain (Formerly URH Girona)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Breakfast & Wifi
Ranked #5 of 22 Hotels in Girona
Bucks
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Convenient hotel in a quiet location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2013

Staff were very helpful and professional even recommending beaches to visit. Room and bathroom were clean and stylish although not large and there was a hardly any storage - in our case a real negative but the only one. Great balcony though.

We were 2 women staying on our own and always felt safe walking to and from the centre of Girona which was only 10/15 mins away.

We would certainly recommend this hotel.

Room Tip: Ask for a quiet room which we did at the back of the hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

258 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    78
    143
    28
    8
    1
See reviews for
26
154
6
19
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Chester, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2013

We stayed at this hotel for 2 night in August 2013. It is very clean and modern and the rooms are spacious and bright. Staff were friendly and efficient. The best feature by far is the roof top pool which has some great views over the mountains. There are only 6 sun-loungers which seems a little off but other than that it was fine. It takes about 10 mins to walk into the centre which can be through the tree-lined park which is just behind the hotel.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2013 via mobile

I normally stay here for business because its location is good for me. Also, it's quite modern and having stayed in other hotels in Girona this one works for me.

The restaurant is good but always seems quite empty and a bit cold. The pool isn't heated so not for use for the feint hearted in the winter! If you want to take some exercise there is a park close by where you can run.

The walk to town is 10/15mins and definitely worth it.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The Hague, The Netherlands
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2013

Me and my husband really enjoyed the stay at this hotel. Staff was friendly and efficient. Our room was great. Really comfortable, clean and stylish. Also a really good size and the most comfortable beds I have ever slept in in a hotel. Not sure if the aircon worked or not as it did not get very cold. For us it was really ok though, we don't need an ice cold room. And because the hotel is in a really quiet neighborhood you can also leave the window open.

The rooftop pool was really nice and adequate in size. The bar was also nice but a bit expensive. We haven't been to the restaurant and did not have breakfast there, so I can't say anything about that.

The only negative we can really come up with is the distance to the city centre, so for restaurants, you had to walk for about 15/20 min. The good thing is, that the area feels very safe, so coming back late at night is not an issue.

For us it was still perfect though as we had a rental car to discover the coast for 3 days and didn't have to walk to the centre every day. There is also plenty of free parking in the area and a big supermarket just around the corner.

Would definitely recommend the hotel!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southport, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 7, 2013

We stayed at URH Girona from Monday - Friday at the start of September. The glorious late summer weather allowed us to make full use of the small but adequate rooftop pool & terrace bar facilities. It was a pity the rooftop bar only opens Thursday - Sunday from the start of September or we'd have been up there every night! Thursday night was an al fresco film night with a couple of old classics being projected on a large screen. 
We had days out at Tossa De Mar & a rather quieter, picturesque beach at Sa Conca which is reached through an exclusive, gated estate of villas hidden behind high fences & security cameras.  Both destinations are within 45 minutes drive and well worth the trip. 
We can highly recommend  the URH Hotel. The decor is tasteful, modern & quite 'funky'. Everywhere is very clean and the staff were unfailingly polite & helpful. Our 4th floor room overlooked the street but it was well soundproofed and the beds were as comfortable as any hotel beds I've ever slept in. The hotel food was also spot on. It is worth taking the bed & breakfast option with plenty of choice in a pleasant dining room. We also ate from the lunchtime a la carte menu before leaving for the airport. 
The hotel is on the edge of the city centre but it is a pleasant enough 10-15 minute walk to the main attractions. We ate tapas at Xic on the Placa Independencia. Prices were very reasonable, the food was excellent and the service friendly. By contrast, we emailed El Celler De Can Roca which is rated the 'best restaurant in the world' but we are unable to rate it as we didn't get the courtesy of a response. 
As documented elsewhere on Tripadvisor, there is plenty to see in the historic city of Girona and we will definitely be booking our Ryanair flights for a repeat city & beach break next year. 

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2013 via mobile

This hotel seemed to offer everyrhing that we needed as first time travellers to Girona, but in some ways it disapponted...
Comfortable, clean and fresh rooms, but somehow the bar and restaurant did not live up to expectations....lacking character or choice and pricey!
Our stay did not start well with probkems with the lifts which were not explained by reception, and caused us a lot of unnecessary frustration.
Overall though, it was a pleasant stay.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2013 via mobile

Great modern, well designed fresh rooms. Very clean, we did have two single beds pushed together as other reviews state instead of one double but didnt bother us. Pool isnt huge but is a lovely place to relax. Films shown on a night on the roof terrace and bar open, great atmosphere and views.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to DoubleTree by Hilton Girona? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about DoubleTree by Hilton Girona

Address: Joan Pons, 1, 17001 Girona, Spain (Formerly URH Girona)
Phone Number:
Location: Spain > Catalonia > Province of Girona > Girona
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 22 Hotels in Girona
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — DoubleTree by Hilton Girona 4*
Number of rooms: 115
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set in the heart of charming Girona, the contemporary DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Girona is close to the Auditorium and Congress Center and a leisurely ten minute walk from downtown Girona. The exit to the highway is easily reached from our elegant Girona hotel. El Celler de Can Roca - voted the finest restaurant in the world by The World's 50 Best Restaurants is just a five minute walk away and popular Girona attractions, including the Jewish Quarter, Girona Cathedral and the Arab Baths are all just a short distance from our stylish hotel. Enjoy spacious accommodations, fantastic amenities and a warm welcome from our dedicated staff. You'll even be greeted with a signature DoubleTree chocolate chip cookie when you check-in. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Despegar.com and Agoda so you can book your DoubleTree by Hilton Girona reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage DoubleTree by Hilton Girona, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.