We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic experience & very helpful staff” 5 of 5 stars
Review of BikeBreaks Girona Day Tours

BikeBreaks Girona Day Tours
Girona Cycle Centre | 14 Carrer Mercaders, 17004 Girona, Spain
0034 972205465
Website
Improve this listing
Certificate of Excellence 2014
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: BIKE BREAKS, the Girona Cycle Centre is operated and owned by the husband and wife team of Dave and Saskia who have lived in the Girona area, providing mountain bike holidays, road bike holidays, touring bike trips and guiding services for many years. Both are avid riders and qualified guides and regularly compete in both local cross country races and European cup downhill marathon competitions.Their aim; to create a ´one stop shop´ of services and information for visiting cyclists and local riders alike, anyone who wants to ride in the Girona area. From bike hire or equipment hire, day trips, Bike shop, shower facility, private guiding service to all-in cycle holiday packages and everything in between… we can help.Anything do to with cycling in Girona ... come to us..!!!
Brussels, Belgium
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Fantastic experience & very helpful staff”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 27, 2014

We rented two hybrid bikes for a six day cycling trip from Bike Breaks. The staff was extremely friendly and helpful. We had decided to cycle the Pirinexus. As the route only opened in 2013, there were no detailed maps available yet; nevertheless, the staff could give us some useful tips and advise for the first stages of our trip. The bikes were in an excellent condition and a repair kit, pump and pannier bags were included in the price. Bike Breaks was also very flexible and accommodating regarding the pick-up and drop-off of the bikes. Whilst cycling the Pirinexus, we could leave some stuff in secure lockers for six days while and upon our return were given all the time we needed to re-pack and sort out our things. There are also shower and coffee facilities in the shop that can be used against a small fee. Overall, our experience was excellent and we highly recommend Bike Breaks (and the Pirinexus)!

Visited April 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

128 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    121
    5
    1
    1
    0
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Eindhoven, The Netherlands
2 reviews
“Excellent bikes, friendly and helpful staff”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 10, 2013

I Reserved 2 road bikes for a day. Everything could be arranged over mail and at the the day itself just walk in with your pedals and gear, they'll mount the pedals on a bike of your size and you're ready to go. Excellent tips on cycling routes and flexible in when you return the bikes. Thanks for a great day of cycling!

Visited December 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Attleborough, England, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Fantastic experience.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 16, 2013 via mobile

We decided on a short break to Girona based on cheap flights and the hope of a little warm weather. We enjoy cycling and happened upon Bike Breaks/ Girona Cycle Centre by accident whilst planning our trip. The scenery in and around Girona is stunning, so what better way to see it than on bikes?
We hired bikes for 3 days from the Girona Cycle Centre. Dave, Saskia and Annie were all extremely friendly, helpful and very knowledgable and experienced cyclists.
On our first day we treated ourselves to a guide and spent the day in the company of Neil Martin, a lovely guy and excellent guide (cycling pro, former Olympian). We were able to choose how far we went etc. We chose to ride to the coast (around 65miles/105km) and despite thinking I didn't do hills, we had a fantastic day. Well worth the money.
For our second day we opted to do the shop ride and coffee stop. More stunning scenery and amazing company. Whoever is available rides. We were joined by Neil again, Saskia from the Cycle Centre, local riders, another tourist and a rather well known young lady, Lucy Martin (GB ladies Olympic silver medal team).
On our last day we decided to buy one of the route guides and go off on our own. We chose one of the most complicated routes, but the guide book was very clear and easy to navigate with.
All in all we've had a fantastic few days and would recommend Bike Breaks/ Girona Cycle Centre.

Visited November 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charleston, South Carolina
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
17 attraction reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“Best day of vacation!!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2013

My wife and I are avid cyclists and wanted to experience a great day of riding. All shop employees were friendly and very helpful. Dave set up our bikes perfectly. We hired a guide so that my wife would be comfortable on the roads and the downhills. Neil was a perfect guide, encouraging and supportive and an all around great guy. Girona is such a great place to ride with careful car drivers and great choice of rides. We fell in love with Girona and the cycling. We will be back and will use Bikebreaks again and again. Great experience!!!

Visited November 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Oregon, United States
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Bike Tour of the Costa Brava”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2013

My husband and I just returned from an amazing trip to Spain. We spent the second week of October, 2013, cycling through Catalunya. We rented bikes from the Girona Cycle Center. They provided us with bikes, maps, directions and hotel reservations and sent us on our way! They did a wonderful job of picking out some really neat places to see and visit as we pedaled our way from Girona to the Costa Brava, north to Empuries (near Roses) and back down to Girona again. I wish I was still there :)

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed BikeBreaks Girona Day Tours also viewed

 
Girona, Province of Girona
Girona, Province of Girona
 

Been to BikeBreaks Girona Day Tours? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage BikeBreaks Girona Day Tours, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.