We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A very nice hotel in a very nice city!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Gran Ultonia Girona

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Gran Ultonia Girona to your Saves list
Hotel Gran Ultonia Girona
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Gran Via de Jaume I, 22, 17001 Girona, Spain   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #7 of 22 Hotels in Girona
Ottawa
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
47 hotel reviews
Reviews in 47 cities Reviews in 47 cities
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
“A very nice hotel in a very nice city!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2012

Stayed two nights. Very clean. Modern layout. Free safe. Small fridge but no coffee machine. A/C worked well. Good service at front desk. Free wifi plus two computers in the lobby. Hotel parking is a bit tricky to find. Hotel itslef though is very well located close to the old town. Supermarket nearby, also a decent pizza place (Telepizza). Treat yourself to a night or two in Girona; you will not regret it. Offers peace and quiet after the hustle and bustle of Barcelona. Quaint old town and Jewish quarter. Very lively. Beautiful cathedral also.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

288 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    119
    133
    25
    4
    7
See reviews for
45
152
8
20
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (33)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Derby, England, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2012

Stayed here on business and will be back again soon. Cracking location 5minute stroll to the square and the foot bridges that take you to the old town. The decor and fittings were perfect and the room was spotlessly clean. Breakfast was standard European fair which was great. There is also quite an impressive roof top bar. Great hotel.....

Room Tip: I may be wrong but think there are 2wings to the hotel the Gran wing I believe is of a higher standa...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2012 via mobile

The hotel is very central, close to the old city, close to the bus and railway station, close to some fine restaurants. Really a fine location. Our room was large, comfortable, air conditioned with all the usual bathroom bits and bobs.
Maybe a kettle would be handy for that early morning coffee but we had to leave so early for our plane I might not have had time anyway.
The Reception staff were really helpful and all spoke English.
Although you are next to the railway line, the room we had was sound proof.
It is a hotel well worth a second visit!

Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2012

Stayed at Gran Ultonia 4* Hotel as part of Catalonia cycling tour. Hotel gave us access to the bikes that were stored in the hotel garage, as a result, ended up riding to Els Angels before start of tour. Room was superb, breakfast buffet had a wide variety. Walking distance to old town. Front desk service was exceptionally helpful and cheerful. Speaks English well.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ireland
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2012

We stayed at the ultonia on 23/08/2012. The hotel was very clean and the rooms were spotless. We had no tea or coffee facilities in our rooms. After checking in we decided to go for a drink to the bar before we headed off to explore the old city that was our first mistake. My partner left his money in the room and went back for it.We went to a bar table out on the street,waiter came to us and we said we wanted to wait for his return before ordering, he was very rude and told us to leave.We could not believe it.I am the wrong side of 50,irish and this is the first time I have been ejected from a bar. Our second mistake was visiting the terrace bar on our return to the hotel, the views were beautiful but be careful "look but dont drink" or you will be over charged.There was no price list or menu and they charged what they liked 2brandy's 1glass of wine 25euro. In general we found the hotel staff cold and impersonal. Will not recomend this hotel to any of our family or friends.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
manciet, france
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2012

This hotel has the most amazing bathrooms, we were in a junior suite, a huge bathtub and excellent shower. Room was a very good size, good aircon and spotlessly clean and a free minibar. Minor gripe was that room was cleaned but used coffee cups were ignored and coffee milk etc was not replenished. May have been because we were out early and then came back for a siesta during the afternoon? City is very quiet between 1 and 5. Parking is secure but as with many city hotels can require some 3 point turns. Girona center is a 5 minute walk away and is a beautiful and interesting place. Lots of places to eat and something to suit every budget plus lots to see and we will be coming back. Would use this hotel again, no pool or gym, not a problem for us but with children a pool is good.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
France
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
70 helpful votes 70 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2012

Good situation in the city centre, about a five minute walk from the old town.
Parking available. Nice, spacious bedrooms - we chose 'Gran' Ultonia - I would love to know what the rooms without the 'Gran' label are like and if the difference in price is worth it. I must admit I was a bit confused by that as all other facilities are the same.
Breakfast is quite a good buffet.
Friendly staff.
The only negative for me is the lack of a pool, or sauna, or gym. There is nothing of this sort.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Gran Ultonia Girona? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Gran Ultonia Girona

Address: Gran Via de Jaume I, 22, 17001 Girona, Spain
Location: Spain > Catalonia > Province of Girona > Girona
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 22 Hotels in Girona
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Gran Ultonia Girona 4*
Number of rooms: 71
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel Ultonia, is located in the heart of Girona city. In a privileged setting a short walk from Girona, the Jewish Quarter, the Arab Baths, the Cinema Museum, Girona Municipal Theatre, las Casas del Onyar and all of the attractions of Girona's Old Town. Just a 10-minute walk from Girona's train and bus station, with easy access to Girona Airport. La Devesa park, the Courts, Girona trade fair centre and auditorium are all just a few steps away from the Hotel Gran Ultonia. The staff on reception (open 24 hours) can provide guests with more information on the city and recommend an endless array of leisure activities. The three-star Hotel Ultonia is an establishment with a long and reputable catering tradition in the city and shares the building, entrance, reception and common areas with the new four-star Hotel Gran Ultonia. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Tingo, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Prestigia, Despegar.com, getaroom.com, Odigeo and Venere so you can book your Hotel Gran Ultonia Girona reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Gran Ultonia Girona, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.