We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Well worth a visit.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Curcuma

Curcuma
Placa Bell-lloc 4, 17004 Girona, Spain
972 41 63 63
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #8 of 365 Restaurants in Girona
Cuisines: Spanish
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance, Local cuisine, Special occasions
Dining options: Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
Banyoles, Spain
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Well worth a visit.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2013

After reading the comments here on tripadvisor, My wife and I decided to try out this restaurant and were very happy with our choice.

As others have said it's not the easiest restaurant to find(despite being right next to the city council) it's tucked away down a small street from a very dark square.

We we're greeted straight away by a friendly member of staff who confirmed our reservation and then offered us the choice of available tables.

The menu is designed in a similar way to tapas, and we were recommended about 6 dishes to share between us, and also well adviced on which wine to choose.

Our chosen dishes were then served in the order that they felt would be best, a nice way to be surprised by what was next(despite having chosen ourselves!)

I would certainly recommend the "patatas bravas" and the duck with pear and mint.

We paid 50 Euros for 6 dishes, desserts, coffee, water and wine (mid range), and we'll certainly be back at some point.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

122 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    75
    37
    5
    2
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Delightful!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 26, 2013 via mobile

Had the pleasure of dining twice at Curcuma, atmosphere, service and food were all excellent. Creative dishes nicely presented, terrific recommendations and friendly, attentive service from Marc and Pep. Will gladly return next time I am in Girona. Particularly enjoyed the snails, the lamb, the cod, the cheesecake and the house ratafia.

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Delicious”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2013

As other reviews say, slightly hard to find but well worth the effort. The service is charming, the food is modern, interesting and beautifully cooked, and clearly all involved take pride in its preparation. Examples of dishes we have include the best patatas bravas EVER, octopus meatballs with a chocolate sauce, pigs trotters as well as absolutely delivious baccalau. Very reasonable for the price. Will definitely be coming back.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Super Yummy”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 16, 2013

What a great restaurant. A little difficult to find but worth the effort(perhaps I am not good at map reading).The greeting as we entered ,the service and food were faultless.The person looking after us was helpful and accomodating .We had the tasting menu which was varied and worth every penny.Local ingredients and local wine were especially good.When I am next in Girona I will return.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wisconsin
Top Contributor
260 reviews 260 reviews
134 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 137 cities Reviews in 137 cities
152 helpful votes 152 helpful votes
“A Delightful Experience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2013

After reading the recent reviews on TripAdvisor, I booked this restaurant to celebrate my brother's birthday during his visit to Spain. For health reasons, my brother is on a low sodium diet, and the restaurant was more than willing to accommodate this. The waitstaff was very attentive and explained each of the seven courses in our 22 euro menu. My favorite courses were the duck magret and the selection of desserts. I would highly recommend this restaurant to anyone looking for a variety of courses for a good price.

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Curcuma also viewed

Girona, Province of Girona
Girona, Province of Girona
 
Girona, Province of Girona
Girona, Province of Girona
 

Been to Curcuma? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Curcuma, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.