We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Extraordinary staff” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Nord 1901

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Nord 1901 to your Saves list
Nord 1901
4.0 of 5 Boutique Hotel   |   Calle Nord 7-9, 17001 Girona, Spain   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 22 Hotels in Girona
Montreal, Canada
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Extraordinary staff”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2014

Good location and very solicitous, professional staff-a relief after some other hotels. The room was well-lit, but that didn't make up for the single window that opened into an air shaft in the interior of the building. Also, our fridge didn't work and it took two calls to get it fixed. Breakfast was pricey, but worth it--nice variety of meats, cheeses, and breads and freshly-squeezed orange juice!

Room Tip: Make sure your room window isn't on the interior air shaft.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

209 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    134
    61
    9
    4
    1
See reviews for
29
122
8
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (49)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Dublin, Ireland
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
73 helpful votes 73 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2014

Nord 1901 went far above our expectations travelling as a young couple hitting up Cellar De Can Roca. The lobby is decked out with modern amenities, excellent decor and overall modern clean and capable feeling. Staff is incredibly friendly and helpful, even helping us find the best secret tapas in the city after 12 am. The pool area is a little oasis in the city that makes it definitely unique. Overall, highly recommend it as one of the best city hotels I've ever seen in Spain or even broader Europe.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norwich, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 8, 2014

My wife and i have been visiting Girona for the last 10 years and the Nord is by far the best hotel experience we have had. It is right in the center near the Onyar and just across from the old town. The rooms are spacious and modern and the service relaxed and friendly. It is also right opposite Cafe Blanc a superb independent restaurant. .

Mark and Teresa Stanton Norwich UK

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norwich, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 7, 2014

We stayed a second time at the Nord in May 2014 for 5 nights. The hotel is superb we had a large room/apartment overlooking the garden and pool. The staff are extremely helpful and friendly and we had a wonderful time. We will be back soon
Thank you

Room Tip: We had room 4.6 which is at the top of the building - it was perfect for us
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lancashire
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2014

We stayed as a couple for only one night at the end of May 2014, but found that this hotel fully deserved its place as the number one on Tripadvisor's list for Girona. The staff are friendly and very helpful (in organising taxis, for example); the room we occupied was spacious and extremely well equipped; and the location, just over the river from the Old Town, was ideal for exploring the sites on foot. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Rafael, California
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2014

We had the Junior Suite facing the street. Comfortable suite with great sitting area, but the bedroom is pretty small and very dark.
Staff are helpful and gracious, but were not able to solve both the issues we had when we arrived in the room. The air-conditioning was broken, so the maintenance man had to come and fix it... good response so a tick for service.
However, the persistent smell of something rotten or damp would not go away for the two days we stayed. We suspected the lack of air-conditioning for some time may be the culprit, so we 'moved in' with our luggage and un-packed.
The smell stayed though, despite us leaving windows open for hours. We could have moved rooms, but once you are in and only staying for 2 days, it is a pain to move.
So loved Girona and the Hotel should be great as long as the smells are cured.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kyoto, Japan
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2014

I've stayed here for 5 nights in Jan.My junior sweet room had a small kitchen,so sometimes cooked meals.A supermarket is nere here and a farmers market is 10 min on foot.Of course,there are a lot of nice restaurans around here.You won't be worry about food.

The interior of the hotel and a colour of the room were elegant and stylish,so felt calm.
The strongest point of this hotel is their hospitality.All staffs were always polite and smiley.Came to love Gerona because of them!

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Nord 1901? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Nord 1901

Address: Calle Nord 7-9, 17001 Girona, Spain
Phone Number:
Location: Spain > Catalonia > Province of Girona > Girona
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 22 Hotels in Girona
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Nord 1901 4*
Number of rooms: 18
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Despegar.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Nord 1901 reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Nord 1901, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.