We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Hotel in great location” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Europa

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Europa to your Saves list
Hotel Europa
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Juli Garreta 21-23, 17002 Girona, Spain   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #17 of 22 Hotels in Girona
Ringwood, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Great Hotel in great location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2014

We stayed here with the view of going in to Barcelona for the day. However the staff were so friendly and informative about the local area, that we decided to explore Girona instead. The Hotel was clean and comfortable, and a reasonable price. We had a family room which was way bigger than expected. We heartily recommend this Hotel. The room had Air con, a balcony and free WIFI.
We wish we had stayed longer. We weren't at the back of the Hotel, but were not disturbed by the sound of traffic on Sat night. They even have an secure Car Park nearby, at a small cost.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

63 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    9
    30
    17
    6
    1
See reviews for
11
29
13
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Calne, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 5, 2014

nice hotel well situated for both the city and bus/train station,
very clean, and the staff were some of the most friendly ,and helpful I have ever met,
2 star maybe , with 5 star service , also would be a good base for a day trip to Barcelona ,

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
63 reviews 63 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2014

A small, friendly, cheap, no frills place really close to Girona train/bus station & 10 min walk to the old town. Great for a one/two night stay, & the staff are SO helpful & multi-lingual. Not a place for a romantic soirée but ideal for overnighters

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Orleans, Louisiana
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 8, 2014

After spending couple nights in Figueres, we decided to keep on a slower pace and check out Girona. Chose this hotel mainly due to close proximity to the train station. It was clean, staff was friendly, and the price was good. Very mellow and we slept well. We found the town to be amazing and ended up staying here a couple of nights to explore more. Easy walk to the older part of town, a cheap grocery store, and there are some good breakfast spots right out the front door. Good spot.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
64 helpful votes 64 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 6, 2013

I was taking a train from Valencia through Cerbere to Paris, so I wanted to break up the trip by stopping overnight in Girona. After reading about the hotel's proximity to the train station, I decided to stay here. And it was a good choice. It's a basic hotel, and I knew that from the reviews and the price, so I was not disappointed. The clerks were friendly and responsive. In fact, the person who checked me in had studied in Canada for a year, so we had a pleasant chat.

There's a small elevator, which was handy for luggage but I just walked since it was faster:) The room was clean and small. The bed was comfortable enough and there was hot water in the shower.

Perhaps the only complaint that I have is that the walls are thin, so although the other guests weren't rowdy, I could hear the muffled chattering from other rooms, the loud rush of water from the pipes, and the rumbling of luggage wheels in the corridors.

The continental breakfast was reasonable for 5 Euros.

I left at 5:30 the following day so I had the evening of my arrival and a full day of exploring the beautiful medieval centre of Girona. It was interesting to walk in the narrow streets at night. I was a bit nervous walking in the dark at first but there were police officers patrolling the cathedral area to the bridges.

I was there on the last day of the San Narciso Festival so I had a chance to see the fair in the centre. I liked Girona and will be back and will probably stay at Hotel Europa again.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dunedin, New Zealand
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
46 hotel reviews
Reviews in 50 cities Reviews in 50 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2013

Bed was clean as was the room. A bit on the cold side in late March The wifi was very vexing indeed, could only be used in the public area and was slow and often cut out altogether. After reading reviews I requested a soft pillow and got, not one but, two!! My friend was very grateful. The biggest plus point was the very close location to the train station.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2013 via mobile

We and my girlfriend enjoyed the hotel very much.The room was big and clean.The air-condition worked great.The staff were very helpful and kind 24/7.It takes ten minutes walking to the center and one minute walking to the bus and train station.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Europa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Europa

Address: Juli Garreta 21-23, 17002 Girona, Spain
Location: Spain > Catalonia > Province of Girona > Girona
Amenities:
Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #17 of 22 Hotels in Girona
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Europa 2*
Number of rooms: 45
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Hotel Europa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Europa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.