We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“delicious !!!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Betawi

Betawi
Montsio, 6, 08002 Barcelona, Spain (El Barri Gòtic)
+34 934126264
Improve this listing
Ranked #2,019 of 6,428 Restaurants in Barcelona
Neighborhood: El Barri Gòtic
Restaurant details
Neighborhood: El Barri Gòtic
barcelona
Top Contributor
83 reviews 83 reviews
52 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“delicious !!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 11, 2013

Had lunch there with friends, we share a couple of apetitazers ( they have a degustation plate just for this ) very good. The chiken brochettes and the beef were delicious, not that all spicy.
They have a fair menu, with vegeterian options, spicy food and not. And desserts. Rice and noodles are the main course and good.
Service, not bad, it could be better, but we got what we ask for and in a decent time. the place is nice and friendly, and only the air conditiong was on, when it was not needed specially full blast.

Other than that go and enjoy the food.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

66 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    20
    28
    9
    8
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
“Authentic Indonesian taste, but not Indonesian hospitality”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2013 via mobile

We were a bit surprised to find Indonesian restaurant in Barcelona. When we entered, we expected to get the Indonesian hospitality from the staffs. However, it turned out that not the kind of hospitality that we got. The waitress, who greeted us, told us to go upstairs to find a table for two even though there was a table for four available downstairs. We asked to be seated in the available table downstairs considering a 7-month pregnant wife. But, the waitress did not care and told us that the table was for four people. We later found out that the staffs working as waitress were not Indonesian.

Anyway, when the foods came, we quickly forgot about the little incident. We ordered sate ayam (chicken satay), batagor, and nasi goreng istimewa (special fried rice). They tasted very good and really closed to Indonesian authenticity.

In short, it is a really good place to find alternative food in Barcelona, especially when you miss Indonesian foods. But, do not expect to get the warm hospitality like in Indonesia.

    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jakarta, Indonesia
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“Indonesia Banget!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2012

For me as Indonesian, it is heaven especially after several days travelling in Europe. It's rice based menu, the taste is fine but "Indonesia Banget!" (Really Indonesian). Moreover, important to me, it's Halal as claimed by the owner who is Betawi (Native Jakartan). Plus, it is located in the central of tourist attraction of the city, La Rambla area. Perfect.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
El Prat de Llobregat, Spain
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Small restaurant, great atmosphere”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2012

This little restaurant is really centric. Most of the time is completey full and a bit noisy but it deserves a visit. The food is good and the price is reasonable too.

  • Visited June 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belgium
Top Contributor
65 reviews 65 reviews
51 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
“Cute little place”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 11, 2012

The place is rather small, the tables are close to each other. The atmosphere is nice and tidy. Good for a romantic dinner but might be noisy if it's crowded. The food is alright (I'm Indonesian), the price not exaggerated either. I can't compare the taste nor the price to restaurants in Indonesia but I will say that for locals it is fair. The portions aren't big but well presented. If you're hungry you'll need more than one round.

  • Visited April 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Betawi also viewed

Barcelona, Province of Barcelona
Barcelona, Province of Barcelona
 
Barcelona, Province of Barcelona
Barcelona, Province of Barcelona
 

Been to Betawi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Betawi, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.