We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Open at "normal" dinner time” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Moncho's Barcelona

Moncho's Barcelona
Gracia, 44-46, 08021 Barcelona, Spain (Eixample)
+34 934 14 66 22
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #2,279 of 6,428 Restaurants in Barcelona
Price range: $24 - $37
Cuisines: Mediterranean, Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Buffet, Late Night
Neighborhood: Eixample
Freising, Germany
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Open at "normal" dinner time”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 14, 2013

Great fish. Order croquettes for your kids. You get the place to yourself if you go between 6pm-9pm, but it is one of the few Barca restaurants open at that time. It seems to be a chain with several different locations. We ate at the one uptown and at the Olympic Village and both were fine.

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

181 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    47
    64
    36
    18
    16
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Gateshead, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“El dissapointo”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 31, 2013

We went here on the recommendation of TA reviews and were looking forward to the seafood buffet. However, when we arrived we found that there was no buffet and even more disappointingly, the food was poor, overpriced, took a long time to arrive and the service was appalling. We asked what had happened to the buffet and the waiter said they stopped doing it about 3 months ago and now they are thinking about changing the restaurant into a cocktail bar for evening entertainment. It was pretty clear that something has changed there and the staff certainly didn't seem to know anything (least of all about how to wait on a table).

  • Visited January 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Istanbul, Turkey
Top Contributor
122 reviews 122 reviews
72 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
127 helpful votes 127 helpful votes
“Good but not not very satisfied..”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 28, 2013

I had the fix menu of 21euros. The seafood was fresh and quantity was enough. However i am not very satisfied. I think there are better sea food restaurants in Barcelona.

    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boras, Sweden
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Excellent dinner restaurant with family.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 21, 2013

Here you can spend a couple of hours savouring many, many different samples of true spanish cuisine. Just don't fill up on just one thing, they rotate the plates and surprise you dish after dish. If you like seafood, this is the place to go. If you have a large family they even have private rooms, fun for parties.

Visited April 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barcelona, Spain
Top Contributor
132 reviews 132 reviews
81 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
153 helpful votes 153 helpful votes
“Muchos munchos at Monchos”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2012

Good variety of tapas and a la carte - walking past the bar you can see the tapas on display and either eat there or the waiters can bring the food to your table. It's all well presented, so looks very tempting. A table near us had ordered the paella, which looked delicious.

The restaurant is full of locals and tourists, the service is efficient and attentive. I wouldn't say the dessert menu was especially tempting, as it consisted mainly of ice creams and sundaes. It was reasonably priced, considering where it is.

It's located on Passeig de Gracia, so if you're shopping nearby there or on the Ramblas you can easily pop by. There is ample seating indoors and outside. Good atmosphere and, judging by the contended expressions on the faces of our fellow diners, we would definitely return for more munchos.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Moncho's Barcelona also viewed

Barcelona, Province of Barcelona
Barcelona, Province of Barcelona
 
Barcelona, Province of Barcelona
Barcelona, Province of Barcelona
 

Been to Moncho's Barcelona? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Moncho's Barcelona, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.