We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Restaurante Carballeira

Restaurante Carballeira
Reina Cristina, 3, 08003 Barcelona, Spain (Sant Pere - Santa Caterina i la Ribera)
+34 933 10 10 06
Website
Improve this listing
Reserve with
Restaurante Carballeira is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #466 of 5,903 restaurants in Barcelona
Price range: $52 - $104
Cuisines: Mediterranean, Seafood, Spanish, Tapas
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Doing business, Special occasions
Dining options: Reservations, Late Night
Neighborhood: Sant Pere - Santa Caterina i la Ribera
Description: Carballeira is an emblematic restaurant that, since 1944 has been offering the best fresh seafood delivered daily from Galicia.Located in Barceloneta district, a few steps from the sea and right in front of Port Vell, Carballeira has maintained from its beginning, the essence of one of the most popular and authentic seafood restaurants in town.Local waiters with years of experience ensure an excellent service.Delectable seafood carefully selected. Delicious rices: with lobster, “a banda” or black with cuttlefish. Line-caught fish, simply the best, straight from the sea. Succulent dishes of monkfish, bass, turbot or hake. And for meat lovers a good T-bone steak or a Galician Veal entrecote. A wide selection of dishes to please every taste.SPECIAL SERVICES • Private dining rooms with natural light inside for groups of 10-30 people. Group menus, also customizable.• All day dining service from 13h to 24h, to dine at your leisure. Closed on Monday and Sunday Night • Exclusive valet parking service for customers.
Tongeren, Belgium
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Excellent”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 2, 2013

If you're looking for a fine restaurant in the Barcelonetta, this is the place to be. Excellent service, a fine choice of seafood but I think you better can reserve your table! We had a dinner for 4 wine, water coffee for 175€. You can't compare the quality you get here with the junkfood they serve in the city.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

80 reviews from our community

81% Recommend
    39
    27
    11
    1
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Stainburn, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
206 reviews 206 reviews
81 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 56 cities Reviews in 56 cities
88 helpful votes 88 helpful votes
“Enjoyable dinner”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2013

If you want fresh seafood this is the place to get it. We arrived without a reservation but were seated right away at the front. I thought the place was small but it is larger than it looks. The service was very good though they don't speak very much english. The prices are reasonable and you get a good quanity of food. We tried some new dishes and loved them. Try the anchovies or the codfish as a starter.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vienna
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“very nice place for eating fish”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2013

If it had not been for the recommendation of a good friend we would probably not have looked for it / found it.

As we arrived quite early (just had flown in in the morning and wanted and early dinner) we had the place all to ourselves.

The staff was very friendly and helpful (only problem was with the English - but with a little goodwill from both sides that is no real problem)

Foodwise we tried the octopus and the cocotxas as main courses and can recommend both.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“Great seafood good service”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2013 via mobile

We dropped in to Restaurante Carbelleira at 9.30pm and easily got a table for 3. However, the place was full by the time we left. The seafood in the display cabinet is fresh and we enjoyed 3 mains-the oven baked monkfish with onion and potato, octopus and scampi. The bottle of spanish white wine was terrific. 2 desserts and a coke and water and 2 espressos cost us 100 euros. Desserts were average, but that is not why we came here. If I had the chance to dine here again I would try the entrees as well and skip the dessert. Also noticed diners next to us with paella and they chose the fresh lobster - looked great! I must say the waiters were all very jovial we were the only tourists on the night.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
R_Carballeira, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Restaurante Carballeira, responded to this review, October 24, 2013
Dear Walnuticus,
We really appreciate your kind words about our Restaurant. We are also glad you had enjoyed with all the food and wine, that’s definitely our best reward. We are looking forward to seeing you again if you have the chance to drop by here again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
“Traditional”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2013

Classic fish restaurant, on side street just back from sea in Barceloneta. Late on a summer Friday (10.30pm) it was mostly locals eating. Good fish but lacking in atmosphere. More somewhere to eat and move on than to kick back and relax.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Restaurante Carballeira also viewed

Barcelona, Province of Barcelona
Barcelona, Province of Barcelona
 
Barcelona, Province of Barcelona
Barcelona, Province of Barcelona
 
Barcelona, Province of Barcelona
Barcelona, Province of Barcelona
 
Barcelona, Province of Barcelona
Barcelona, Province of Barcelona
 
Barcelona, Province of Barcelona

Been to Restaurante Carballeira? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Restaurante Carballeira, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.