We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Simple good food” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Restaurante Carballeira

Restaurante Carballeira
C / Reina Cristina, 3, 08003 Barcelona, Spain (Sant Pere - Santa Caterina i la Ribera)
+34 933 10 10 06
Website
Improve this listing
Reserve with
Restaurante Carballeira is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #600 of 6,423 Restaurants in Barcelona
Price range: $52 - $104
Cuisines: Mediterranean, Seafood, Spanish, Tapas
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Doing business, Special occasions
Dining options: Reservations, Late Night
Neighborhood: Sant Pere - Santa Caterina i la Ribera
Description: Carballeira is an emblematic restaurant that, since 1944 has been offering the best fresh seafood delivered daily from Galicia.Located in Barceloneta district, a few steps from the sea and right in front of Port Vell, Carballeira has maintained from its beginning, the essence of one of the most popular and authentic seafood restaurants in town.Local waiters with years of experience ensure an excellent service.Delectable seafood carefully selected. Delicious rices: with lobster, "a banda" or black with cuttlefish. Line-caught fish, succulent dishes of monkfish, bass, turbot or hake. And for meat lovers a good T-bone steak or a Galician Veal entrecote. A wide selection of dishes to please every taste.SPECIAL SERVICES • Private dining rooms with natural light inside for groups of 10-40 people. Group menus, also customizable.• All day dining service from 13h to 24h, to dine at your leisure.
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
38 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“Simple good food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 21, 2013

A trademark of Galicia cuisine is that it is of very good quality and simple cooking I mean no elaborate recipes. This restaurant fulfills the expectation for a good meal.
We asked for sole meuniere for 4 persons, we were surprised the fish was served crispy fried filets instead of grilled, on a bed of meuniere sauce, never mind the fish was fried to perfection, probably one of the best fried fish filets I have ever head. Price tag was a little bit high.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

119 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    57
    39
    18
    2
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
West Sedona, Arizona
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
“One of the best fish places in Barcelona”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2012

This is a great fish restaurant, if you're in fish a must to visit. Maybe a bit hard to find, cropped away in a little street, but worth the search. The restaurant is friendly from the inside and re-painted recently but the chairs (a little bit uncomfortable) are still there. However the food is great and served with a smile. And don't forget to save some space for a great desert, their sticks with vanilla cream!!

  • Visited October 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
oslo
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Fantastic food , great service and good price”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2012

Popped in to this small cosy restaurant close to the beach . Alive seafood to choose from at the table. This is a place where local people go so try it you will like it .

  • Visited September 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Subligny, France
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Nice place”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2012

Very good fish restaurant, nice service, very clean and a big variety of fish. I loved the Squid a la galega. My table friends were a bit disapointed as as the quantity in their plates was concerned. anyway, we would all recommened it.

  • Visited July 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Top Contributor
74 reviews 74 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
67 helpful votes 67 helpful votes
“Amazing, strongly recommended”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2012

On our recent trip to Barcelona, we went with some friends that had a clear vacation plan. Eat and party their way through Barcelona; and so we ended up at Carballeira.
First of all, the restaurant is located in a very central part of Barcelona, but not on any main street, so I would recommend you get some very good directions before going there. We actually used the maps app to get us there even when we were very close. Added help, the signage for Hostal Miramar, located opposite the restaurant, is actually much more visible. Just like many businesses in the city this one, is locked behind rolling metal blinds during the day, so if you go there during the day you would get absolutely no idea of the great restaurant located just step from you. Parking in the area is a challenge so the restaurant offers valet parking, which takes about the entire street in front of the restaurant. Watching the valet shuffling expensive cars in and out is entertaining in itself, given the fact the street is a cull de sac, about three cars wide, and he would park three cars from one end to the other when busy; very cool.
Second important thing is to make reservations. This could be tricky especially during the weekend, so call well in advance. The place was packed during our visit.
Once you get in the restaurant, you realize that this is a high end seafood restaurant. Everything is spotless, service is impeccable and there is wide range of seafood available. We chose a number of dishes and we ended up sharing just like tapas, although that was not our initial intention. Strongly recommend the seafood platter, for two, expensive but very much worthwhile and the opposite end of the price range, the white anchovies in vinegar. These two dishes were absolutely amazing.
I yet have to have some bad wine, when in Spain, and Carballeira did not break the trend. Wine prices while elevated, were still very reasonable compared to North America. The restaurant has a good selection of wines well paired with the food.
For a great dinner for four, with a good amount of wine, we paid about 200 euros, tips included.
In my opinion, Carballeira is definite must during a trip to Barcelona.

  • Visited May 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Restaurante Carballeira also viewed

Barcelona, Province of Barcelona
Barcelona, Province of Barcelona
 
Barcelona, Province of Barcelona
Barcelona, Province of Barcelona
 

Been to Restaurante Carballeira? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Restaurante Carballeira, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.