We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Well done” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Restaurante El Paraguayo

Restaurante El Paraguayo
Carrer del Parc, 1, 08002 Barcelona, Spain (El Barri Gòtic)
+34 933021441
Website
Improve this listing
Reserve with
Restaurante El Paraguayo is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #1,096 of 6,373 Restaurants in Barcelona
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
Neighborhood: El Barri Gòtic
Grimsby, ON
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Well done”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2012

a quaint little restaurant, with moderate prices, for large portions and tasty food. Service was good as well, and the ambiance was warm and inviting. A good choice of restaurant for tourists visiting as well as a local favourite. All in all, a pleasant experience and well done, staff of Restaurante El Paraguayo :)

  • Visited May 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

100 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    40
    39
    7
    8
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Amazing!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 28, 2012

Best steak I have ever had!!! Portions are massive and we were recommended a great red wine to go with our meal an excellent find and a lovely restaurant can’t wait to visit again

  • Visited November 2011
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Meat-tastic”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 24, 2012

I thought this small restaurant had a great, bustling atmosphere and friendly service. other reviewers have said it is touristy but there were plenty of locals eating there in my experience. It is popular with groups and its not very big and that gives it the feel of a traditional taverna where everyone is squashed in. The overall feeling was cosy and the vibe was light-hearted. For me the main course - meat and a side dish of yucca chips - was ample.

  • Visited January 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barcelona, Spain
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
“Average -not worth a detour”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2011

I had been recommended El Paraguayo by a number of friends and was looking forward to some wholesome chargrilled steak. I had heard that the place had basic decor and was small but wasn´t deterred by that.
Upon arriving, the venue lived up to its "basic" label, but was family run and generally had a friendly vibe. I ordered the second most expensive meat option (ribeye) with several side orders. The meat was OK, but absolutely nothing special. Plus, I had ordered rare and got medium-something you´d expect a basic meat place to get right first time. The side orders varied in quality -baked potatoes were fine but the sweet potatoes were completely lacking in flavour.
El Paraguayo is priced at the mid-level range, around EUR30 per head, but overall I left disappointed with both the meal itself and the price/quality ratio.

  • Visited June 2011
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lospablo
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Check your receipt before paying !”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 28, 2011

As mentioned by others here this place is a meat eater only establishment. Other Irish take note that when you order a Steak here you are getting the meat only, no additional vegetables or sauces as expected at home.

Also if you are particular about how your steak is cooked and like yours Well Done then you better clearly state you want it near burnt here as my wife and I ordered 1 medium well and the other well but both were more like medium rare and medium with plenty of blood left in both still, didn't bother me but the wife couldn't stomach eating hers.

We got the french fries as sides which were quite tasty and the wine selection will satisfy most.

The 2 things that bothered us though were that, firstly there was a kind of pre-starter brought out consisting of a basket of bread and a small plate of salad and an oily dip which we assumed was a small freebie but ultimately cost €3, though we came to realise this is a common practice in Barcelona...

and then secondly we feel that the 'waitress' attempted to overcharge us by charging for 2 items we hadn't ordered that cost a total of €10 and then made an unconvincing attempt at trying to explain she mixed up our bill with someone else who just happened to order the same things + the 2 phantom items we didn't order. This is worth being aware of everywhere too as receipts are in Spanish and if I hadn't been able to decipher what was on the bill we'd have paid the extra cash oblivious to this devious trick !

I barely recommend this place only if you are a pure fan of Red Meat eating but don't expect much else !

  • Visited March 2011
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Restaurante El Paraguayo also viewed

Barcelona, Province of Barcelona
Barcelona, Province of Barcelona
 
Barcelona, Province of Barcelona
Barcelona, Province of Barcelona
 

Been to Restaurante El Paraguayo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Restaurante El Paraguayo, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.