We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very nice Argentine restaurant” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Arcano

Arcano
Mercaders, 10 | Sant Pere - Santa Caterina I la Ribera, 08003 Barcelona, Spain
+34 932 95 64 67
Website
Improve this listing
Reserve with
Arcano is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #60 of 6,031 Restaurants in Barcelona
Price range: $19 - $45
Cuisines: Argentinean, Mediterranean, Spanish, Fusion
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Delivery, Late Night
Description: Next to one of the main streets of Barcelona, Laietana track and a short walk from the central market of Santa Caterina, Arcane is the restaurant.Located in an old seventeenth-century barn, mark of beautiful Romanesque arched forms and stone walls that crown many of its spaces.The Mediterranean cuisine is an invitation to the traditional recipes of the coastal region from fresh and balanced dishes that will make your stay a real moment of joy and pleasure.Vegetables, meat and fish dishes are a real specialty Josper house you should not miss on your visit to Barcelona.Our extensive letter without being intended to be balanced, with meat imported from Argentina in vacuum packaging, preserving its taste and quality, pastas and homemade pies, grilled cheese, salads with touches of the house, fresh fish and desserts.At noon, the market offers an elaborate menu with excellent value for money. The restaurant has a private event booked, "winery" intimate and cozy space.And if you just want tapas and peck at the bar have an interesting proposal for this purpose, from fried eggs to escalibada coca bread.And after dinner, nothing better than enjoying our cocktails in a relaxed atmosphere and good music.Oh and if you can not be disconnected from the world, do not worry, we have wifi!Open Monday to Saturday from 1:00 p.M. To 0:00 a.M. And Sunday from 6:00 p.M. To 0:00 a.M.
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Very nice Argentine restaurant”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2013

We had a very nice dinner at this Argentine restaurant.
Very cosy and classic setting.

I had the Argentine Angus steak with potatoes. The steak was superb, finished with some "fleur de sel". Terrific taste. My wife had a pasta which also was good.
I got some free extra potatoes with extra baked vegetables.

The wine is also very good and not pricy. Ideal to match the meat.

For dessert i had some chocolate cake with icecream which was a perfect ending to our dinner.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

626 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    428
    144
    34
    14
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
San Jose
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
“Great Customer Service!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2013

restaurant was really easy to find. We were the only one there for dinner, so luckily, we got the table. This place got busy within half an hour. If you are planning to eat there, make sure reserve the table. Tapas were great and mains were also well cooked. Their drinks are great as well. We would like to recommend this to our friends. Overall, we made the right choice by eating there!

  • Visited June 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bishops Stortford
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“A wonderful random find!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2013

Sat 22nd June - My husband and I had been for a wonderful walk around the Picasso Museum and were looking for somewhere to have lunch and just by chance came across this 500 year old "cavern" restaurant. It has such a lovely atmosphere and the Sangria was the best we had! We only wanted a light meal and it was delicious and beautifully presented. Had we had more time I would have loved to return for an evening as I am sure it would be fantastic, and if I ever return to Barcelona I will try to do so!

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
“Delicious, friendly and fun.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2013

Most importantly the food was excellent. Sirloin and veal were cooked and seasoned perfectly. The sauces, which were not needed, were also delicious. We arrived very close to closing but the staff didn't hesitate to seat us and wait on us hand and foot despite being the last couple in the restaurant. Luca, our waiter and the bartender were very entertaining and extremely friendly. The dessert was as good as the meal. This was the best dinner my girlfriend and I had while in Europe and definitely recommend to anyone in Barcelona.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rio de Janeiro, RJ
Top Contributor
63 reviews 63 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“Worth the visit, faster, with quality, service in town”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2013 via mobile

The restaurant is not easy to find, but worth the visit. I had a great empanada de carne and then the sirlion with fois gras, outstanding. The wine selection is not huge, but has some good and with the right cost choice. The staff is polite. There is a free wifi, nice when you are eating alone as I did. Enjoy.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
restaurante A, Gerente at Arcano, responded to this review, June 24, 2013
Google Translation
Muchas gracias por tus comentarios, tratamos de mejorar día a día y nos motiva la pasión por la gastronomía.

Saludos
Gabriel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Arcano also viewed

Barcelona, Province of Barcelona
Barcelona, Province of Barcelona
 
Barcelona, Province of Barcelona
Barcelona, Province of Barcelona
 

Been to Arcano? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Arcano, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.